We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views”
Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Ranked #4 of 15 Dominical B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The view is amazing! Our cabin was comfortable - we felt like we were in the tree tops. The observation decks are a great place to sip a beer and watch for birds. Susie and George were helpful and generous with their time. Their display of local crafts was excellent and Susie's involvement with helping local woman expand their weaving was fascinating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank VermontNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Susie and George were great at making us feel welcome. Four of us stayed in the bungalow with howler monkeys to be heard but not really seen. The pool with the incredible beach view was refreshing after a day out and about. Would stay there again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The location is unbeatable, with amazing ocean views and clean, charming cabinas. We like a little peace & quiet in a cabina, which this place definitely offers. It's tucked away on a hillside above Dominical, and this has some wonderful advantages, namely, nice breezes, no mosquitoes, and no loud noises from Dominical proper. George is just a ray of sunshine and has the gift of gab (in a good & humorous way). He aims to please and make sure his guests are comfortable. His better half, Suzy, proves that opposites attract, and we were, frankly, a bit put off by her quirky ways when we first met her. But I'm glad this didn't stop us from staying there, because we just loved the place, George, and his sweet little dogs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenicorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Pacific Edge this past New year´s week and we had a great time. If you are looking for a peaceful and easy going place, this is a great choice. Susan and George really have a little heaven retreat here, overlooking the nearby beaches and in a wonderful setting. The rooms are big and comfortable, very clean and quiet. The road uphill is not good and they recommend 4x4 vehicles to get there, yes they are recommended but if you drive carefully and not during the rainey season a regular car can make it.

If you do not like dogs, then this is not your place, they have 3 easy going pets who are wonderful, but like a any other pet, sometimes they play around and bark a little too loud in the morning,

Thanks for a wonderful New year Susan & George

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graciela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just returned from our short week in paradise....aka Pacific Edge, Dominicalito. The serenity and breath-taking views from the cabinas are beyond compare. Resort hosts, George & Suzy, were most accommodating and have provided guests with so many added touches to make a stay memorable. The area has so much natural beauty and with a short drive you can enjoy beaches, ziplines, snorkeling/scuba, hiking, wildlife and more. The website for Pacific Edge offers very accurate descriptions and photos of the resort and cabins. Definitely one of our best vacations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at Pacific Edge in March 2013 while making a loop from by car during a Costa Rica road trip for a total travel time of 10 days. San Jose --> Arenal --> Montaverde --> Quepos --> Dominical --> San Gerrardo de Dota --> San Jose. We stayed at Pacific edge while enjoying the beaches in the Dominical area, long needing a break from the driving and pace of more tourist-centered areas.

Pacific Edge is near Dominicalito beach, just out side of Dominical, which is at the T-junction that will take you from the pacific shoreline highway across the mountains back to San Jose. The "hotel" is a few cabins located about a mile up a very steep and rocky (but passable if careful in 4x4) dirt/gravel road. It provides a good location for exploring an hour's drive north or south on the coast, where there are very few people and little in the way of overt tourism.

The owners are an unusual par: an impatient hippie/gypsy mother-in-law and Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band uncle, but they're welcoming and not intrusive if you're looking to relax. They have a gate inside of which you can park your car, but the area seemed fairly safe and we left our car outside a few times. The breakfast/pool area is clean, well maintained, and has great views. The pool is a tad heavily chlorinated, but refreshing considering that the ocean, with its black sands, isn't much cooler than the 33 degree celsius air under the hot sun.

The vista from each of the four cabins is very good, overlooking the shoreline northward from Dominical to Manuel Antonio park. There was usually a light breeze reaching each of the cabins on the hot days (averaged 33 degrees Celsius) since it is situated high on a hill - and needed when only ceiling fans are present for cooling. Each cabin has a well-built covered deck with a big hammock. Inside, the cabins are clean, decorated colourfully, and most have a kitchenette with appliances from the 1970's that are well-maintained and a fridge. There is hot water available from finicky instant-hot-water shower heads. Internet access is only available by the pool/breakfast area from 7am-7pm (a bit of a stinker, since its dark at 6pm and who wants to stay away from the beach to email during daylight hours???). The electrical wiring in each unit is certainly not up to north american code (!!!) but it's also likely not a problem at all because there are ample outlets for your items and the old wiring seems intact. Just don't plug in the toaster and the stove element and the coffee maker at the same time. The kitchenette is handy particularly with the limited restaurant choices in Dominical and the option of local grocery shopping near by.

The cabins back onto a forested area so in the morning you're likely to be stirred by the Howler monkeys and cicadas as early as 5:00am (not bad, with first light shortly thereafter and dark falling by 6pm). The hike from the bottom cabin to the main area and car parking is quite a steep hike and although well-lit automatically, the stairs will probably be best for healthier guests or younger guests, while the upper cabins might be best suited for those who aren't necessarily the paragon of fitness.


For the relatively low cost, ample space, great view, quirky-but-nice owners, and proximity to awesome beaches - I think Pacific Edge is a great value in Costa Rica's Dominical area. Don't be surprised if you walk away with some local Borruca (spelling?) indian textile souvenirs, which the owner sells. We bought some really nice stuff!

Room Tip: Upper cabins (#1, #2) are smaller but WAY less stairs to climb! The lowest and largest cabin is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I loved this stop. I went there 4 months ago and still remember it fondly so I thought I would leave a review. Whlie Susy is not an immediately jolly person she is hard working, friendly and honest and I couldn't hope for a better host. How cool to stay with someone that is legitimately helping the local population be successful in a growing world! The fellow there steps in also with great company if a friend is what you are looking for on your stay.
Lastly the view. You may have to go up a scary road to get to this place and you may be a bit stuck when you get there but it is worth it. The lodges are amazing. They are simple but with great windows to look over the "Pacific edge" into the ocean. There are toucans, and creatures in abundance. If you are looking for partying and a come-and-go hotel then this is not the place for you but if you are hoping to learn about the area, see some amazing views, and relax this may be the best hotel in Costa Rica for you.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest room available with two beds and we were pleased - Every cabin is made by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
215 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
532 reviews
0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
617 reviews
0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing