We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love the Energy!”
Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Ranked #4 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I Love the Energy!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pacific Edge has one of the best views and ambiance in Dominical. Part of it's charm is the owners, George and Susie, who met when they were crewing on yachts and found themselves bumping into each other. George has a thick British accent and his favorite saying is "happy days," which fits right in with Costa Rica's Pura Vida lifestyle. Our cabin was immaculate and comfortable. We had a wonderfuI paella dinner prepared by George. I woke up early the next morning, climbed the "mirador" and peacefully read my book while enjoying the gorgeous view of the Pacific Ocean from my sweet perch. I love the energy of this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    15
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Four well-maintained lodges have each a beautiful view on the whole pacific-coastline from Dominical till Parco Manuel Antonio. But more astonishing is the daily concert of the wildlife orchestra. All the members start early by tuning their instruments but in the afternoon it melts together to one big performance. The cricketts, the birds, a double toned pan-flute, the monkeys with their HUHU as a timpani stroke; they all make a great apotheosis while the sun sets down with beautiful colors in the ocean. Then.... silence and time for a beer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The view is amazing! Our cabin was comfortable - we felt like we were in the tree tops. The observation decks are a great place to sip a beer and watch for birds. Susie and George were helpful and generous with their time. Their display of local crafts was excellent and Susie's involvement with helping local woman expand their weaving was fascinating.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank VermontNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Susie and George were great at making us feel welcome. Four of us stayed in the bungalow with howler monkeys to be heard but not really seen. The pool with the incredible beach view was refreshing after a day out and about. Would stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The location is unbeatable, with amazing ocean views and clean, charming cabinas. We like a little peace & quiet in a cabina, which this place definitely offers. It's tucked away on a hillside above Dominical, and this has some wonderful advantages, namely, nice breezes, no mosquitoes, and no loud noises from Dominical proper. George is just a ray of sunshine and has the gift of gab (in a good & humorous way). He aims to please and make sure his guests are comfortable. His better half, Suzy, proves that opposites attract, and we were, frankly, a bit put off by her quirky ways when we first met her. But I'm glad this didn't stop us from staying there, because we just loved the place, George, and his sweet little dogs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenicorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Pacific Edge this past New year´s week and we had a great time. If you are looking for a peaceful and easy going place, this is a great choice. Susan and George really have a little heaven retreat here, overlooking the nearby beaches and in a wonderful setting. The rooms are big and comfortable, very clean and quiet. The road uphill is not good and they recommend 4x4 vehicles to get there, yes they are recommended but if you drive carefully and not during the rainey season a regular car can make it.

If you do not like dogs, then this is not your place, they have 3 easy going pets who are wonderful, but like a any other pet, sometimes they play around and bark a little too loud in the morning,

Thanks for a wonderful New year Susan & George

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just returned from our short week in paradise....aka Pacific Edge, Dominicalito. The serenity and breath-taking views from the cabinas are beyond compare. Resort hosts, George & Suzy, were most accommodating and have provided guests with so many added touches to make a stay memorable. The area has so much natural beauty and with a short drive you can enjoy beaches, ziplines, snorkeling/scuba, hiking, wildlife and more. The website for Pacific Edge offers very accurate descriptions and photos of the resort and cabins. Definitely one of our best vacations!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Property: Pacific Edge
Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing