We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sushi every time!”
Review of Dominical Sushi

Dominical Sushi
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Puerto Quepos, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic sushi every time!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fresh, delicious mouthfuls of heaven! The Summer Rolls are a taste sensation! The vibe is relaxed and friendly and the facilities are super clean. Great view of the Baru River and Pacific Ocean in the background. I have eaten here 5 times and the standard is consistently high. My favourite restaurant in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Shayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    37
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Regular visitors”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We eat here every time we're in Dominical, usually multiple times per trip. Owners (at least I think they're the owners) are friendly and the food is great. They've moved around town a lot but their current location is the best one by far.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Details that enamor!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

When you are looking for flavorful sushi rice, firm yet soft rolled rolls, fresh savory fish and a nice ambiance, this place does a great job! I usually don’t expect “good” sushi restaurants in Costa Rican beach restaurants because my expectations of fresh flavor are usually disappointed. This nice dimmed lighted restaurant not only had delicious sushi but the sushi chefs were beautifully dressed and took the time to make beautiful arrangements with the rolls. Even the wasabi came in a beautifully billed dice sculpture!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abarahona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Best sushi in town!!! Everything is so fresh and tasty! Every time I got to Dominical, I have to stop and have a bite! The restaurant itself is gorgeous, overlooking the river (especially at night!) and the rolls are to die for!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip Advisors' ratings do not make sense for this place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have lived in Asia for years and we know good Sushi. This is definitely not a good place for sushi. Being around a place like Dominical already lowered our expectation for any restaurant and after reading the ratings we were up-beat about having some sushi. Clearly we were disappointed. This does not come close, it is amateur hour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DW-Traveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dominical Sushi also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Dominical Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing