We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas Rio Mar, Spa - Health & Beauty Centre”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Bathmen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villas Rio Mar, Spa - Health & Beauty Centre”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a wonderfull experience. Great place, the health and beauty centre is really good. They were able to put me on an easy excercise routine, not tough to follow and afterwards a good meal to increasy my energy! Very much worth your while!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lover-of-life-now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback! It is good to know so much as we try to improve it now that you enjoyed our beauty every day.
We are really looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    207
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
165
221
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I were here in November 2011, We chose it for the area and the reasonable price. We were amazed to find a tropical paradise, wonderfully run, with great meals, separate cottages and toucans in the trees every morning. In the low season we were actually the only guests for a couple of days and felt like royalty. The service was excellent. We highly recommend this oasis on the outskirts (easy walking distance) of Dominical.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the ravine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Victoria,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel. It is nice to hear that you felt so good
during your stay, we always do our best to make the guests feel welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards,
Hotel Villas Rio Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Yes this place is up a jungle road from an adorable little surfing village. It is luxurious in that the rooms each have an open veranda with billowing white curtains for privacy. It is not as immersed in wild life as some other places but a giant iguana did walk up to our door and the tiny little frogs at night make the most beautiful song. The breakfast buffet was top notch but the restaurant food for dinner was not. Do not order the schrimp dish that was a thai/mex fusion. Not sucessful and it was expensive. Overall this place does a great job and the lovely girl who books the tours did an amazing job for us. We did 3 tours from here which were fantastic. Whale watching, horseback to the waterfall (beware it is strenuous) and a trip to Corcovado (also not for the lazy)
We spent our last 3 days here and did enjoy the friendly staff and immaculate lodgings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We would like to thank you for your comment and that you enjoy the stay with us. We are thankful about every comment to improve our service. For traveles we always suggest to go our web site, you will find the prices and type of food we offer. I really sorry we always want to improve our service and fill your expectations.We hope to welcome you soon as our guests in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterswijk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Villas rio mar a place close to paradise .... if there are no groups "in the house".. The rooms are perfect... certainly those with airco.. and the gardens and surrounding jungle are magnificent. So is the restaurant & swimmingpool setting and the visiting iguana(s) are a joy as are the beautiful birds. The staff is helpful & can arrange very beautiful trips where & whenever you want.
But... when a you're not so lucky and a group of schoolgirls (from Costa Rica, the US , Canada or whatever) arrive your peacful stay will come to an abrupt end. The staff wil certainly try to retain the peacefulness but hey.... you're only young once in a lifetime !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermworp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your comment, we are very thankful about each to improve our service. In our hotel are all guests more than welcome. We try to make for all an unforgettable stay, which everybody can enjoy. We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a wonderful time at your resort. So comfortable, especially my French speaking wife could converse with the staff. Very much recommend for relaxation and rejuvenation. Very natural but everything a vacationer could want.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hello James, Thank you so much for your comment, It was nice to meet you. Hope we'll see around here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel facilities where super; but service to solve last mitlnute request where quite a bit dissapointed; no late check out allowed and food of restaurant was standard and expensive. Pool was very clean, rooms confortable with a small fridge and mezzanine outside to share

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate it and we are sorry if we didn´t allowed the late check. If there are new clients coming it is not possible for us to prolong it. But all guest are welcome to stay longer in our restaurant and pool. Nice to hear you liked the hotel and enjoy a nice trip to Marino Ballena.

We would like to see you back and prove we improve our service everyday.

Daniela Ceciliano
Customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The rooms here were excellent. You had a big patio with a refrigerator, fan, table, chairs and hammock. Inside there was a spacious bedroom and a bathroom with shower (hot water), toilet and sink.

Excellent for kids as well because of the big swimming pool. Breakfast was good and fresh. The tours and services offered were plenty and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel was located not far from some good restaurants and the beach. A bit pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanDeHaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your response, it is nice to hear that you liked the room. We do our best to make your vacation as good as possible, so we like to hear that you had a nice time in Villas Rio Mar!
We will more than happy to see you back !

Best regards

Daniela Ceciliano
Customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing