We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing oasis”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This a beautiful place to stay with attentive and caring staff. Due to bad weather at our previous lodging we had to move our reservations up one night for 4 rooms. The staff accommodated us, met us at arrival with refreshments and made sure our needs were attended to including special diet changes for 2 on our trip. The grounds are beautiful with comfortable rooms that included relaxing, private outdoor kitchen and patio areas with each villa. We will be back to Villas Rio Mar when we return to Costa Rica

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy2Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your kind comments. We do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
All the rooms have a patio, but the standard room is the only one with a relaxing hammock and our pool is big and nice, hope you enjoyed. We are happy to hear your arrival was helpful and attended.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Villas Rio Mar.

The Rio Mar staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Comfortable, quiet location in Dominical. Good for R&R, but not if you like sand beach (but great for surfing). Our villas were mostly clean but in need of some updating. Pool in great shape and clean. Restaurant food and service excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your great comments. We are located between in the Costanera South Highway, right next to San Isidro, and Palmar Norte also. Regarding Dominical town, are many things to do, is not sand but for surfing it is perfect , and you are able to sit under in the beautiful almond trees that are on the whole beach.

As you explain we have indeed 3 types of rooms, 2 of them contain air conditioning and TV and one selling fan. All of them have their own terrace where you can relax seeing to enjoy the tropical gardens. Once again thank for stay with us.

Staff of Villas Río Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This has been an amazing experience for my husband and I. Before we even arrived to Costa Rica I contacted the staff at this hotel and they were all very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The villas are great, the pool is big, everything is clean, I mean everything was more then what we expected. What I loved the most was the fact that the hotel is echo friendly. It had recycle bins everywhere including inside the rooms and the hotel it located in a wildlife protected area. The staff were amazing, every single one of them; very polite and humble. The food was amazing too. Xenia, the tour planner was very helpful. She gave us great information, set up our tours and made sure we had transportation. The tours were amazing. From horseback riding, zip lines to volcano tours. Every tour was a positive experience. We had no issues what so ever from the arrival to departure everything was more than expected. I would definitely go back. The travel from airport to Dominical where hotel is located is a 3 hour drive but its worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a/c if you can't deal with only a ceiling fan. Rates are highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ylamde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hi,

Many thanks for your terrific and wonderful comment. Here in this area is a lot of thing to do as much amazing experience as you did. We are very proud to hear you and your husband were attending nicely by our staff this is part of job, make sure our guests get help and be happy.

We just been working few year ego to be echo friendly, just because this is a very wildlife protected area, this year we got the number 4 leaf of sustainability and we are looking for the number 5.

We are glad you enjoyed your time at Villas Rio Mar and we hope to see you again for more days in the future, and then you can enjoy our Spa; also visit many beautiful beaches around Dominical.

Staff of Villas Rio Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a gem of a place just up the road from Dominical. One may miss it if they did not know it's location.
Beautiful grounds.
Very courteous, attentive staff.
It was quite a surprise to see, as Dominical is known as a surfing type location but here is Villas Rio Mar across the road from the quietly moving river into the Pacifico, until a rain storm, then another type river.
Attaching some great picture of the grounds and area for your pleasure.
I was so very impressed with the tranquility and beauty of the location.

Room Tip: There really isn't any tips other than relax, enjoy and embrace the tranquility of Villas Rio Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hi!!!

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really appreciate the way you describe our hotel location, Dominical is about 15 to 20 minute walking and driving at least 5 minutes. Our hotel Villas Río Mar is located in the rain forest by the Baru River.

Is not really near to the beach, but there are a lot of positive things about this location but also a way of the crazy noise at night. The animals and the nature are definitely a very positive thing and we are very happy of all of these factors present at our hotel.

Wow!!! Thank you for the great picture of our grounds and area, it really was a pleasure. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!!

Staff of Villas Rio Mar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beautiful grounds, great service, clean place with lots to do. Do not recommend if you are depending on public transportation because the street that leads to it is a bit of a walk on rough terrain. The beaches and waterfalls in the surrounding areas are truly amazing!
El hotel es hermoso, buen servicio, muy limpio con muchas cosas que hacer. No lo recomendó si esta dependido del transporte publico porque el camino al hotel es un poco largo y duro para andar de pie. Las playas y cataratas en la área son increíbles!

Room Tip: Rooms are well taken care of, clean and have great amenities. They are a bit snug, but we fit 3 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your review.

The main road of Dominical is indeed not one of the best roads of Costa Rica! Dominical is very good connected through public transportation. There are multiple bus stops in Dominical.

The buses that stop there go to Uvita, San Isidro de El General and Quepos. There are also taxi’s available at the hotel and you have the option to rent a car at the activities office present at our hotel. Did you know that we have 6 waterfalls in the area? We have tours to two of those waterfalls. We have the horseback riding trip to the Nauyaca Waterfall and we have a tour that goes to the Diamante Waterfall. You can do the Rapelling tour through the waterfall! And you also have the option for the hiking tour to the Diamante Waterfall.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to see you again!

The staff of Villas Río Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Most of the options in Dominical are very minimal and cheap cabins or hostels. This is the only "resort" in the area in that it has a pool, full restaurant and bar and the accommodations are really nice. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main street or 15 to the beach. The service and staff are wonderful and the grounds are gorgeous, full of tropic plants and animals. The breakfast was included and excellent - the other meals are good but a bit expensive for the quality. The daily specials are better deals. Overall, if you want to visit Dominical but are looking for something a little more upscale than the other options, this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms. They have several options to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Public Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your time to write this review!
You seemed like you put a lot of thought in how to choose your hotel! TripAdvisor is the way to do this and also contribute so that other people can do the same.
Our restaurant El Rancho also has a TripAdvisor page. I would like to ask everybody to put reviews and comments also on there.

Thank you again!

The staff of Villas Río Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I just want to share that we stayed at the Rio Mar for 7 nights and loved it. The rooms were nice, the grounds were immaculate and the food at the restaurant was incredibly tasty.
We spent a bit of time at the pool and have no complaints whatsoever. It is a family hotel and we expected to see children having fun.
All the staff, including the restaurant staff, were incredibly friendly and catered to our every need.
My two favorite things - the breakfast buffet and Estela.

Our family absolutely loved Dominical and the Rio Mar. We would go back in a heartbeat.

La Uruguaya Sandra y mi familia!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Front Office Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comment!

We indeed have a special children’s pool with 'noodles' that the kids can play with in the water. We also have a jungle where the kids can play and a lot of activities that are also appropriate for children.

Thank you for your comment and we hope to see you again?!

The staff of Villas Rio Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#12 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
6.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dominical
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing