We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yoga Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Yoga Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently organized a 3 night yoga retreat at this hotel. There were 15 of us in total. The manager Mauro did a wonderful job responding to emails promptly and efficiently. We stayed in the Junior suites and all the group were very happy with the rooms. The staff were very warm and friendly and worked hard to ensure that our retreat would be a success. The food was good and plentiful and the service excellent. For my next retreat I would suggest more fresh salads and fresh vegetables. Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior suites with AC and lots of privacy. Lots of steps if you don't like step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diva855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your kind work. We are very happy to hear you and your group were attended nicely and warm, this is part of our mission, our manager always try to make sure our guest get a promptly and efficiently services.

We have also a lot of areas with beautiful garden too, special for yoga retreat, beside our conference center witch is with full equipment, and very nice you enjoyed and great to hear you have has a wonderful stay and good experience!

Thank you for your suggest we will try just to get more fresh salads and fresh vegetables specially to do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible, next time!!!

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Villas Rio Mar.

The Rio Mar staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    198
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
153
205
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 12 day driving tour of Costa Rica. The location was great as we were able to drive to many different local beaches and the 4x4 we rented could go through the small rivers to some of the best beaches I have ever seen. The food at the hotel was good, but the room was average. There was some water damage above the AC unit and the room felt a little damp. The overall pool deck was untidy with the pool cleaning equipment just laying around. We were able to take a nice walk to the beach and around the local village from the hotel. Local stores very close.

Room Tip: Not able to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your comment, we really appreciated.

The area around Dominical has beautiful beaches, like Playa Uvita, Playa Linda, Playa Dominicalito or Playa Ballena. We also are located between the Manuel Antonio Park and Marino Ballena Park, at this time of the year you are able to see dolphin and whale and driving can be approximately 20 minutes from our Hotel.

Our pool is cleaned every day between 6:00 and 8:00 A.M. We are sorry if this was inconvenient. We are sorry for the inconvenience. To walk to the store or to town is just 15 minutes, it is easy walk and maybe you can spot a crocodile or two by the river very exiting!!!

Thank you again for your comment.

The Rio Mar staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed there as part of a 2-week Costa rica Explorer group trip - This was towards the end of the trip and not a usual booking for this type of trip but due to Easter weekend, everything else was booked in town. So i m putting 4 stars because the food at the restaurant was nice - you could have a tab right from the start, the pool and grounds were nice - the spa had lots of services and very inexpensive - all of us had different services and it was awesome - i had a body scrub and it was amazing. BUT the beds, bedding, etc are very basic and worn - the rooms are very small and the bathroom is not very clean. The bar closes early and we had troubles getting a drink, then the bartender takes off without a last call (at 10 pm) - i like that they had internet in the rooms and 2 computers we could use also. A laundry facility on site would be nice because we were running of clean clothes and so hot and humid there, we need to refresh often ! Breakfast food selection could have been a bit better...

Room Tip: Excellent for spa services ! Very nice that you can fill up your water bottle at the front desk -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your helpful review.

We try to offer the best services as we can, we are happy to hear that the Spa was appreciated. We do have also Superior room and Junior Suite with A/C and TV, they are nice and comfort a bit difference of the standard, but we are working just to give some changes and upgrade to be nicer.

Our restaurant is open between 7:00 A.M. and 10:00 P.M. We don’t stay open later because of the noise. There must have been a miss communication about our laundry service, because it’s available seven days a week. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you again for your comment.

The Rio Mar staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This a beautiful place to stay with attentive and caring staff. Due to bad weather at our previous lodging we had to move our reservations up one night for 4 rooms. The staff accommodated us, met us at arrival with refreshments and made sure our needs were attended to including special diet changes for 2 on our trip. The grounds are beautiful with comfortable rooms that included relaxing, private outdoor kitchen and patio areas with each villa. We will be back to Villas Rio Mar when we return to Costa Rica

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy2Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your kind comments. We do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
All the rooms have a patio, but the standard room is the only one with a relaxing hammock and our pool is big and nice, hope you enjoyed. We are happy to hear your arrival was helpful and attended.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Villas Rio Mar.

The Rio Mar staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Comfortable, quiet location in Dominical. Good for R&R, but not if you like sand beach (but great for surfing). Our villas were mostly clean but in need of some updating. Pool in great shape and clean. Restaurant food and service excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your great comments. We are located between in the Costanera South Highway, right next to San Isidro, and Palmar Norte also. Regarding Dominical town, are many things to do, is not sand but for surfing it is perfect , and you are able to sit under in the beautiful almond trees that are on the whole beach.

As you explain we have indeed 3 types of rooms, 2 of them contain air conditioning and TV and one selling fan. All of them have their own terrace where you can relax seeing to enjoy the tropical gardens. Once again thank for stay with us.

Staff of Villas Río Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This has been an amazing experience for my husband and I. Before we even arrived to Costa Rica I contacted the staff at this hotel and they were all very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The villas are great, the pool is big, everything is clean, I mean everything was more then what we expected. What I loved the most was the fact that the hotel is echo friendly. It had recycle bins everywhere including inside the rooms and the hotel it located in a wildlife protected area. The staff were amazing, every single one of them; very polite and humble. The food was amazing too. Xenia, the tour planner was very helpful. She gave us great information, set up our tours and made sure we had transportation. The tours were amazing. From horseback riding, zip lines to volcano tours. Every tour was a positive experience. We had no issues what so ever from the arrival to departure everything was more than expected. I would definitely go back. The travel from airport to Dominical where hotel is located is a 3 hour drive but its worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a/c if you can't deal with only a ceiling fan. Rates are highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylamde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your terrific and wonderful comment. Here in this area is a lot of thing to do as much amazing experience as you did. We are very proud to hear you and your husband were attending nicely by our staff this is part of job, make sure our guests get help and be happy.

We just been working few year ego to be echo friendly, just because this is a very wildlife protected area, this year we got the number 4 leaf of sustainability and we are looking for the number 5.

We are glad you enjoyed your time at Villas Rio Mar and we hope to see you again for more days in the future, and then you can enjoy our Spa; also visit many beautiful beaches around Dominical.

Staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a gem of a place just up the road from Dominical. One may miss it if they did not know it's location.
Beautiful grounds.
Very courteous, attentive staff.
It was quite a surprise to see, as Dominical is known as a surfing type location but here is Villas Rio Mar across the road from the quietly moving river into the Pacifico, until a rain storm, then another type river.
Attaching some great picture of the grounds and area for your pleasure.
I was so very impressed with the tranquility and beauty of the location.

Room Tip: There really isn't any tips other than relax, enjoy and embrace the tranquility of Villas Rio Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi!!!

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really appreciate the way you describe our hotel location, Dominical is about 15 to 20 minute walking and driving at least 5 minutes. Our hotel Villas Río Mar is located in the rain forest by the Baru River.

Is not really near to the beach, but there are a lot of positive things about this location but also a way of the crazy noise at night. The animals and the nature are definitely a very positive thing and we are very happy of all of these factors present at our hotel.

Wow!!! Thank you for the great picture of our grounds and area, it really was a pleasure. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!!

Staff of Villas Rio Mar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing