We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach town”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Nice place on a beautiful surf town. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the outdoor kitchenette/living room outside every room. Breakfast was good but can definitely be better. We weren't introduce to any of the typico breakfast from Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy to hear that you liked our place.
Normally we serve breakfast buffet (only a few times a year we do not, because the occupation is extremely low) with many options and amongst them ´´gallo pinto´´ the typical Tico breakfast. We will make sure that once you come back it will be there for you.
Kind regards,
the Villas Río Mar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for two nights in the middle of August. I was traveling with my wife and five children ages 6 to 17. We rented two junior suites which were located near the rear of the complex. Before booking I had read other trip advisor reports regarding a musty smell in the bathroom, I was a little concerned about this as my wife is very adverse to things that don't smell right, but I was impressed that the the hotel was rated #3 out of ten hotels in the area. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were large and clean, the beds were large and comfortable. Our air conditioning worked fine. There was a slight musty odor in one of the bathrooms when we arrived, but there was a can of air freshener on the shelf and after a few sprays the bathroom smelled fine for the rest of our visit. I'm not a bird person, but there were many birds, many colorful butterflies, iguanas and all sorts of wildlife that the kids loved. Every walk around the grounds was an adventure and the grounds were beautiful. the pool was large and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was very good. My daughter was concerned that there would be nothing but pico de gallo for breakfast (a tasty blend of rice and beans). There was pico de gallo, but there was also scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, pancakes, french toast, two kinds of cereal, juice coffee, and perhaps a few things I don't remember. The breakfast buffet was included in the room price. We also had the dinner buffet twice, also very good, It was 12.00 for adults and 8.00 for children one night, then 14.99 for adults and 10.99 for kids the second night. Im not sure why the price difference but the food was also very good, Sea bass in papaya sauce, Chicken breast in pineapple sauce, etc. Everyone on the staff was cheerful and helpful. They offer a variety of tours that we did not have time for, but the prices appeared reasonable based on my research. If you rent a car, make sure you get the GPS unit. I'm not sure I could have found Villas Rio Mar (or anywhere else) without it. I recommend visiting Playa Uvita at Ballena National Park and Manuel Antonio National Park, neither is far away. Also, the green season is a great time to visit Costa Rica, No crowds, warm, it usually only rained for a little while in the afternoon or evening.

Room Tip: The Junior suites are nice, I don't know about the other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panamint-bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your warm and extensive comments and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Villas Rio Mar. For families our Junior suites are of course the best options, but – though smaller - the other room types are comfortable as well. For example the standard rooms have a bigger porch with a comfy hammock.
Forgive us the musty smell in the bathroom. In this climate it’s a matter of timely ventilation. We will care for it before checking in and check it more carefully.
Kind regards,
Villas Rio Mar staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of February 2013 on our return from Corcovado. Considering its a little off the beaten track the facilities are excellent. The room was clean, comfortable and most importantly, after 4 days in the rainforest, refreshingly cool. The restaurant is excellent and the pool and grounds are just beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment. Though surrounded by nature we are not of the beaten track. The hotel is on walking distance to the highway (costanera), the beach, and to the village. It’s a rough road to walk on, but it will get you there.
We appreciate you liked your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Villas Río Mar staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Here is what I did like. The ladies at the front desk were nice and the woman who works in the tours information office was really helpful. The grounds are lovely and the house keeping does a nice job. I enjoyed a nice massage from the spa.

Here is what I didn't like. Our A/C started making a clicking noise after being on for several hours and usually started up in the middle of the night. I also woke up every single morning to thumping music that came from the hotel next door. The restaurant was hit or miss. Some of the food was good (like the seafood or burritos), but I ordered ravioli and got a bowl of ravioli topped with Thai curry - so I asked to have the ravioli from the menu......to which the server told me that the chef told him that is "how we make ravioli in Costa Rica" to which I told him, "then maybe you should change your menu." I spoke to management before I checked out and all he did was say, "sorry."
ok, so what you're saying is you don't want me to come back. No problem.

Some people like this place and I did not.

Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K80shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.

We try to provide the best services. We are happy to hear that the receptionists and the tour office did a good job.
We understand everything was good except the Ravioli. Our staff is trained in flexibility, and in your case they offered you another plate without any charge, because our ravioli was not the taste you looking for. Just to be clear, this italian plate don´t have Thai curry in our recipe. We are sorry that we couldn’t make your stay more comfortable.

We kindly invite you to come back and taste our raviolis for free.
Kind regards,
Villas Río Mar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Villas Rio Mar end of July, 2013. Our room was a bit of a walk from the main facilities but very quiet, comfortable and clean. The grounds were well kept, dining was good and staff were excellent. My only issues for us were that there were a couple of large groups visiting and it got a bit loud but not too crazy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RovingOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for your nice work.

We do have 52 room, Standard, Superior and Junior Suite and they are located and distributed by 13 bungalow, between beautiful and green garden, so glad was comfortable and clean, sorry about the inconveniences to bit of a walk from our main facilities, but we are very happy to hear our staff were help and attended and nice to enjoyed our restaurant.

In July and August we got visiting from different group from Europe and also the best time to see whales and dolphin, and our hotel is very comfort for families. We are sorry to hear you got a bit loud but good to know, not too crazy!

One more time thank you so much, for being so kind, hope to see you in the future.

Rio Mar Staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently organized a 3 night yoga retreat at this hotel. There were 15 of us in total. The manager Mauro did a wonderful job responding to emails promptly and efficiently. We stayed in the Junior suites and all the group were very happy with the rooms. The staff were very warm and friendly and worked hard to ensure that our retreat would be a success. The food was good and plentiful and the service excellent. For my next retreat I would suggest more fresh salads and fresh vegetables. Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior suites with AC and lots of privacy. Lots of steps if you don't like step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diva855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your kind work. We are very happy to hear you and your group were attended nicely and warm, this is part of our mission, our manager always try to make sure our guest get a promptly and efficiently services.

We have also a lot of areas with beautiful garden too, special for yoga retreat, beside our conference center witch is with full equipment, and very nice you enjoyed and great to hear you have has a wonderful stay and good experience!

Thank you for your suggest we will try just to get more fresh salads and fresh vegetables specially to do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible, next time!!!

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Villas Rio Mar.

The Rio Mar staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 12 day driving tour of Costa Rica. The location was great as we were able to drive to many different local beaches and the 4x4 we rented could go through the small rivers to some of the best beaches I have ever seen. The food at the hotel was good, but the room was average. There was some water damage above the AC unit and the room felt a little damp. The overall pool deck was untidy with the pool cleaning equipment just laying around. We were able to take a nice walk to the beach and around the local village from the hotel. Local stores very close.

Room Tip: Not able to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your comment, we really appreciated.

The area around Dominical has beautiful beaches, like Playa Uvita, Playa Linda, Playa Dominicalito or Playa Ballena. We also are located between the Manuel Antonio Park and Marino Ballena Park, at this time of the year you are able to see dolphin and whale and driving can be approximately 20 minutes from our Hotel.

Our pool is cleaned every day between 6:00 and 8:00 A.M. We are sorry if this was inconvenient. We are sorry for the inconvenience. To walk to the store or to town is just 15 minutes, it is easy walk and maybe you can spot a crocodile or two by the river very exiting!!!

Thank you again for your comment.

The Rio Mar staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
437 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#11 of 14 in Dominical
102 reviews
3.2 mi away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#8 of 14 in Dominical
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#12 of 14 in Dominical
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing