We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rating Fell From a 4 to a 3 Upon Checkout”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Pros:
-Quiet place to relax
-Units are organized in a way that makes the experience private
-Loved the idea of a living room terrace
-Bathroom is large
-Food was very good and not overly priced
-Site has a lot of trees and plants
-Grateful for being given a room upgrade at no charge
-Solar power panels and sustainability measures

Cons:
-Parts of room need to be updated such as the bed sheets, fridge, bathroom tiling, bathroom sliding door...
-The room smelled humid if the AC were not turned on...might need to open the window and door to let the air circulate a bit.

One of the things that bothered me and administration should think about this point: It's a bit of a hassle to be given pool towels, remote control for the AC unit and TV before and then having to bring it to the room when it should be already available. I was told that upon check out to bring these items back. The next day I brought everything except the 2 towels which were not used and the lady from the front desk said, "I told you to bring everything. You are going to have to go back." So she saw I was bothered or rather insulted by this and said, "That's ok, I'll send someone."

1) Greeting clients with remote controls and towels gives a wrong impression of cheapness.
2) Telling clients to bring everything back and if failing one part, then telling them they will have to go back to pick it up is insulting. Since when are pool towels brought to reception???

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeliChinaTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this comment.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here.
We are working on it to change those parts of the rooms in the future
The humid smell is something we can not change because we are in the tropical environment, but for sure we are trying the best we can to control the smell.

With regard to the check out: We are sorry for the inconvenience if there was any insult. The reception always remind at check in times to bring those things to the reception when you are checking out. These are one of the policies this company has. We hope to change this policy in the future just to make it easy for al guest to not worry about those things.

We hope to see you here again at Villas Rio Mar.

Staff Villas Rio Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Villas Rio Mar. The room was a good size, clean and had a lovely porch out front. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was nothing to write home about - just okay. The grounds were well kept. We did not use the pool.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank curlyqs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for opinion, we always appreciate it.

We are glad you liked it here at Villas Rio Mar. We are sorry to hear the breakfast was just okay, we would like to improve it so it can be better when you are here next time. We hope you enjoyed the Dominical area as well!

Staff of Villas Rio Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The best option for all travellers, beautiful and peacefull at the same time, surrounded by nature. Love and recommend this amazing hotel at 100%, you must visit the beautiful beach and villas!!!
Very friendly staff!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to make a comment.
We are glad to hear you would recommend us and you enjoyed your stay here.
Did you know that near dominical there amazing waterfalls?
We would love to see you here again at Villas Rio Mar.

Staff of Villas Rio Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently stayed here for 6 nights. The staff is wonderful, the food at the restaurant is great, and the grounds are gorgeous. It was great to have a pool to dip in when it was so hot outside.
On the downside - it is about a 15 minute walk into town and when it's muggy, felt longer. My husband wanted to surf, so carrying the surfboard back and forth would have been impossible. Luckily, the place where we rented the board let him keep it there.
There were so many ants in our room. The bathroom doorframe was completely eaten by bugs and we couldn't even figure out where they were coming in. It was just a never ending line of ants. There was also a gecko in our room who chirped really loudly each night, but I guess that's CR for you. The major downside to this hotel is the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in and the pillows were just as bad. We had 6 horrible nights of sleep when we were here, which was so unfortunate because otherwise, it would be a wonderful place to stay. The last day we were there, we did see some mattresses being moved in and out, so hopefully they are getting new ones for the rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for staying with us.

We are glad to hear you liked the food in our restaurant and our gardens, we try hard to get them in a good condition. It is good to hear you found a solution for the board, we know we are a little bit out of town but we like to give our guest a good environment to relax.

We are sorry to hear about the ants, because we are located very close to the jungle we can’t guarantee things like that will happen, but we always want to do the best for our guest and try to solve problems as soon as possible.

We also feel sorry for the bad nights you had because of the mattresses. We are working on it right now.

We hope your next stay here will be better!

Staff of Villas Rio Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went in the off season for my 37th birthday and loved it! The staff was fantastic, the front desk was helpful with any questions we had and were very nice. The pool was large and beautiful, since there were fewer guests it was never over crowded. The entire property was clean and full of flora and fauna. We walked into town everyday, it was a nice walk on a dirt and rocky road, and sections are lit at night (you pass the police station) and it is mostly level. I would definitely stay here again. I loved the pool so much, it was hard to go to the black sand beach.

Room Tip: The floors are tile so be careful what you track inside. The patio portion of the room was nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Villas Río Mar.

We are thrilled you liked the service and had a wonderful birthday. We are also really glad you could relax in our pool and natural surroundings.

It's great to hear you enjoyed town as well!

We can't wait to have you back here. Thank you again for your kind words.

Villas Río Mar Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We came back late at night, and there were nobody to give us our room key. After more than 30 noking real hard and making a lot of noice, we found him sleeped on a sofa close to us with a pipe close to him, like if he was doing drogs.

Room Tip: Our room was far from restaurant, pool and reception, quiet though, WiFi never received at the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

Primero que todo, queremos ofrecerle una disculpa por lo acontecido en días pasados por la situación que usted hace mención.

Lo otro es darle las gracias por sus comentarios, siempre son bienvenidos y nuestro propósito es darle seguimiento a lo que acontece en nuestro hotel en pro del beneficio de nuestros clientes, debido a su queja queremos informarle que hemos tomado cartas en el asunto y hemos despedido al guarda el cual estaba en entrenamiento en nuestro hotel en esos días.

Nos preocupa la seguridad y tranquilidad de nuestros clientes y amigos. Esperamos verlo por acá nuevamente en un futuro no muy lejano.

Staff Villas Río Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here with a few friends for only 1 night. Wish I could've stayed longer. This place is great. Staff is super friendly, the rooms are pretty nice for CR no chain standards, and their restaurant is ridiculously good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAGIANT611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at Villas Río Mar.

We are glad you liked the service and were pleased with your rooms.

It's great to hear you liked the restaurant, and we hope next time you will be able to stay a little longer.

Thank you once again for your kind words and your recommendation.

Villas Río Mar Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
3.2 mi away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#7 of 14 in Dominical
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing