We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with kids, everything in one place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay with kids, everything in one place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villas Rio Mar for several reasons: 1) the grounds are beautiful, 2) access to a nice, clean pool, 3) sitting area outside of our room, 4) very good service, and 5) far enough, but not too far from town. The walk into town is about 10 minutes and it's a really nice walk. As others have said previously, I would not recommend walking back at night as the road is not well lit. There are taxis on the main street of town and are easy enough to catch. The atmosphere here is very relaxing. There are two computers for you to surf the net. There is a 20 minute limit per guest - but they did not really enforce that. Maybe if they were busier. What would make this hotel excellent would be better food and nicer decor in the rooms. The restaurant on site is nice and convenient, but the food was just average. We did have a few meals here as the resort overall is pretty nice and everything we needed was here. Our favorite restaurant in town was Tortilla Flats...great food, seemed like a very happening place. Our two little ones loved the pool. There is no tv here, which is no big deal. We are not big on tv...we did bring a portable dvd player for kid dvds though. It kept the kids happy during downtime.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    198
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
153
205
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

Very nice rooms and beautiful grounds . The staff was very friendly and helpful. Stayed 1 nt on our way down to Drake Bay. Would definitely stay here again. Probably much quieter than locations in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powderglut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

We had great time at Villas Rio Mar Hotel. We loved the hotel and all the people that we met there, guests and staff alike. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing.
The entire place is very warm and inviting also very mellow (which was perfect for our vacation).
All of the staff was very nice, friendly, and helpful. We loved the driver that Rio Mar has provided for us and we felt very safe with him. We loved Jusselyn, our waitress, and all of the her recommendations. We highly recommend Villas Rio Mar to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majluty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Villas Rio Mar is lushly landscaped with very private cabins with white flowing curtains welcoming you to your terrace, bar and lounge area. The bathroom is elegant and gorgeous and the bedrooms are large with storage shelves. The grounds are filled with tropical plants in bloom and even has a Ylang Ylang tree that perfumes the air. Wow
We had sea bass Carribean in the restaurant and it was great. The breakfast is buffet style, delicious and included. The setting is along a wide river just a short distance to the beach. The river is shallow enough for families to enjoy the cool water. We came during a holiday week and every thing was booked. Aylin called as many as 20 other hotels to help stranded travelers who had no reservation. This is Very unusual and great.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DimmitStandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guadalajara
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

the place is beautiful, the attention of the personnel in restaurant unforgettable, always with a smile. The place very calmed and the very gentile reception and letter I recommend really it….

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naturelover026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We spent one night at this resort in 2006. We chose it because it was convenient, clean and had a swim-up bar. After we arranged for rooms and stowed our luggage, we were ignored. The employee attending the pool bar couldn't be bothered with us because she was on the phone. We were not offered a dinner menu and had to flag someone down to get drinks at the bar. While the grounds are beautiful and exotic birds are plentiful we did not find our stay welcoming enough to return.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jthbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We spent one night, 2 days overthere and after having seen the other hotels/lodges in Dominical, I would stay this is the best place to stay (there are top class hotels further down in direction to Uvita though). The garden and the swimming pool are great, very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are nice, not very big, but beds are comfortable. The shower is a bit old and not great if you need to wash your hair. The open air restaurant is nice, romantic, without much mosquitos, but the food is average (good but not outstanding).
The hotel is a bit far away from the village and from the beach, but if you have a car, it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing