We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, except for ONE VERY IMPORTANT THING!”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel is very nicely located right next to the river. It is a 800m away from noisy central Dominical. When we first check in we were very pleased. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was amazing. The cabins from the outside look very nice, local style adds a nice touch. The BIG problem is that the rooms have the worst bed and pillows I have ever experienced. We had another couple staying in separate cabin and that was their complaint too. I write this to warn and hope that the hotel will invest in taking care of this problem. It was a shame since everything else was great.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasRioMar, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Hola DJCS,

First of all thank you for your comments,we look forward to constructive opinions to help us improve our accomodations as well as our service.

we have been making improvements to our hotel for the past years to make sure that it will continue to be one of the best options around Dominical.

we will do an inspection on all the rooms of the hotel, and once we have this we will change the matresses and pillows that need to be change.

we hope to see you back to our resort to check out our new matresses.....

best regards,

Hotel Villas Rio Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2010

We have been staying at the Rio Mar for 10 years, and almost each year we add another week to our stay. This year we spent 7 weeks there and came back rested, relaxed and aware that we spend way too much time worrying about everything. It is like visiting paradise - toucans in the trees, egrets walking in front of your room, parrots overhead, flowers everywhere and the best staff you could ever ask for or need. You are in the Jungle and the remoteness is not for everyone. But a 10 minute walk takes you to the dusty little town of Dominical, the beach, great casual restaurants, beachside vendors and a very colorful, friendly town of local Costa Ricans, expats, and young beach bums, along with tourists with cameras. If you rent a car when you arrive in the country, then you can expand your horizons - the staff has an intimate knowledge of the area. They can arrange tours of waterfalls on horseback, kayaking, deep sea fishing, or visits to islands and other tourist areas. The rooms are quaint, not huge, and the staff works very hard keeping them immaculate, and with a porch and small refrigerator, you can fix small meals or visit the beautiful open-air restaurant and dine in style. Or you can relax by the huge pool and have lunch, a drink or a snack brought to you. Do not expect McDonald's express - this is Costa Rica and life is slow. If you love the sun, warm weather, friendly people, the outdoors, and a casual atmosphere then Rio Mar is an excellent get-away. Perfect it may not be, but if you can remember that this is not the US and that you are getting away from the pressures of your life, you will have an experience to last until your next visit. It is like a trip to visit family that you love. Have a great stay and Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Lovely grounds and rooms, and very helpful staff! Ilene was especially friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hihopes4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Villas Rio Mar in February, 2010 and we had a great time. Their staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel is very clean and the rooms are far from each other so it's very quiet. You can ask them to arrange for tours like horseback riding to Nauyaca Falls or zip line at Hacienda Baru National Park or you can arrange them yourself in Dominical. There is internet at the hotel, both landline and wireless. They strive to be a sustainable entity which was very important to me.
We found a scorpion in our room one night and the staff very graciously moved us to another room in the middle of the night. The only downturn is that the road from the hotel to Dominical can get very dark at night. It's not very far to walk but you definitely need a flash light.
We picked Villas Rio Mar based on the reviews at Trip Advisor and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation while also enjoying the natural beauty and surfing in Dominical

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burcu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed here for a week and loved my stay. Beautiful grounds, wonderful swimming pool, comfortable room with a lovely porch and sitting area. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and responsive. Terrific breakfast buffet and convenient to have a restaurant serving all three meals in case you don't want to move for the day. And while I did hang out at the beach and had days of wedding festivities, I was in the swimming pool every day. I would definitely recommend staying. Very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My fiance and I stayed here for New Years Eve to attend a dinner in Dominical. We paid $110 for a regular room with 1 queen and 1 single bed. The room itself is very tiny with the beds almost touching the walls. The bathroom is a long hallway and large enough and has a hot water roomy shower. That was nice.

Liked:
Special Buffett Breakfast for New Years
Huge swimming pool area
Tropical Drinks
Proximity to Dominical

Didn't Like:
Musty smell of room
Paper thin sheets and scratchy pillowcases
Cramped sleeping quaters, felt like a backpacker style room
Outside livingroom was filthy, the couches were so dirty and dusty
Not much privacy unless you close all your blinds and doors or else people can see in when they walk by
No washcloths or hand towels, very stingy on shower towels
Price is too high for what you get

It's hard to find a decent clean hotel in Dominical, but I don't think I would go back to Rio Mar, because the rooms were not very comfortable to sleep in. The sheets are too scratchy and the room reminds me of a hostel and is not romantic at all.

The pool was very nice and large enough for a lot of people to enjoy it though.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I really liked the location of this hotel .Once you get set up in your little villa with outdoor hammock and you can just relax and enjoy the nice Costa Rican weather.
The hotel has a pool and the water is warm and clean. The staff is very attentive and quick. They have free internet and a restaurant were the food is actually fresh. We asked for a discount and they gave us 10% off so I thought that's kind of nice. I would definitely go there again and would like to stay for a week. You can walk from the hotel to the center of Dominical but you are far enough to feel tranquil.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariapucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#12 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
6.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dominical
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing