We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel!”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
den haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks and I loved it!
It has a great ambiance and everyone is so friendly!
I'm a vegetarian but that was no problem in de restaurant.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, I really had a great vacation there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minke0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    205
    56
    18
    9
See reviews for
162
215
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I've visited this hotel allready many times, but it never gets boring!
The people that work in the hotel are very friendly and customer focused. If you've got a question or a complaint, they try to fix it as fast as possible.
The rooms are excellent. They are cleaned every day and once in two days you get new sheets and towels. Only the more expensive rooms have airconditioning, but the others have a fan. (I prefer airconditioning above a fan though)
The restaurant is excellent too! They have a great variety of food: from steak to fish, to pasta etc. They got good wines as well, from a lower price class to a higher price class.
The gardens are phenomenal and a characteristic of the hotel. They are kept up to date every day.
In this area of Costa Rica there is enough to do for everybody. There is some nightlife in town. For those who are adventurous, the hotel has a tour desk, with a girl who is very dedicated to the costumers. She is always willing to find the best tours for you and your friends. In the past few years I've done: rafting, Nauyaca waterfalls horseback riding, canopy and Caño Island. They were all different, but each was fantastic!! You should not leave without having done any tour!!

The only thing which I don't really like is, that the hotel is next to a dirt road. But it's a public road, so it's the obligation of the local government to fix it! I think/hope it's just a matter of time tha it is fixed...

In conclusion, I highly recommend this hotel / resort to everybody!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The best parts were the garden around the swimming pool and a fine restauarant. The swimming pool itself was OK but nothing special. My room was comfortable but I was annoyed by water dripping off the roof and down past the window. I enjoyed the heavy rain because it did not go on all day, and it was always very warm. The walk to Dominical was a bit dull, and muddy, but peaceful. The staff at the hotel were friendly and professional. I was glad to have gone horseback riding, an excursion that they arranged for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Villas Rio Mar (VRM) is definitely the place to stay in Dominical. We were there June 10-23 2010. We went for our wedding and 11 of our family and friends joined us. All 13 of us loved VRM. VRM is located about 800 meters from Dominical down a gravel road. Dont let this road deter you, it gives you a great chance to walk along the river and see the wildlife and hear the sounds of the Jungle. I would suggest a flashlight for the nighttime strolls. We walked this road multiple times a day/night with no problems and plenty of fun. There are crocs in the river so keep you camera at the ready.

VRM's ground are awesome. Everything is spread out with sidewalks joining the Cabanas with the Reception Desk, Restaurant/Bar and Pool. This area is divided by flowers, bushes and trees of the Jungle, giving you the privacy and isolation that a vacation in paradise requires. The Restaurant has great food. At the Bar you will meet Albert hands down the best bartender in CR, do yourself a favor and ask him to make you a Guanabana daiquiri and tell him Kira and jeff say hello. The Pool is large and a great place to spend some time when you not at the beach or exploring the area. It also has a swim up bar. When you get to the Reception Desk you will find Silvia, Estelaor Aylin. They can help you with any questions or info you may need, from getting a taxi on a rainy day to setting up tours or adventures. They also have security at night.

Aylin planned our wedding and all i can say is we were amazed. The flowers were beautiful, the setup on the beach was breathtaking and the view was awesome. Thank you Aylin, you made our wedding something our group will never forget.

The grounds are nice and spacious but divided by flowers, brushes and trees from the Jungle. The Cabanas are nicely spaced apart for added privacy. Rooms 325 and 333 face the Jungle and you can hear a nearby stream running all the time. We spent alot of time walking the grounds and taking in the sights and taking pictures of the flowers, jungle and animals that live there.

I would like to thanks everyone at VRM for an awesome time, you made our time in Dominical something we will never forget and we miss it strongly.

To everyone else have fun, relax and explore the area it will be worth it.

We will be posting more info and pics of the Dominical area within the next 2 weeks on our website --- www.sailorsinchainmail.com

Thanks

Jeffery & Kira

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2010

After being robbed by a 3 a.m. intruder at Roca Verde we moved to Villa Rio Mar. THe staff was incredibly understanding and helpful. We found the grounds incredible and the people warm and helpful. It is a walk to the beach, but close to town and the resturants, although the food at Villa is terrific. They have a full time night guard that actually pays attention. For a family this is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2lochsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, HI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

In the past three times my husband and I had visited Costa Rica starting in 2000, we had always stayed at the Villas Rio Mar. The grounds and pool are amazing and it's location is perfect for us. We stopped by on our last trip Sept 2008 to check out the rooms as the last time we stayed (2005), the beds and pillows were in pretty bad shape, well, they were even worse shape than before. The good thing is they are king size beds. I have no other complaints and my husband and I are heading back again this Sept, we will once again stop in and see how the beds are, I am hoping the manager that responded keeps his word and gets them all replaced, otherwise, we'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snesbitt0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I had a wonderful experience staying at villas rio mar... The staff was very friendly...the food was amazing ...everything was very clean...i would definately go back!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blowoutbettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
4.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing