We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Setting with Crashing Waves, Banana Pancakes and Nice Staff”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Glorious Setting with Crashing Waves, Banana Pancakes and Nice Staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We will return to Costa Paraiso, with its fantastic location complete with crashing waves, green and grey iguanas rooming the grounds, and friendly, easygoing staff.

The hotel is small and intimate with just a handful of rooms (4-5) with basic kitchens, air-conditioning, some with new decor (in some rooms) and a nice beachside pool. All the things a young family can really enjoy! Many upgrades have recently been made (by new owners) and the grounds are in wonderful shape with a gardener working 24-7 to keep things beautiful.

The restaurant kitchen was basic, but the cook produced fantastic pizza (it was a fun pizza night, which we were grateful not to have to leave since rainy season started to hit while we were there) and the banana pancakes were lovely. We will stay here again if we come to town.

We stayed in the Dolphin Suite, and our only major reservation with the Dolphin Suites is that it appears to be one of the "older" apartments on the property (the 2 other newer apartments been recently redone and look fantastic!) and we noticed the peaked roof of our condo was covered with a light layer of powdery green mold or mildew.

To be fair, we didn't mention this to the staff because we didn't notice it until our final night (we booked 4 nights) but its something they should try to address immediately. I was having breathing issues (recently found out I have asthma) and I couldn't figure out why I was coughing uncontrollably during my stay. I figured it out the last night as I lay in bed and looked up to notice the light highlighting a powdery mildew/mold covering about 20% of our ceiling. Uggh.

Still, don't take away from this that the place wasn't clean. Maid service came every day and great care was taken to make up the rooms and keep the ground immaculate. Costa Rica is a fairly humid locale and it was hot season --still, the mold issue needs to be addressed asap. It is a health concern.

The setting is incredible (right on the ocean) but the coastal freeway is right behind the hotel. You won't hear much traffic on this coastal freeway, but when a truck does go by, it is quite loud. Still, the setting and light traffic flow offsets periodic traffic noise, in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank find_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    73
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
136
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We just got back to Toronto and had a great time in Costa Rica with my family. I especially loved Costa Paraiso. The location was fantastic. The grounds and facilities were just right. The view is priceless.

Sandra and Travis were very accommodating, helpful and warm.

The food was also outstanding. I had fish tacos at least 5 times in 10 days and theirs were hands down the best.

Room Tip: Call
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Absolutely beautiful bit of paradise. If you can't relax here then you're doomed to a life of stress. Totally offers the "pure life" experience of Costa Rica - city fumes and smells will seem like an insult when you return home. Amazing food - personal touches in presentation, the ocean thundering in the background...unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We were more than pleased with our stay at Costa Paraiso, and actually wished we had booked it for more than a day! Location just feet from the ocean, and very nice pool. Bryce, the chef for the restaurant, makes spectacular food! Make sure to eat at the restaurant while you stay there. Plus there is the most pristine view from the restaurant patio. This hotel was everything as advertised, and more. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, as would the two friends I was traveling with. The hotel is down the street from mainstreet Dominical, so keep in mind you will have a short taxi to town if you don't have a car. We loved our stay here!"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We have just returned from a stay at Costa Paraiso and I feel compelled to leave a review, since previous reviews helped us plan our vacation. The entire experience was completely relaxing, and the service was excellent and unobtrusive. Because of the size (5 rooms), it sometimes felt as if it were your own private retreat. We took full advantage of all of the hammocks! Such a pretty 2-minute walk to Playa Dominicalito, which seemed like a private beach since we were always the only swimmers at our end. The waves were awesome but not overwhelming. We swam there early morning and late afternoon after surfing at Playa Dominical. Lots of gorgeous iguanas on the grounds that we had fun looking for.
The food at breakfast and dinner was fresh and delicious. Thursday night fish tacos were a highlight! We debated whether to go elsewhere for dinner for a change of scene, but were reluctant to leave such a magical spot. The candlelit veranda overlooking the ocean with breezes was absolutely perfect!
Our room was great, with lots of windows, tiled floor, comfy beds and nice duvets. We used the mini-fridge in the room for drinks but otherwise did not use the kitchenette, which appeared to be well-equipped. The Toucan Nest room gets many recommendations, although our room felt very private too, and we were never aware of our next door neighbors.
An unexpected bonus was the hotel kitten Moosha! We would recommend this hotel without a second's hesitation and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed at Costa Paraiso for three nights in December 2010 and fell in love with the place. We had booked the Tucan room which is set apart from the other rooms and has an awesome view of the Pacific and the crashing waves. We loved sitting on our private patio in the evening to plan our next day' outings.

The property in extremely well-kept and very beautiful. The restaurant has the most amazing views.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickdillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Vale, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Spent 8 nights with my wife and two kids (9 and 7). We found the hotel to be exactly what we were looking for. Beautiful grounds, great ocean views, friendly and extremely helpful staff and the perfect location to launch so many fun day trips. Since I made our decision based on TripAdvisor, I wanted to share our great experience. We had so many good meals and such great service. Brice and Sondra were very hospitable. The staff was helpful in arranging our many day trips (surfing, zip lines, waterfalls, etc.). Pool was great and extremely well maintained. Beds, sheets and pillows were very comfortable. Showers were fine. The kids loved the wildlife around the hotel and already miss the iguanas. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivervalenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
5.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Property: Costa Paraiso
Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing