We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View!”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ocean View!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Pelican Suite. The surroundings are beautiful! Sandra gave us a map to the waterfall in Dominicalito and answered all our questions. We enjoyed our stay. - Guy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    73
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
135
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The view, food, and management at Costa Paraiso are excellent! This small hide-away retreat overlooks the Pacific. You can hear the waves crashing on the rocks from the door of any room.

There are a few stretches of beaches to choose from within a long walk/short drive from Costa Paraiso; one is good for surfing and the other provides a more secluded place to sun yourself, run, or just enjoy the Pacific.

Room Tip: The Toucan is the most private with its own deck with an open view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Costa Paraiso exceeded our expectations. The site is secluded, beautiful and teaming with wildlife. The manager, Sandra, was efficient, helpful and friendly. Our room had all the essentials and was spotless and set in a beautiful jungle landscape. You felt so secluded and relaxed, yet were a short distance to national parks and towns. The resort is set on the ocean. The food was fabulous too. When we return to Costa Rica, we are staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinch7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Costa Paraiso for five nights...wish we could have stayed longer!
This beautiful boutique hotel is just a few minutes drive south of the small town of Dominical and is a MUST stay if you're ever in the area, SERIOUSLY. Out of the five rooms available on the property, we stayed in the Pelican Roost which had a kitchenette, but we also took advantage of Bryce's culinary skills for dinner, YUM! The room was very clean and had AC, YAY! Throughout the property there are several areas to relax, our favorite was the deck above the restaurant (our morning coffee experiences will never be the same), the pool and hammock area follow closely :)
Both Bryce and Sandra were so friendly and helpful, they made us feel like we were staying with old friends! My husband even made friends with the night guard, Luis, who entertained us with elaborate stories about his nights at Costa Paraiso.
Costa Paraiso has everything thing you need; seclusion, ocean views, comfy beds, wonderful staff and is in close proximity to Dominical. We can't wait to return...next time we'll bring the whole family!

Room Tip: Save a little cash and get a room with a kitchenette...but you must budget in a dinner by Bryce, YUM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCI_Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Very nice location, right on the pacific ocean. We’ve Spent three nights here. The nearby beach is not advisable, but we’ve visited Marino Ballena NP, this is very close and the beach is great over there. Furthermore we’ve been to Manuel Antonio from here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Costa Paraiso is located about a mile from the (very) small town of Dominical. Dominical has a few restaurants (I recommend Tortilla Flats for lunch and dinner), some shops, and a couple of dive/surf outfits. The town and beach at Dominical are not that exciting (unless you surf), but there is a lot to see in the area. Be sure to do Nauyaca Falls. If you have a car, you can drive to the entrance, pay your fee (they charged us 1500 colones each), and then drive down to the trail head. I would not want to hike back up the hill after doing the hike. There is paid parking at the trail head at the bottom. The hike was HOT, but the waterfall was worth it at the end. If you go on horseback with a tour, your guide may set up ropes so you can climb up the waterfall and jump into the pool below.
Don't miss catching a sunset up on the bluff, right in front of C.P. A trip down to Playa Ventanas and Playa Uvita is well worth it. Ventanas has caves you can walk through at low tide, and Uvita has a sandbar you can walk out to the "Whales Tail". Lastly, Ojochal is a little French/Canadian enclave that has REALLY nice restaurants. Worth the 30 minute drive if you tire of the restaurants in Dominical. Also, there is a good restaurant at the other end of Dominicalito which is about a 20 minute walk from C. P. I can't remember the name, but it is right on the point.
We stayed in the Monkey House. The beds were amazing, the AC was nice, and it was great to have a kitchenette in the room. The grounds were immaculate and there were plenty of places to lounge on the hammocks and listen to the surf. I would definitely recommend this to couples looking for a great, laid back place in Dominical!

Room Tip: This place is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Just got back from Costa Paraiso in Dominical and missing it already. Wanted to leave a positive review to help other travelers and also show our appreciation to our hosts for making our stay so enjoyable. Sandra particularly went out of her way to help us with booking trips and also liaising with our surfing school. The chef, Bryce makes some of the best food we've had anywhere.
Agree with other reviews about beautiful setting and immaculately maintained gardens.
Our room (the dolphin lodge) was spacious for 2 of us and equipped with excellent AC. No phone or TV, but then we came here to escape those. Well equipped kitchen with full-size fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Also nice to have a safe for our valuables, as well as a friendly night-time security guard keeping an eye on the place.
The rooms are fairly close to the highway so you will hear some road noise from occasional large trucks but they tend to blend in with the crashing of the breakers. Also given the tropical setting insects, frogs, etc. are pretty loud. We were so exhausted from surfing and day-trips that we slept like logs anyway.
Note location is a couple of KM from Dominical so it's better to have a car. Also getting 4WD will save you worrying if you'll make the steep driveway. Would recommend this also generally as some 'roads' can be pretty hairy. Also Sat-Nav saved us from hours of frustration especially in San-Jose area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA-Z-Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
560 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Property: Costa Paraiso
Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing