We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on the beach”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Costa Paraiso is one of the loveliest hotels in the area. The beautiful rocky beach, which is rather unique on this coast of Costa Rica, is right there on the foot of the hotel. At night the rocks are lit up and give a diamond-like stunning view from their newly opened restaurant. The stuff is great, everyone was very helpful and cheerful. Ask the stuff for good tours if you are looking for any, it ended up being less expensive and very well organized through their referrals. We had the honor to meet one of the owners who gave us an amazing tour of the hotel and the property. The landscape of the garden is stunning and there are many species of birds flying around, amongst them are some toucans as well. South of the hotel is Dominicalitos, easy surf spot and North of them is Playa Dominical, where surfing is the best. All in all it was a very good decision to stay at Costa Paraiso, and I would suggest it to all of my friends!
Special thanks to Sandra, the manager, who was super helpful in everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Anita

Thank you so much for the encouraging feedback!!
We try to improve our service everyday!

Come back soon!!

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Costa Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

My family and I (three adults, one young child) spent two nights at Costa Paraiso in early January, and our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough. We stayed in the Monkey Loft, and it was perfect for us. The two beds (I think they were queen sized) were comfortable, and the room had a nice sitting area with a table and four chairs, plus a small sink, refrigerator and coffee maker.

The grounds were incredibly beautiful, and we spent time lounging in the hammocks, eating the hotel's delicious, fresh breakfast on the patio, and taking pictures of iguanas, hummingbirds, hermit crabs, and other wildlife there. We were told that toucans had been visiting the hotel (by both the hotel staff and a guest), but we never got to see one. We did see Toucans in Dominical in a far off tree while at a restaurant, though.

We arrived at the hotel just before sunset, and after checking in took a walk down to the beach behind the hotel. The sunset was incredible, the palm trees and volcanic rock made for a gorgeous backdrop. We saw some people in the water, but we just walked along the shore.

We also visited a reptile park nearby called Parque Reptilandia, where we saw several species of poison dart frogs, snakes, lizards, and more. We even saw a basilisk lizard and got to see it briefly "walk on water".

We visited Dominical beach, and unfortunately for us the water was too rough. There were lots of surfers in the water, but really no swimmers or boogie boarders. We tried boogie boarding but basically just got bashed around and covered in sand, so we gave up. We were told that earlier in the day (not high tide) the water was calmer, but there were other beaches in the area that may have been better for us with a small child.

There was a great little area down by the beach with restaurants and some vendors who set up tents and sold souveniers. We loved walking around that area and shopping at these beach vendors.

We loved Costa Paraiso and the Dominical area in general, and definitely would like to return some day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821DonnaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Donna!

Thank you for the comments! Every day we try to improve our service to offer a unique experience!
Of behalf of the entire staff I must say it was a pleasure having you guys as guest!
Come back soon!


Pura Vida

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My partner and I spent four nights here with two of our close friends during a two week trip to Costa Rica over the Christmas holidays. I was such a great way to start the trip. The rooms were clean, spacious, and nicely decorated- although you won't be spending much time in them. The views from the pool , the patios and the ranchos are amazing (especially the crashing waves and sunsets), and it is a short walk to either the quieter Dominicalito beach, or the busier surfer beach near town (Dominical). You can walk to town (make sure you take the beautiful beach route) in less than a half an hour for great food, friendly locals, and surf board rentals. Great staff, great location, amazing place! A wonderful mix of relaxation and low-key activity. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but Pelican Roost has a nice big window by the bed that looks out onto the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Amber!!

Thank you for your comments!!
Come back soon!


Pura Vida!

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The moment you walk in,you realize how unique the setting is with waves crashing against old lava rocks, perfect tropical landscaping, and untamed but walkable beaches. A tad hot for our tastes during the day but side trips to higher elevations worked well for us. Unfortunately the dining room was only functioning for breakfast and it is two kilometers of not easy walking on busy road so we had to pay a taxi to deliver from town. the promise of excellent food to come is there in the delightful breakfast options, which are not included and did run $12-15 each when juice and coffee etc were all run up a la carte. One of the owners was present and he was a friendly accommodating gentleman who took obvious pleasure in spending time with his guests. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you for the feedback!!

On behalf of all the staff will say it was a pleasure having you and your son as guests!
Come back soon!

Pura Vida!

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Grumpy teenagers didn't really want to travel during the Christmas Holidays but once we arrived at Costa Pariso the frowns turned into smiles. We spent the week in the Dolphin Room and had a blast. After spending a week on the Caribbean side, Dominical seemed like Heaven. Sandra was wonderful. She helped us navigate and book all of our excursions.The whole staff was very helpful and the property spotless. We especially loved the three resident toucans in the trees.
The views don't get much better and the swimming beach is right next door. The soothing sounds of the waves crashing lulled us to sleep each evening. The lovely comfortable decor was appealing. Hammocks for relaxing everywhere, sunsets to die for.
The only drawback was the renovation of the kitchen but fortunately the rooms have kitchens. The suggested restaurants were nice. I would highly recommend this property as it is the nicest in the area and probably the best location. I would go back tomorrow!!!

Room Tip: Dolphin and
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you so much for the encouraging feedback!!
We love having your family as guests!! Come back soon!!
Pura Vida


Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This little resort is tucked away on a private cove just south of Dominical. The beach to the south of the cove has some fantastic surfing for beginners and intermediates. The staff at the resort was very knowledgeable and helpful during our 3 day stay. We loved the deck and food in the cafe was fresh and delicious. We have friends locally and they all rave about the Paraiso, so you know you've come to the right place. Book early. It is a small resort which is the biggest part of its charm.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Hi Jay!!

Thank you for a valuable feedback!!

Looking forward to your next visit to Dominical!



Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights with our 2 boys and brother-sistern in law. They added 2 cots to our room for our 2 boys. Unfortunately, the restaurant was being renovated and was closed during our stay. The hammocks, setting was beautiful. The jagged rocks in front of the property was beautiful to look at (and sip a glass of wine in front of a setting sun)- but to swim we had to take a trek up the beach. The room did have a kitchenette, which we put to good use.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tg1Tg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for your feedback!! We are constantly improving our service!

Looking forward to your next visit so you can enjoy the restaurant!


Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
582 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
5.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £73 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing