We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet but close to town”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quiet but close to town”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed last month for three nights in "The Toucan Nest" room. The hotel is in an ideal and quiet setting directly on the ocean -- about a three minute drive to restaurants and shopping in Dominical. The grounds and pool have great views of the ocean crashing on rocks. The restaurant served delicious food and was convenient. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There are only five units here. The Toucan Nest has a million dollar view from the deck (and bed), the other rooms not so much. The room was nicely furnished, but needed a slight face lift. We'd recommend Costa Paraiso.

Room Tip: If your party can get by sharing a King Bed, The Toucan Nest has the best view ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    73
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
107
136
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Let me start this by saying I am a firm believer of tripadvisor reviews - i booked my entire Costa Rica trip using them to help make my hotel decisions. I am not a novice traveler and I am not someone that complains just for the sake of complaining.

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Feb and stayed in the "monkey room".

Upon entering the room, it reeked of camp fire...we figured it out..they built a new wood fired pizza oven that is within proximity of the room. Ok not a huge deal, but not what I expected from the #2 ranked hotel in tripadvisor. It stunk throughout our stay.

No working overhead lights - both the overhead lights in the room were broken and didn't work during our stay - they did give us a % discount off the room for the inconvenience. Nice of them and not the end of the world for me.

No Hot water - After my wife took a shower, she let me know the water was luke warm at best. We notified the front desk about no hot water and no lights. They came to the room and said the blue button on the shower head was the heat adjustment.

Ok, queue up the husbands shower - i'm going to get in there..turn on the water. what is the first thing i'm going to do after the water problem? Yep, i'm going to adjust the shower head. Can you guess what happens when I touch it? I get electrocuted...i mean legit electrocuted. It hurt like hell. I didn't make a big deal about it and headed out to Tortilla Flats for some sunset drinks. We get to talking to the locals and telling them my story about the shower and before i was even halfway done they both chimed in unison "Suicide shower!!!" I guess these types of electric shower heads are common in CR...that being said. Buy some hot water heaters - those things are dangerous.

The rooms are not individual villas - there are 2 units per building so we shared a common wall - just some info for the honeymooners :-) Also, No ocean views from your room - the main building/restaraunt blocks it.


The grounds are very lush and beautiful - the previous reviewers are correct. You can definitely find a private spot to settle in and not be bothered. If you want to beach it you will need to walk/drive to dominicalito beach. its about a 10-15 min walk..or a 2 min drive. The ocean views are nice with lots of volcanic rock in front of the hotel main area.

The restaraunt was just ok for us - they charge for breakfast which our other hotel did not. Do not serve any lunch. Dinner is your choice of Tapas or Oven Fired pizza. Again, just ok for us - we wanted a dinner. Not pizza and appetizers.

We were there at the same time as the Owner Bob - super nice guy and very friendly. He was down from Calgary, Alberta with a bunch of his buddies so I'm guessing thats where the stellar reviews before mine came from.

If it were our choice to do over - would have booked our entire trip at Villas Alturas(where we stayed before Costa Paraiso) and passed on Costa Paraiso. Both hotels were the same amount of money...so for my money i'm going to pick the better place. If Costa Paraiso was a little cheaper, I would've had less of a problem dealing with the issues described above.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edubs145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Costa Paraiso is a relaxed and friendly experience and a wonderful place to spend time around the pool, go for run on the beach next door or head off to surf on one of the 4 beaches from a 5 minute drive to no more than 15 minutes. Just finished a 8 day trip with buddies of mine and enjoyed the sites and sounds of Dominical and Uvita both within a short drive.

Sandra is fabulous and the restaurant's new menu is a wonderful combination of neapolitan (thin crust) pizza with a tasty variety of Bocas (appetizers).

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed.

The hotel is just outside Dominical and located close to national parks, zip-lining, water fall repelling, hiking and of course surfing.

I was also here in August with my Wife and daughter and we all had a blast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just arrived today, Feb 28/2012, visiting again at Costa Paraiso after our last trip here in Aug/2011. The staff are amazing, taking care of every little detail. Restaurant serves food that rivals that of high end restaurants in a major city, rooms immaculate, high quality beds and linens, rooms cleaned impeccably every day. How they offer this level of service at the low prices they charge escapes me. Feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in the pelican's roost in February. There are five units (3 buildings) and the hotel was full the entire time we were there. The thing I liked best was there is so much room and different seating areas that we never had to "share" with other guests. I had a hammock for the entire day and was able to read my book in peace and quiet. Between the pool area, the "smoking area" (an area above the restaurant), a palapa area, the rocking chairs on the front porch of the units - each place provides an area to sit and relax. The landscaping was just lovely and well maintained. Right in front of the hotel the beach is very rocky - it provides endless watching of crashing waves, but no swimming. Around the point is the beach at domincalito, which is okay for swimming, beginning surfing. The beach is great for walking. Our room had a full kitchen, including a blender and a coffee pot (with coffee and filters!). The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. We loved the pizza! The staff was great and helpful. The rooms were clean. If I had one criticism, we could sometimes hear our neighbor's voice, but it was rare. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfehrenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from a wonderful Costa Rican vacation and our stay at Costa Paraiso was one of the highlights. Can't wait to return. The staff, including Sandra and Pamela were helpful (with transportation and upcoming vacation plans), friendly and funny. The room was perfect: clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette and lovely view of the grounds and sea. The restaurant (breakfast not included) was good--delicious omelets and shakes. Spent some time in the pool and beach-combing. Lot's of iguanas and good bird-watching in the gardens of the hotel. We are already missing it and planning our return to Dominicalito. The room was affordable (for Costa Rica)--about $125 including tax. Almost hate to post this because we'd like to keep it our "secret" but it was such a wonderful experience, we'd like others to know. Thank you again Sandra! We miss you. --Amy & Marianne from el norte de California

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Spent just one night at Costa Paraiso but wish it had been more!!! This is a beautiful property, directly on the ocean with 5 small casitas scattered around. The rooms were beautiful and large, with little kitchens that appeared to have all you could need (we didn't use it).

The setting here is so idyllic, right on the water, that it is hard to leave the hotel to go do other things! The grounds are stunning, and the staff were helpful... the vibe here was just incredibly laid back and easy. Nice little pool for a refreshing dip. Hammocks scattered all around the property - great to just chill out with a book, or lie around and watch the waves.

We ate dinner in a little gazebo down near the water's edge - nothing too elaborate, but delicious pizza and breathtaking views & atmosphere. Breakfast the next morning was delicious!!! The best coffee I have ever had, fruit smoothies, local cuisine which was tasty & well presented.

This was our last stop after spending a week in the Osa region, and we were all disappointed that we couldn't stay longer. While we were there, there were a couple of families with young children and it seemed like a great place to travel with kids.

Would highly recommend this place to anybody who loves the ocean and a totally relaxed, beautiful environment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Claire!!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest!
Come back soon and thank you for the encouring feedback!!

Pura Vida

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Property: Costa Paraiso
Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing