We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Paradise!”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed in the Monkey Loft room in June 2012. Our stay was wonderful! The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Sandra does a wonderful job.

Our room had two large beds, a kitchen with microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, fridge, table and 4 chairs. Coffee and sugar are provided so you can make your own coffee. There were also dishes, cooking utensils, etc. provided in the room. The hotel provided beach/pool towels as needed. A/C unit in the room worked very well, and cooled down the room quite quickly. There were also two ceiling fans in our room. Our windows opened and all had screens except the bathroom window.

The shower was good - the water was quite warm even if the pressure is less than what we are used to at home.

Breakfast and dinner are served at the restaurant. Breakfast was delicious and very reasonable - $6 for most items. The chef made fresh cinnamon rolls and blueberry muffins while we staying there, and they were AMAZING. We ordered breakfast, then ordered cinnamon rolls to take back to the room for later in the day when we got hungry.

The property was beautiful. You can see the waves crashing on the rocky beach from anywhere on the property. The pool was lovely and refreshing - part of it is in the shade. There are hammocks all across the property to relax in. We saw a ton of iguanas. All the plants were blooming when we were there, and the grounds were perfectly manicured.

You can walk down to the beach here, but the beachline area is quite rocky along here. However, just 1km down the main highway from the hotel is Dominicalito beach, which is very good for surfing or swimming.

Since there are just a few rooms, we really enjoyed the peaceful setting of this hotel. It was very relaxing. I enjoyed the privacy of the location since it is a little south of town (Dominical) away from the other hotels. It gets a wonderful breeze from the ocean, too.

We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we come back to Costa Rica!

Caution: The driveway into the property from the main road is quite steep, and you'll want to make sure no cars are on their way down as you are on your way up.

Room Tip: Monkey Loft was wonderful! Would sleep 2-4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    73
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
135
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have never seen anything like this place. It is definitely special.

I usually pick places to stay that seem to have high potential for that special quality and this place hit the spot.

On the grounds:
- The location is absolutely beautiful and relaxed.
- The rocks on the beach are amazing. But be careful - do not play on the rocks without caution. The waves can create a wall of ocean water when they contact the rocks and slam you down to the jagged rocks. I was playing on the rocks (I had no intention of getting wet) and got messed up pretty good. It hurt but it could have been much worse. I later heard that 2 people died playing there while drinking on new years. Definitely check the place out but be mindful of the power of the ocean when it contacts the rocks.. use common sense and play away from all the action.
- The viewing areas/hammocks from the hotel are top notch.
- Large iguanas right near the parking lot - they were awesome.
- Beautiful birds surround this place.
- Sandra is super cool.
- The pool is okay.
- Food seemed overpriced for what it was so we used the kitchen and ate out.

In the room:
- Had a really nice feel. Somewhat quaint and rustic but with nice amenities, good lighting.
- The kitchen was nice to have.
- Beds are very comfortable.
- The rollaway bed was not super comfortable but it was fine.
- A/C was great.
- Water for showering could have been a little hotter.

In the area:
- Great place to beach hop - so many nice/secluded beaches close by.
- drive down to Uvita Waterfall - beautiful place.
- groceries are expensive and limited in the area so if you plan to cook you may want to come prepared.
- decent vegetarian options in the area.

Great value for 5 people. Great value in general. On an excellent property. May be a little sleepy for certain people but perfect for those who are in the process of perfecting the fine art of chilling with a fair amount in the area to keep busy.

This would be a pretty cool place for a romantic getaway.

I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Dolphin and Pelican have a view of the parking lot but were still pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mirrorpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We used this place to break up journey to Matapalo. Little bit away (2kms south of Dominical) from town and strong surfy vibe…which is great…place leads on to Dominicalito a very pleasant beach which has a great beach break on full tide. Beach here not for beginners unless you just want to flop about in shallows…which is good…but do be careful of rocks…best entry point is in front of campsite10 mins further south of hotel...
The best breakfast and wood fired pizzas in the evening…lovely staff…very secure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razorfishsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our family of 2 adults, 3 kids (6, 9, 11) stayed for a week and wished we'd stayed longer. Unbeatable location. Sandra and staff were so very helpful and accommodating in every way. Rooms are exactly as pictured on the website. Tropical surrounds. Clean rooms. Could use a little update on some of the cooking implements, but overall, no major issues with regards to making meals in the unit. The restaurant on site served up great food while enjoying views of the pounding surf and the setting sun. The price is outstanding. Would definitely stay at Costa Paraiso again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at Costa Paraiso! The location is beautiful and relatively close to "downtown" Dominical. The hotel is very clean and inviting. We were in the Coconut Room and it was very spacious, extremely comfortable, and quiet! The staff were very friendly and the food at the restaurant was delicious! My only complaint is that we had barely lukewarm showers, but it was so hot outside that it didn't really matter anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_deklerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed last month for three nights in "The Toucan Nest" room. The hotel is in an ideal and quiet setting directly on the ocean -- about a three minute drive to restaurants and shopping in Dominical. The grounds and pool have great views of the ocean crashing on rocks. The restaurant served delicious food and was convenient. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There are only five units here. The Toucan Nest has a million dollar view from the deck (and bed), the other rooms not so much. The room was nicely furnished, but needed a slight face lift. We'd recommend Costa Paraiso.

Room Tip: If your party can get by sharing a King Bed, The Toucan Nest has the best view ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Let me start this by saying I am a firm believer of tripadvisor reviews - i booked my entire Costa Rica trip using them to help make my hotel decisions. I am not a novice traveler and I am not someone that complains just for the sake of complaining.

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Feb and stayed in the "monkey room".

Upon entering the room, it reeked of camp fire...we figured it out..they built a new wood fired pizza oven that is within proximity of the room. Ok not a huge deal, but not what I expected from the #2 ranked hotel in tripadvisor. It stunk throughout our stay.

No working overhead lights - both the overhead lights in the room were broken and didn't work during our stay - they did give us a % discount off the room for the inconvenience. Nice of them and not the end of the world for me.

No Hot water - After my wife took a shower, she let me know the water was luke warm at best. We notified the front desk about no hot water and no lights. They came to the room and said the blue button on the shower head was the heat adjustment.

Ok, queue up the husbands shower - i'm going to get in there..turn on the water. what is the first thing i'm going to do after the water problem? Yep, i'm going to adjust the shower head. Can you guess what happens when I touch it? I get electrocuted...i mean legit electrocuted. It hurt like hell. I didn't make a big deal about it and headed out to Tortilla Flats for some sunset drinks. We get to talking to the locals and telling them my story about the shower and before i was even halfway done they both chimed in unison "Suicide shower!!!" I guess these types of electric shower heads are common in CR...that being said. Buy some hot water heaters - those things are dangerous.

The rooms are not individual villas - there are 2 units per building so we shared a common wall - just some info for the honeymooners :-) Also, No ocean views from your room - the main building/restaraunt blocks it.


The grounds are very lush and beautiful - the previous reviewers are correct. You can definitely find a private spot to settle in and not be bothered. If you want to beach it you will need to walk/drive to dominicalito beach. its about a 10-15 min walk..or a 2 min drive. The ocean views are nice with lots of volcanic rock in front of the hotel main area.

The restaraunt was just ok for us - they charge for breakfast which our other hotel did not. Do not serve any lunch. Dinner is your choice of Tapas or Oven Fired pizza. Again, just ok for us - we wanted a dinner. Not pizza and appetizers.

We were there at the same time as the Owner Bob - super nice guy and very friendly. He was down from Calgary, Alberta with a bunch of his buddies so I'm guessing thats where the stellar reviews before mine came from.

If it were our choice to do over - would have booked our entire trip at Villas Alturas(where we stayed before Costa Paraiso) and passed on Costa Paraiso. Both hotels were the same amount of money...so for my money i'm going to pick the better place. If Costa Paraiso was a little cheaper, I would've had less of a problem dealing with the issues described above.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edubs145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Property: Costa Paraiso
Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing