We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise found”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a beautiful location. The view is spectacular with the crashing waves and jungle setting. The beach is a very scenic to walk. We were greeted by a friendly, helpful staff. They have a new chef that made us some wonderful dishes with fresh local ingredients. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. This is a small place so book early and consider yourself lucky if they have an open room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getoutthere332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for the great review, was good that you enjoyed the view and the rocks where the waves were crashing, it is a view that you don’t get tired of, was good that you have the opportunity to be part of the new changes at Por Que No? Restaurant, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This small hotel was perfect to serve as our base in the area. We were surprised by how much it offered for such a small hotel: beach access, wonderful food (we ended up eating more meals there than we planned because it was so good!), close to Dominical, and great service. If returning to this area, which we hope to someday soon, we would not hesitate to rebook at this perfect place.
Also, this was our 2nd trip to Costa Rica, and this was by far our favorite hotel because it wasn't over populated by tourists, it's owned by Costa Ricans, and just outside of our hotel was a local beach, where we could see beautiful sunsets every night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boilerfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We are absolutely happy that you had a great time and good memories of this beautiful area and make Costa Paraiso your home in Costa Rica, thank you for stay with us!!! Welcome home anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

General
- Great place and I will definitely recommend it to my friends
- This is a REALLY small hotel - it only has 5 separate "rooms" of different sizes, so you are almost guaranteed privacy and quiet (except for sounds of the jungle and waves breaking on the rocks in front of the hotel, which provides for a great view)
- There's a swimming pool, hammocks, lounging chairs and another deck with view on top of the restaurant
- DO CHECK what's included in your room price (in our case breakfasts were not, but not a problem)
- There's a restaurant on the spot which serves meals throughout the day, with an ocean view
- The place is c.40min walk from Dominical, so recommend taking a taxi, which is a couple USD one way (might consider this to do food shopping / check out other restaurants / etc.)
- Great base for surfing Dominical/Dominicalito and other beaches nearby (we used Dominical Surf Lessons, where Debbie and her husband Flaco were super helpful and gave us great lessons twice a day over a week)
- If you surf/swim - drying things may be an issue (although hotel machine dryers are available for a fee) and we used a combination of bungalow roof with direct sunlight and old-school chair use

Our room
- We stayed in Toucan room, which really is a separate bungalow a little on the side with own little veranda (with roof so no direct sunlight)
- Definitely recommend for a couple
- In terms of equipment, there's a safe, microwave oven, a set of dishes, toaster and coffee maker (+water) and a fridge, so you can be pretty independent of the restaurant if need be
- There's a set of mosquito nets on windows, so you can let the breeze in without getting eaten (there are some flying/biting insects, but not a disaster and what else can you expect in the tropical rainforest?)
- comfy bed with all sheets provided
- Shower with limited pressure and less so for hot water, but not an issue as it's warm enough that you'll be grateful for cool (not really cold) water most of the time

Other
- nice swimming pool area with lounge chairs
- the driveway to the hotel off the main road is pretty steep (c.45+ degrees incline) so watch out what you drive (I'm told it can get slippery immediately during/after rain)
- beach: the beach is a short walk down the hill / to the side from the hotel, also with great views. This means no random people walking through the property.
- only reason why this is a 4 rather than 5 stars in my view is the restaurant - very good most of the time, but needs to improve consistency of quality delivery.

Room Tip: Go for Toucan - this is a separate bungalow on the side with a veranda and ocean view, ideal for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukaszadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback it was positive and constructive, We do continue to review our restaurant evening menu and we will change things on the menu, We welcome our new chef Shelby, we sure it will be totally a new experience for the restaurant Por Que No? We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon with your friends Por Que No?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Well thought out, well executed, perfectly situated, boutique hotel with post card quality rooms, excellent views, atmosphere and a great staff.

The food is excellent.

For all practicle purposes the adjacent beach is private.

This could be used as a base for visiting most of this part of Costa Rica inc..Manuel Antonio Park about 45 min north.

My only regret is that I only spent two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicag0Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

We are absolutely happy that you had a great time and good memories of this beautiful area, thank you for stay with us!!! We hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

That's my 2nd trip to C.R and I was looking for a nice place, walking distance from the ocean in Playa Dominical.
This is a 5 bedroom hotel, and I was amazed how well this place was maintained with only 5 rooms. They keep the place very clean, the pool is small and nice with an ocean view. The rooms are spacious with small kitchen.
You can walk to Dominicalito beach, but you'll need a car to get to Dominical. so if you are a surfer, you might want to spend your stay right on Dominical beach.
Little piece of paradise...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your stay at Costa Paraiso, we are glad to be part of your 2nd great experience in Costa Rica, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The place is great, just at the ocean with fantastic views.
We had the room "tucan nest" for 1 night and would have stayed more if we could...
The staff is very friendly, the pool is great (with view on the ocean) and internet worked well from our room. The room was nice too.
The only issue was that there were not really hot water for the shower... which happened in several hotels where we stayed in Costa Rica...

Room Tip: Try the Tucan Nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the ocean view, the rocks where the waves were crashing, it is a view that you don’t get tired of, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We've stayed at and even got married at very luxurious places in Costa Rica such as Villa Caletas and Marriott Los Suenos. This was our 4th trip to Costa Rica, and we decided to make it a short trip. We wanted to learn how to surf. The best place to learn is at Playa Dominical. Costa Paraiso is located by Playa Dominicalito (which has more advance waves for surfing) and 1 mile away from Playa Dominical. Our room was equipped with a kitchenette (microwave, dishes, utensil, kitchen sink, small fridge, drinking water tank, breakfast table), small A/C unit, and safe. There was no TV, but the WIFI was decent. The staff was friendly and nice. The small restaurant "Porque no" was very good and fresh. Service was slightly slow (but that's everywhere in Dominical). Take your time and enjoy the breath taking ocean view of the waves crashing onto the rocks as you eat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konagnocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thanks for your review of Costa Paraiso, We look forward to welcoming you back again. NB Just to note the surf at Dominical is generally considered to be for advanced surfers only (except for the white water beginner lessons) whereas Dominicalito is for beginners and intermediate surfers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
600 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing