We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, great hosptitality”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Such a pleasure to dine at Por Que No… hard to fine a restaurant with fantastic views, great ambiance and delicious, healthy food. Not to mention the hospitality of Jo and Shelby to ensure your dining experience exceeds your expectations. Highly recommended dining in this wonderful place for any meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingGypsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

We appreciate you took the time to fill out the review for our restaurant. Thanks for the recommendation.

See you soon.

Jo & Shelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

The reviews don't lie: the property is beautiful, the ocean views are breathtaking, the food is fantastic, and last but not least, Jo, Shelby, Selena, Sandra, Nicole, Myra and Gus are absolutely wonderful!

The location is great for activities, which the staff will help you to schedule. It's also absolutely perfect to just relax and take in the view. I stayed in the Monkey Loft, which was very nice, very clean and had everything I needed.

There is no way to put into words how wonderful Costa Paraiso is. You just have to go there and experience it yourself. I highly recommend it!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thanks for the review Liz! We all miss you around here...can't believe it is almost 3 months since you were here??

We really appreciate the recommendation.

Cheers,

Jo, Shelby & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My friend and I spent a lovely week at Costa Paraiso while on a surf vacation. This place is wonderful! We stayed in the Dolphin bungalow. It was spacious and clean with a full size fridge. The staff at Costa Paraiso and Por Que No? were wonderful. Jo, Shelby, Sandra, Selina, Nicole and every one else went above and beyond to make our trip special. We ate at Por Que No? many times for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the quality of the food and service was consistently excellent! It's very convenient to have such a great restaurant just a few steps from our room! The town of Dominical is only a short walk (mainly on the beach) away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravenswood111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thanks for the review.

It was great to have you two lovely ladies here for the week. We would love to see you again sometime...perhaps another surf trip?

Cheers,

Jo, Shelby & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

this is my first ever trip advisor review and i'm only here because the staff at costa paraiso, and indeed the hotel itself, were fantastic.

its beautiful. the food is great. the smoothies are incredible (steve's cocobomb especially) the staff are superb, very friendly. they couldn't have done more for us.

the area is great for surfing and there are cool waterfalls all over the shop.

me and my 2 english friends had a superb holiday with costa paraiso. Go!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birchface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thanks for taking the plunge into TripAdvisor for us. It was great to have you guys here - we really enjoy fellow surfers around. Helps us get out in the water on days we are feeling lazy!

Cheers,

Jo, Shelby & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family spent over a week at Costa Paraiso and we really enjoyed it. The site is really fantastic: breathtaking views, great pool, nice and clean rooms, wonderful food and a postcard beach all to yourself. The staff was extraordinary in every way. This was our second trip to Costa RIca, and out of the 4 places we stayed in, this one was the best. If you're looking for a quiet holiday to enjoy the sun, beaches and nature, I highly recommend Costa Paraiso.

Room Tip: The Pelican and Dolphin rooms have little stoves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thanks for filling out the review. It was great to have your family here. Hoping to see your family again in the future.

Sandra, Jo & Shelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have recently ate at the costa paraiso restaurant What a fabulous location. So private, lush gardens, and brilliant service. The food is a unique combination of tico foods with a twist on preparation. Don't go if you are pressed for time. This is an experience to be savoured and enjoyed. The ambiance and the cuisine are a vacation memory for me and my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

We really appreciate that you filled out a review. Glad you enjoyed our restaurant. It was wonderful having you and your family.

Cheers,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our family and friends (group of 8) stayed here for a week, and everyone loved it. Sandra and Jo were incredible from the moment we arrived to the minute we left - helping us get acquainted with the area, finding running and walking trails, tours, and just being available! They also suggested other restaurants when we asked for advice, but their restaurant was by far the best in the area. We enjoyed our quaint little room - the Coconut. Indeed you have to accept that the environment lacks a few luxuries that we have at home, but this is the adventure and the thrill of CR. Not only did small acorns fall on the roof during the night, but one morning an iguana fell on the roof from a tree, and we watched him jump to the ground and run away! There was a cacophony of birds every morning, little lizards on the grounds - pura vida! We laughed at it all.

What really stands out:
1) Amazing food at on-site restaurant PorQueNo? - I suggest eating there breakfast/lunch/dinner - we did the tour of the west coast, and nothing compares to this place!
2) Beautiful running beach 20 steps away - almost 2km of gorgeous sand, rarely a soul in sight, with the added challenge of having to check the tides (something wonderfully novel about this). Our kids loved to play in the bay right on the edge of the property, in front of the big island - it was their own private mini-beach.
3) Immaculate grounds - the garden has full time staff to keep it beautiful. Pool was great. View is extraordinary. Kids (8&10) were safe to run around the grounds. Location on the ocean is really hard to come by in the area - this is a gem.
4) Unbelievable value for your money
5) Every single staff member was the perfect balance of helpful and available, while respecting privacy. Sandra and Jo - bravo on your management style, and the success of your place.

Book early... there is such little availability because it is an extraordinary spot.

Room Tip: We liked the Coconut - everything we needed. I will try the Pelican next time, to have a little pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

It was wonderful to have your family here during the holidays Taryn...such amazing people that we were able to get to know over your trip. Very easy to have around and created such a great ambiance in the hotel - the Christmas carolling on Christmas Eve was very cool! You guys are the perfect guests!

Thanks for the kind words.

Hope to see you again sometime (Costa Rica, Canada or Germany)!

Cheers,

Jo, Shelby & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
617 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#7 of 14 in Dominical
91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#11 of 14 in Dominical
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £72 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing