We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back to Costa Paraiso in a heartbeat!”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
East Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I'd go back to Costa Paraiso in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The location is priceless which makes the rate at Costa Paraiso a bargain. Dominical is remote enough to keep the big crowds away, but large enough to have plenty of restaurants, a few of which are truly excellent. But 'progress' is coming. Even the last 40 kilometers of dirt road and one lane bridges are disappearing. The staff at Costa Paraiso treat you like visiting family. They take care of you and make you feel at home at the same time. During the six days we were there the family next door to us brought back a load of fish they had caught that day and the CP staff cooked them up and invited all the guests to the party.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srsEastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    73
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
107
136
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

If you're looking for a simple, cabina style place with the Pacific ocean just outside, this is the place. My husband and I stayed here 10 days and found it very relaxing. The setting is beautiful, with birds, iguanas, and tropical plants. There is a deserted beach just south where we walked each morning. This is NOT a fancy resort, if you stay here you are staying for the peaceful location, the chance to really relax. If you want luxury then you won't be happy here, but if it's a tropical experience with a secure (night guard) and relaxed place to stay, you'll be happy. You do have to leave to get food, but we just bought breakfast/lunch stuff at the market and then went out to dinner. We went on tours both south (Osa Peninsula) and north and found this a good home base. You are south (1 mile or so) of the little surf town of Dominical so there will be no drunk 19 year olds stumbling by which is what you might have if you stay IN Dominical. Owners were helpful in finding us places to stay in San Jose, driving directions, restaurant recommendations, etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripGirl021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My stay at Costa Paraiso was an unbelievable experience. I think more than anything it was the people that run the beautiful place made me feel such at home. They were always there if you needed them. Always had great recommendations of awesome adventures to take during the day. Or just to kick back at Costa Paraiso for the day and journey into the unknown was a great way to spend the day. The beautiful beach and huge rocks 30 yards behind the place was an adventure in itself.
While staying at Costa Paraiso I stayed in the Toucan Nest, which was much nicer than expected. I had cold A/C, hot water and the best view Costa Rica may have to offer. Water crashing against the rocks, day in day out was very mind easing. Not to mention enjoying the local iguanas crawling around on some of the branches right outside, off the nice private porch that separates you from the other “casitas” on the grounds of Costa Paraiso. My stay was one not to forget and on top of that I even made new friends with the people there. I definitely plan to return hopefully sooner than later.
I would recommend this place to anyone who knows how to have a good time, let his or her hair down and just relax.
A very special thanks to Steve, Jennifer & Ullie… You guys made the stay most enjoyable its nice to meet and be around good people…

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

My wife and I spent most of a week at Costa Paraiso last year, and I guess I was too relaxed - it took me until now to write this review! We loved this place, but anyone who goes needs to make sure they understand what type of place this is.

Costa Paraiso is everything that everyone says. It is a nice, relatively simple place in a beautiful setting, right on the coast. There are five "casitas" around the main house, each with a little different character. We stayed in the Toucan Nest, which was perfect for a couple - secluded with great views.

Jennifer met us when we got there, and the guard helped us with our luggage in the rain. She even made us some iced tea to drink when we got in. Tequila the dog was nice and friendly too! Everyone treats you like family.

When the rain cleared out the next morning, we could see how beautiful the place was! All the rain and sun meant that everything was growing great. We never had any monkeys, but we had our share of lizards, iguanas, toucans, hummingbirds, all types of animals. There were even two toucans who lived in the attic of the Toucan Nest - they came out to sun when the sun came out. The grounds are well manicured, with all manner of tropical plants and flowers - it's a great place to sit and relax. And they help you out with that too - there are a bunch of hammocks to relax away the day in! There's a nice pool with hammocks around it, as well as a rancho (thatched roof hut) with more hammocks.

At one point there was apparently a sand beach right in front of the hotel. Apparently it washed away, leaving the black lava rocks, but there is a beach right next door, and it was relatively quiet during the off season - don't know about high season. The rocks make for some great waves, though, and they've put a floodlight on them so the waves are very dramatic at night - as high as 30 feet up in the air!

On a lot of those evenings, the owner Doug and his buddies will sit out on the patio and jam - there's a drum set and a couple of electric guitars out there all the time. Don't worry, though, they're never very loud - never keeps you up at night.

This is not a five star luxury resort, so there are some people who won't like it, and should really look some place else. It is nice, laid back place, though, in a beautiful setting, and will really appeal to some people. It's not for the people who want room service, or those who want a fitness center or a business center (but there is free wi-fi), but Doug or Jennifer will be glad to recommend a nice restaurant a few minutes down the road in either direction. They'll also be glad to recommend places for other activities - zip lines, horseback riding - it's all available nearby.

When we go back to Dominical, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Listening to the waves 24 hours a day and smelling the flowers throughout the property is incredibly relaxing. We arrived after traveling through Peru and feeling run-down from all the hiking and non-stop action. What a perfect place to unwind! You can lounge by the pool, in a hammock or take a 2 min walk to the sandy beach. Restaurants and stores are within a 5 minute drive. If you don't feel like driving, get delivery. The staff will tell you what's best around here.

We have the Pelican room. Very spacious, air conditioned and clean. If there is anything you need, the staff will get it. They will even do your laundry!

I am looking at the ocean and listening to the birds as I type this. Pretty awesome, eh? Earlier today we had some fresh pineapple by the pool. I'd love to come back here anytime. Remember that you are in the jungle so use your bug spray :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank looniework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed in the Dolphin Room the beds were cozy and it had a little kitchen -that I needed to heat up my babies milk. Jen was nice enough to offer to move the microwave in our room, but we didnt need it as it had the coffee maker and stove. The view and the sound of the water hitting the rocks was amazing. This has to be the best location in the area. The garden area and pool is where we spent most of our day. We asked where we should eat and Doug and Jen gave us a wide selection to choose from. Thanks to you both for making our stay so comfortable.
On another note, there is a lot of wild life in the area. we saw so many different birds and iquana's. They said they have monkies as well, but we didnt see any...this time. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachtosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2009

If anybody ask me how was costa paraiso, I will have to say this is how paradise should look like!!! beautiful place, the casitas were nice and clean, the stuff was just great, Jennifer was such a nice person in any aspect, I will tell anyone to go and enjoy a hevenly place!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toto1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Property: Costa Paraiso
Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing