We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great hospitality for A Dad and his teenage surfer son”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Jennifer and Bryce were our most hospitable hosts whether cooking us a fresh breakfast,ordering great pizza and pollo asada from a delivery spot in Uvita or cooking us a delicious lunch with the leftover pollo.The first night we were there ,Bob and Bryce cooked burgers on the grill and had us as guests. It felt like we were personal guests ,not customers.
Bob took my 14 yr old son surfing at his favorite spot on the 2nd day and had other great suggestions for other locations while we were there. Our 4 nights there were fabulous..We enjoyed the great pool...the gorgeous Domincalita beach/cove right there...not to mention the unforgettable sunsets..
The "above and beyond the call of duty" list from Jennifer includes getting us transportation (we didn't rent a car) for all our activities,including lending us her car ,at her insistence, in a pinch one day and giving us a bottle of much-needed suntan lotion from her private stash and told "just keep it..you'll need it".
Rooms are spacious and private...outdoor showers great...wifi worked w/out a hitch..
And the common area/patio around the kitchen area was great for those wanting to enjoy the company of the other guests.
We shall return next "winter break"..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuneDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

We have stayed at CP several times, across two ownerships. We always find the rooms to be very nice with upgraded furnishings, air conditioning, in room safes, helpfull friendly staff and a host of fun locals and regulars who make the stay that much more enjoyable. The location can't be any better. Surfers will enjoy immediate access to several breaks and family can enjoy beachcombing, tidepooling and several spots to play in the surf. The new owners have done a great job on improving the grounds and facilities. The location is just down the road from the town of Dominical, away from the hustle of town, but within close access to what you need. They have added a breakfast offering with reasonable prices and you can access all your internet needs while looking out across the Pacific ocean... perhaps wondering why you brought your computer anyway. Managers can help you with any and all questions and trips you may want to take in the local area. A very inclusive and friendly atmosphere is present here where you may be invited to share dinner with other guests and visitors, or just a few cold ones around the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigSalLakeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We have visited Costa Rica last year and this year, and have driven from the Carribean, to Arenal, to Guanacaste, and to Oso Penninsula. I must say, this is the most beautiful piece of property we have seen, bar none! We stayed in Tucan's Nest, by far the most romantic room on the property and with the best privacy and view, but all the rooms are nice. If any of you have been in Big Sur, California or up on the Mendocino Coast, this has equal to surpassing beauty and with 85 degree weather and 70 degree water! The breakfasts are fantastic, the gardens simply beautiful, and the pool refreshing. You won't find better in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35plymouthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I have stayed here a few times over the years, though the latest stay in Aug 2009 was in the midst of the new owners (Canadians) remodeling the villas. They had one building uner renovation, and the other was being rented, though it was fine. The previous time here I had the honeymoon cabina which is great, this time a huge room with kitchen and 2 huge beds and sitting area, we were the only guest besides a nice Tico family that was all 3 generations on holiday. They are also adding a common kitchen outdoors on the patio, which is very cool, with bbq. The pool is great, and I like the location, as Dominical does not have many options that are tranquil and o the beach directly. I have also stayed at the Coconut Grove Cabinas next door which is fine, but the rooms are small, but nice pool and owners there....this hotel is a nice value, and right on the beach, all to yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Stayed 4 nights in Dolphin Lodge, enjoyed our stay. Nice room, nice staff. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mersu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Me and friend stayed for a week at the Costa Paraiso and had fantastic time. The location is great! It's in a quiet and secluded spot but its no than 5,10 minutes away from Dominical where you can eat or have a drink. From the hotel you have a spectacular view of the garden, pool and beach. I spent most of my time relaxing on the porch of our cottage, relaxing in a hammock by the pool and relaxing on the beach. This is a place, you probably can tell, that you can relax at. There's free wireless but it barely makes to the cottages. I could access it if i was right by the window or out on the porch, however you can just go down to the deck of the main cottage and surf from there and enjoy the view. You'll need a car if you stay there. Everything is pretty close but its not walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgary_Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We stayed here on our way back to San Jose from the Osa. We just wanted a place to stay for the night, but had such a great experience we ended up staying for 3 days. The manager/owner told me that they had just finished extensive renovations. We stayed in the Monkey room and everything in it was new which was nice. They also had a new rooftop patio that we spent a couple evenings hanging out on. They have a big light that spotlights the rocks and waves in front of the place at night that is a nice touch.

The location and view are great and you can walk to the nearby beach in a couple minutes. The manager is very personable and helpful and took us to a nearby waterfall one day that you can slide down that was very cool. They have no restaurant, but all of the suggestions they gave us for places to eat were very good and they said they were going to be offering a paid breakfast as well quite soon. The manager also invited us to a BBQ with his friends while we were there that was a lot of fun.

The pool is kind of small, and there is some noise from passing trucks at times, but neither are really a serious problem. They are a few minutes away from the town of Dominical, so having a vehicle is a big help if you plan to stay here. This place is not the Four Seasons, but all in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#12 of 14 in Dominical
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing