We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe choice”
Review of Roca Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roca Verde
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe choice”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel offers really nice and clean rooms.
When we stayed there, the zone in between the beach and the hostel was unfortunately not yet cleaned. We stayed here in the early high season, and were the only guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siska_Dellaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    28
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
35
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good staff with great food. Great blended drinks. Room well appointed with coffee makers, only downside is no safe but our group had no problems with that. Pool is clean and well kept. Wifi only in the restaurant but I was able to get it from my balcony as well.

Hotel is just down the beach from Dominical (15 minute walk, not possible when the tide is in). Or you can take a short cab/drive into town to visit the lifeguarded beach, surf, shop or visit aselection of restaurants.

I would reccomend this to couples or families wanting a relaxing place to stay while exploring the area.

PS I don't think the hotel hosts the dance parties anymore, mike said it was getting too crazy and decided to tone it back

Room Tip: 1st floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Small place with a great location. You can't see the beach from the hotel rooms (you can from the bar/restaurant). But it's just a very short walk down the water. They have a small pool that is clean and relaxing. The rooms are large and air conditioned. The staff was very nice. I would come back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days at Roca Verde. First, the positive: The place is spotless, the rooms modest yet lovely, grounds are well kept, security excellent and the beach magnificent-The restaurant's food is simple but delicious and reasonably priced. The staff were always gracious and helpful.
Now to the negative: The proprietor, Mike, was totally rude, weird or moody and seemed to look right through you. My wife had the impression that we had offended him in the first 13 seconds of presenting ourselves. Why does someone like this ruin his own hotel? for this reason we cannot recommend it--feeling welcome is huge when you're in a foreign country.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We only spent one night there as Dominical villiage was a bit full and dusty. After checking in went for a walk on a tropical beach all but deserted and pristine. Manta Ray young play in the shallow surf so shuffling in the water was reccommended not stepping like most places. Property was clean and staff friendly especially the owner Micheal who shared time with us after a fabulous dinner with history and some laughs. Punto Uvito just a 15 km south is huge long and shallow beach so miles of unspoiled, palm tree lined pristine area. A must see if you are down here. Sunset was incredible.

Room Tip: No glitz and Ritz here just the feel of a time gone by. NICE
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tubtent6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Spent 5 nights here last week and was pretty happy with the room etc. Air conditioner worked really well which is a big thing this time of year. A bit of a walk to town although it is down a beautiful beach. Still I think I will probably stay in town next time if I travel alone as there was not much going on at the Roca entertainment wise. Nice place for a couple to spend the weekend but a little slow for me. People were friendly and restraunt was good.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matthewwarren51907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The rooms are okay, but the manager is rude and the rest of the staff are weird. We cannot recommend it.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Th0r_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.2 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
574 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
418 reviews
5.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Property: Roca Verde
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roca Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing