We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel, any closer to the ocean and you'd be in high tide!”
Review of Roca Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roca Verde
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed 4 May 2013

When we arrived, we were shown by the owner to an upstairs room (simple, but cool and clean). When my spouse succumbed to heat exhaustion, and Michael (the owner) drove me to the store for supplies; and then the next day he took us to the bus station to help us continue our journey, and then took us to see some point of local interest. The breakfast here is superb (we had the tipico) and gracious plenty. If you're sitting in the dining room you can almost feel the sea mist as the tide comes in -- it is a few yards walk to be on the beach proper where you can walk 10 minutes to the center of town. On our last day, they treated us to fresh patacones, and then drove us to the bus stop. I can't thank Michael and Antonio (the dining room manager) enough for their kindnesses.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor - the balconies get great wi-fi reception.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Roca Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We recently visited Dominical, Costa Rica. One of the best places in Dominical is Roca Verde. The ambiance was terrific, the beach excellent. The best feature of this very nice hotel is the owner Michael, an ex-pat from Colorado. He is friendly and so helpful. When we decided we needed a car, Michael called the Alamo agency in Uvita, told them we needed a vehicle and had it delivered to Roca Verde. He got it for us at a very decent price. When we first arrived, Michael arranged for a taxi to take our wives to the little shopping area and helped us with the local phone company to get our telephone chip changed so we could use it in Costa Rica. I highly recommend this hotel to travelers who's destination is Dominical. Thanks Michael for all your help and the most excellent wine and beer we had in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you are sick of the usual service and architecture you see everytime you travel, this place has different construction and thematic, so you’re bound to find something you will enjoy.Because the location this beauty offers you total control over your accomodation, surrounded by refreshing gardens,wide parking lot, The exciting detail is that each of the two floor rooms have their balcony where you can see the beach or the restaurant or the swimming pool area. The restaurant has agood range variety of meals from costarican food to international meals.All rooms have bathrooms and air conditioned. It.s just very relax place to stay so go and discovere it by yourself...you.ll love it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Occhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We really enjoyed our nearly week-long stay at Roca Verde. The whole place is kept immaculately, and the food is excellent. Don't let the pictures of the pool fool you... it may look questionable, but that's just because the paint is worn; it's very clean and the water is crystal clear.

Our room was comfortable, with a nice porch and a spacious bathroom with a nice, big walk-in shower. It would have been nice to have had a small fridge, but it did have a coffee maker with coffee and condiments provided. The A/C worked great. No safe in room.

The beach out back is wide open and uncrowded. In fact, if you go climb onto the cool rock formations and sit there enjoying the view, you very well may not even see anyone else.

In reading reviews before we went, I saw some complaints about Mike, the owner. I believe that the folks who complained must have just misinterpreted their interactions with him. He isn't unfriendly at all, he just isn't the gregarious, slap-you-on-the-back type of guy that hurries to be the first to engage. He is actually very nice and was very helpful. If you have any questions about the area, just ask him.

Need to have laundry done ? Just ask, and you'll get your things back clean and nicely folded. Be sure and tip the ladies who do it for you.

We stayed there shortly after they stopped having the weekend disco. What we did have was very good live music, which I, as a musician myself, prefer. On Friday night, there was a local band which included a world-class violinist and a very good guitarist. On Saturday night, there was a six piece group comprised mostly of Berklee graduates and a fine dancing lady. Who would expect that in such an intimate setting in Costa ?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank mseanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed st Roca Verde for a wedding. The hotel is clean and comfortable with a superb location. Most mornings we had the incredible beach to ourselves and sunset over the Pacific sis not to be missed. At low tide you can even walk to Dominical along the beach. At night we enjoyed stargazing from the pool. Our room had all the basic amenities including a small terrace. Housekeeping was efficient and the room was immaculate. Breakfast was included and you could order from the menu.

Roca Verde is a great base from which to explore the area, located just south of Dominical and north of Uvita.

And make sure to stay in for dinner at least one evening. The lobster & pasta is to die for and the pizza is great too!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kleffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I have stayed in Roca Verde Hotel with my girlfriend in late Dec 2012.
The hotel is just at 5 min walking from the center of Dominical, in a small bay, really beautiful.
I have surfed every morning in this small bay, and I really felt lucky, with no one in the water except me.
The room is large, clean and confortable, with a nice balcony watching the sea.
Bathroom as well, large, clean and confortable.
Cleaning service every morning.
The restaurant, is very large, and with high ceilings , so fresh and wind exposed.
Food was amazing, for sure the best place in Domincal. Tuna fillet, pizza (I'm italian), and lobster linguine, my favorites.
Breakfast was great too, with a selection of different kinds: tico breakfast, continental breakfast, fruit salads ... order the "Mixto de fruta" !!!
We also attended a great party here at Roca Verde with live music, margaritas and a lot of smiley faces : we posted on youtube a video about the live session, enjoy it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UHp8CsF7Yo

Thank you to Edgar and Antonio, and obviously Mike, the owner, that has been kind from check in to check out.

We'll come back for sure!

Giovanni e Chiara

Room Tip: choose the room at the first level, I really enjoyed sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isoladieea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Great location. An easy walk to Dominical along the beach. Quiet and relaxing. The places in town didn't look too nice, certainly not as nice as this place. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The manager won't hold your hand, but warms up if you just talk to him. The food is great, (albeit a little expensive), and the air works. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otis3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.2 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
582 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
99 reviews
5.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range: £104 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roca Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing