We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach hotel - looses 1/2 a star for cold welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roca Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roca Verde
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Nice beach hotel - looses 1/2 a star for cold welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed at Roca Verde in Dominical for 2 nights during our three week Costa Rica vacation.

The hotel is right on the beach but within a beach walk to town.

Upon arrival, we received an odd cold welcome from the owner that left us feeling unsettled.
Looking through past tripadvisor reviews, we did find one that mentioned something similar. It said:
"Unusual welcome?"
"Owners/managers were not as friendly as one would expect, seemed to not be enjoying the business."

We agree with that old review on that particular point.

As for the hotel itself, it's a really nice design, looks very solid and well maintained. The rooms have a nice balcony (try for 2nd floor), are roomy and airconditioned.

What we liked:
- The rooms
- Cleanliness
- Water temperature and pressure
- Balcony
- The nice pool area
- The restaurant had decent meals at good value

To improve:
- No hair dryer in room
- No safe in room
- Friendliness / welcome from management

Note: One of the staff members, Edgar, was very nice to us.

Conclusion: Considering the cold reception we got, I would like to give a 3.5 star rating, however tripadvisor doesn't have that rating.......so instead, I have given an overall 4 star rating for the hotel itself. as it definetly is better than average for this remote location.

Also: As we were checking out, we noticed that staff had placed a sign at the side of the road advertising rooms for $30 less than what we just paid - ouch!

This is a "cautious" recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
35
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

These guys were amazing. Everything from the rooms to their attention was stellar. I actually traveled there in 05 or so but the menu didn't allow that choice but it was truly beautiful and relaxing. Not like some of the other places in CR I stayed where one of the questions was, does your room have hot water? All the rooms were nice and the grounds are beautiful. Right on the beach.

Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank powderhound760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Our first time to Costa Rica. I can't imagine it gets any better than Roca Verde. Clean and adorable rooms...hand painted murals of local flora on the walls. Private porch. Steps to the pool. Ambient music playing softly from the amazing open air bar/restaurant. A short walk up the beach to Dominical. Imagine strolling out onto the secluded beach with crabs scurrying across the sand, dolphins swimming in the distance, iguanas perched on the rocks, sounds of of the jungle always in the background. This is Roca Verde! The owners were very helpful and accommodating with transportation, tours, recommendations, and casual conversation. And a party end all parties on Saturday night!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Roca Verde was the perfect hotel for our learn-to-surf vacation. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and very clean. The pool area is relaxing. The open-air restaurant has a good variety of food which is very well prepared and not at all expensive. Edgar, Edgardo, and Eddie will take great care of you in the restaurant. Mike and Frank, the owners, will help you find ways to enjoy your stay in Dominical and are very accommodating. We felt like we belonged to the family. We just cannot say enough about the kindness of the people of Roca Verde and Dominical.

Some practical matters: The water is potable, even in the rooms, thanks to a filtration system, so don't worry about drinking water, having iced drinks, or eating fresh fruits and vegetables. There's no phone or TV in the guest rooms. We didn't miss them at all. The hotel is about 2 km from town, which is a lovely walk down the beach or a very cheap taxi ride back. The disco on Saturdays is VERY loud, so bring earplugs if you don't want to party. The beach in front of the hotel is great for beginning surf lessons from Costa Rica Surf Camp...they'll come teach you right there!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

American Owner
Knows and is visited by most of the business owners in the area - who are also American and quite friendly.

Nice hotel.

Most of these people had children the age of our boy (8) who immediately asked any visitor "do you live here?".
They always seem to want one more friend.
The adults were pretty close to this too.

We felt welcome in all of dominical - the surf lessons - the soda's - the breakfast at Tequila Flats - Don Lulo - the hiking and wild life.

Roca Verde was a nice place to have access to it all.
The crowd was fun - the bar is nice - the pool is good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAndLubaAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winter haven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great place!! THe oasis of dominical. The location is incredible as well as the atmosphere and awesome food. Disco night on saturday night is impressive. Good people and good times. MIke and his staff run a proffesional, top notch resort. In paradise!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizza4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Rarely do I stumble upon a hotel that makes me want to come back on a monthly basis. Roca Verde was the perfect casis. Rooms were fantastic. The restaurant serves the best food in town, and it's a short walk down the beach to Dominical. Michael and Edgar are the best hosts ever! I'll be back for their infamous salsa disco party! AND IT HAS AIR CONDITIONING!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdenversmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
3.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Property: Roca Verde
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Roca Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing