We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daryl does not only give the shirt off his back, but”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelter from the Storm
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daryl does not only give the shirt off his back, but”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

a complete wardrobe when our airline delayed our luggage and I even got to keep Daryl's old/my new clothes.

It was a delightful two weeks in a peaceful, serene environment which was so green and blue. Everything was perfect, right down to a totally spotless experience thanks to Donna.

We love our time at Shelter From the Storm and have already picked our time for next year.

Room Tip: Monkey House
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
147
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Shelter from the Storm ("SFTS") is a fabulous secluded facility that includes two large guest villas, a guest apartment in the jungle canopy (The Monkey House "TMH"), and the Rancho that includes a pool, pool deck, a fully stocked "honor bar," abundant comfortable seating, and a BBQ area for cook-outs. SFTS is perched on a steep cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, jand ust a short drive (steep driveway) off the main coastal highway, located between Dominical and Uvita, CR. I stayed for one week in the Monkey House, and loved every moment, of my stay. It provided large comfortable accomodations, convenient porch (rocking chairs and ceiling fan) that makes you feel as if you are living in the jungle canopy, many windows providing great views and ocean sounds, as well as cool ocean breezes, along with every comfort and amenity that a guest could possibly desire. They have not overlooked any detail, for which you would be hard pressed to find in your average 5 star hotel. For example, TMH came equipped with refrigerator, microwave, cooking range, coffee maker, fully stocked kitchen with dishes, glasses, cups, pots and pans, utencils and flatware, and (1 1/2 pound bag of fresh coffee) chilled mugs in freezer, complimentary crackers, cookies, fresh whole pineapple, and condiments (ketchup, mustard, salt pepper). Bathrooms were provided with large plump bath towels, hand towels, shampoo, body wash, and hand soap. Bed and sitting area provides generous reading material, IPOD stations, CDs, ceiling fan, drawers and closet equipped with slippers and robe, comfortable chairs, fresh flowers, guest comment and detailed information books, and 24 hour Wi Fi. All of this and great value too!!
Daryl and Donna are wonderful hosts who try to anticipate and provide answers for every guest question or desire. They start with prompt and full responses to guest inquiries, friendly email communications with attachments that include very specific directions, what to pack, anticipated weather information for requested period of stay, recommendations for rental cars, restaurants and a plethora of information of destinations and activities in the area. They greet new guests with a heartfelt welcome and complimentary beverage at the Rancho, with explanation about the facility and the fully stocked "honor bar" (juices, water, soft drinks, cold beer, and virtually every stronger beverage one could desire). They are always available and anxious to assist guests to arrange excursions, answer questions, and make reservations. They were such great hosts that I now consider them friends. I also enjoyed the exploits of wonderdog Boomer and his friends and felines.
I had such a great week at SFTS and was so comfortable and contented at TMH that I hated to leave to explore the area. But nonetheless I did so. I visited some beautiful and secluded beaches including the can't miss beaches of Ballena and Arco (must see the Whale's Tale at low tide), and Playa Ventanas (neat caves to explore; best at low tide), and Dominical Beach for surfing and surf instruction and nice eating places. I experienced some wonderful restaurant fare particularly the fabulous Exotica (Lucy the owner is wonderful), Tortilla Flats at Dominical for nachos and burgers (and a great fruit plate), the Dome for American style drive thru (or stop in) burgers, fries and a Coke and a yummy banana pancake breakfast (opens at 6-7 A.M. daily). I particularly enjoyed the mornings and evenings on the porch of the Monkey House, sipping beverages, listening to music/reading and enjoying the large groups of monkeys that passed by nearly every evening.
Thanks Daryl and Donna; you have created a masterpeice that can be shared and enjoyed by all. I would highly recommend SFTS for anyone visiting this beautiful part of CR. It is worth the trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDLedbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The photos and reviews I saw on this site prompted me to book this accommodation for a 7-night stay. They did not do the villa justice: The views were amazing; hosts were super gracious; villas were stellar both from a design and comfort perspective; honor bar was helpful when we ran out of booze; and wildlife was abundant. Plus the welcome basket and extras (condiments, aluminum foil, library) were all little touches that made a great stay even better. Only downsides: is up a steep hill which makes for scary driving at night, though you get used to it; and if you want to go party in town, it's a 10-15 minute ride. But with those two things factored in, still does not make a negative impact on the great stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Shelter From the Storm is simply a gem. Four gorgeous Villas tucked up onto a mountain overlooking the Pacific, this is a perfect place to stay while exploring the South Pacific Coast in CR. Donna and Daryl are fantastic hosts, and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived, as we joined them for a drink in the beautiful Rancho overlooking the pool.

My wife and I stayed in La Cuesta--what a beautiful place to spend a few nights!! We spent our early mornings sipping coffee and watching monkeys from the gorgeous, private, wrap-around deck. Comfortable furniture, views of the ocean and a hammock make this a special place to unwind. The bedroom was painted like the rain forest and added to the already luxurious feel of the Villa. With a full kitchen, plenty of room and a hand-tiled shower, La Cuesta truly is a peaceful retreat and one that we would not hesitate to book again.

If you have a car, using Shelter From the Storm as a base to explore the many beaches along the coast is perfect. Donna and Daryl made sure we had all we needed to enjoy our stay, including emailing us descriptions of local restaurants and the beaches in the area and making dinner reservations for us at the don't-dare-miss-it Restaurant Exotica. And Daryl's honor bar is a rare treat-- like carrying a top shelf bar and ice cold beer in your luggage! This simple addition to the accommodations speaks to the overall approach of the exceptional hosts, ensuring you feel welcome and at home in your villa and the Rancho and providing great value to their guests.

I highly recommend staying at Shelter From the Storm, we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindUpBird1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Donna and Daryl at Shelter from the Storm made this the absolute perfect trip. Every detail about the facilities was perfect and they knew just when to offer assistance and when to step back and let us enjoy the experience. The welcome basket was a great surprise, as were the plush towels, soft sheets and comfortable bed. The honor bar in the rancho by the pool showed a touch of class and was the perfect place to relax and share some stories with other guests who were enjoying their dream vacation as well. Don't go here unless you plan on being spoiled by a little slice of paradise. Donna and Daryl can also schedule your daytime excursions and direct you to surprisingly good restaurants. Also be sure to have them schedule Melanie for a massage. Men and women alike will be relaxed beyond imagination. You won't be disappointed with anything at Shelter from the Storm.. We are already trying to clear our calendars for a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Our hosts are two entrepreneurs that have carved out a beautiful, relaxing spot with great views. They were available as much or as little as you like, but made us feel welcome like old friends. You can just hang or be adventurous. We only wish that we had spent more time here and hope to return. Much more affordable than other local resorts, as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant, SC, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I visited SFTS and loved every minute of it...I stayed in each of the places and each is charming in its own way....the views are magnificent wherever you are on their property, the hospitality can't be beat, and it is a wonderful place to escape the asphalt jungles or hurried pace of life . Nature abounds in all it's glory...in the lush forests, the beautiful beaches, and unparalled wildlife! Do yourself a favor and visit Donna and Daryl...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgaffos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
2.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
414 reviews
3.6 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter from the Storm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter from the Storm

Property: Shelter from the Storm
Address: San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter from the Storm is a group of 2 villas perched on a 5 acre mountainside point, 60 meters above the Pacific, high enough to give dramatic views of the coast to the Osa Pennisula, but low enough to hear the waves breaking on the rocks below. Hotel rates for your own private place! Ammenities: Shared pool adjacent Entertainment Rancho with honor bar, BBQ,satelite stereo tv & dvd, washer/dryer, & much more.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelter From The Storm Hotel Dominical
Shelter From The Storm Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing