We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for families??? No!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Utrecht
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hotel for families??? No!!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

No matter the fact that it is the most expensive Restaurant I've found in a hotel and the fact the waiters are kinda inviting you to consume ("want to eat/drink more??"); even so I was saying we had a good time, until we saw the info of the hotel in the leaflet of the room. It is expressly written that "due to the topography and the position of the hotel, it is NOT recommended as hotel for children"... that was like a bath of frozen water for us, because nor our travel agent, nor the hotel ever shared this with us before and they accepted our booking without comments. Some members of my group were then trying that our children didnt scream or run in public areas... I stopped them from shutting up my children and said to them: The hotel accepted my children at booking and they KNEW we had small children. Let children BE children and if someone ever complains about it, I will have a word with them AND with the Costa Rican Commission of Protection to the Consumer".

Mr Eduardo, Manager of the hotel: as you read this, I understand you need to protect the interest of your business, but be also consequent with your vocation to service the client and understand that, as mother, I was terribly upset to read that my children are not welcome in your facility, after having accepted my booking and my money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Dariel, first of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment, it helps a lot to improve our service to our clients. Regarding your specific complaint related with your children please accept my apologies, we are going to eliminate that text from the rooms, eventhough the hotel in a way is not suitable for children as it says : because of the topography, we will say it by word when the guest checks in. Children are very welcome at our hotel, only with special cares for them to be safe, we don´t want nothing to happen to them, and they need special care in the sourroundings. We are sorry for the inconvenience, I hope, that besides that, you had a good time.We would like to see you soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    149
    52
    14
    5
See reviews for
120
279
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is the nicest hotel in Dominical. Really very lovely rooms, with one major problem. STEPS!!!
The parking garage in on the ground level. To get to the hotel lobby you must climb a steep flight of steps. To get to the rooms you must climb another 2 flights of steps. My husband and I are in good physical condition and we found that this difficult.

If you want to stay in a lovely room, with beautiful views, this is the place. We wanted more of the Costa Rican flavor.

Room Tip: Although you will have to deal with many steps, choose the 2nd floor. If you stay on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hello Friends, thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments, we are sorry that the steps were an obstacle for you to enjoy our hotel.. in this matter ther is not much we can do, both set of steps you mention are 10-15 steps, yes a bit steep but is the only way you can enjoy a nice ocean and forest view from the Restaurant and from your room. Thank you very much for considering us the best hotel on the area. We hope to see you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langlois, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our five nights at Cuna De Angel. We were there through the Christmas holiday. We were treated like royalty. The views were spectacular. We watched Toucans while we ate breakfast. Do not miss oportunity to visit Cuna De Angel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidbertapelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Friend, thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comments, our goal is to make our guests happy so they have the best of times, the staff at the hotel feels very happy that you enjoyed with us. We hope to see you soon some time. Please feel free to share any nice picture you got during your vacation, we have a facebook page that you might use to share your experience with others. Again, thanks a lot for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in Cuna del Angel during 10 days in January of 2012. Cuna del Angel is the labor of love of Tom, a multilingual German expatriate who several years ago, after searching for the perfect location all over Latin America, fell in love with Costa Rica and its ecological marvels. Cuna del Angel overlooks a vast expanse of tropical forest where capuchin (white-faced) monkeys, squirrels and a variety of birds cavort - beyond which one can glimpse the Pacific Ocean. It is beyond a mere hotel; it is an unforgettable experience, designed on the premise that its impact on the environment can be minimized without compromising comfort, style and luxury. The attention to detail that Tom has invested here is truly amazing. The staff (Angelica, Dayanna, Kerley, etc.) is friendly, attentive, responsive and professional at all times. The quality of the food at its stylish restaurant is first rate, to say nothing of the view. A sumptuous breakfast is included in the price of a room. Furthermore, Cuna del Angel is the most inexpensive of all the boutique hotels listed in Costa Rica. The quality-price ratio could not be better. A beautiful swimming pool, nestled among palm trees, can be seen from most of the rooms.

From Cuna del Angel one can visit the Manuel Antonio and Corcovado National Parks, the biological reserve at Hacienda Baru nearby and snorkel in the pristine waters near Isla del Caño.

My wife Robyn and I will always cherish the truly wonderful days we spent in the splendor of Cuna del Angel. Keep up the good work, Tom!

Pablo

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Echev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear friends , thank you very much for your nice comments, it is our compromise to our guests that they have the best of times, the staff at Cuna del Angel feels glad that you enjoyed all ten days with us. We hope to see you soon sometime. And thanks for all the tips you give to future guests, Dominical is an excellente base to visit beautiful areas of Costa Rica like : Corcovado National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Caño Island etc etc . Pura Vida :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Cuna del Angel is a beautiful boutique hotel, like stepping into another world filled with Angels!
We had a suite that looked out over the infinity pool, the staff is amazing and go above and beyond customer serivce. Danny and Bernado in the restaurant took great care of my son and his meal selections as well as making him feel like a very special customer!
The suites are beautiful with a small terrace for relaxing in the evenings. The bathrooms are spacious and well equipped!
The meals are delicious and the presentation is beatiful! Thank you for a very special gettaway!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hello justjana, thanks for the time taken to write your nice comments, costumer service is very important for us and the staff feels glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Excellent Hotel, beautiful views, great food. Not so funny acces to the beach, but the pool and jacuzzi were great. Been there in 2010 and 2009.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thanks so much for coming back every year, we feel happy to have you at our hotel. We hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Hood, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was our third hotel on our Costa Rican trip and compared to the other two was very disappointing. We originally reserved a Jungle room but when we got to the room we were surprised. It was barely large enough for a bed and desk. The TV was on a mount on the wall but so high and small you couldn't even see it. The "jungle view" was actually a small balcony looking out on a landscaped path that led to the main hotel. We decided to upgrade. The deluxe suite was more what we were hoping for. However the shower was very weak and the water would go between cold and hot. The view from our balcony was much better. We did see monkeys and Toucans and a three toed sloth all from the hotel. We didn't use the spa (it was kind of overpriced we thought). We ate at the restaurant twice and spent way too much money for the food we got. This was partially because unlike other places in Costa Rica they charge 23% on the tip. Stay away from the cocktails. My girlfriend got a Mimosa that actually cost more than my entree. Overall it was a decent stay but there are better places.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank armyskoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
414 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
211 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Property: Hotel Cuna del Angel
Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing