We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Costa Rica tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Costa Rica tour”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had a wonderful quiet stay at Cuna Del Angel. The hotel personnel were excellent, we had issues with paperwork not arriving on time and they were very helpful. The hotel is very nice, rooms, pool, restaurant, grounds and staff of course. You can see the ocean from the ocean front rooms but you can't walk directly to the ocean but there are local beaches very close. Take the 3 hour recommended canopy tour, excellent and just a few minutes drive from the hotel. Recommend a drive up 40 miles north to the national park and beaches. Howler monkeys and tucans all around the area. We say over 30 tucans right on the grounds and heard the howler monkeys every night. Danielle was great on the front desk and we do recommend staying for the dinner a couple of nights, not much esle for dinner in the area but local outdoor bars with good food.

Room Tip: stay in the ocean front rooms, poolside as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel happy that you liked the hotel, food and sorroundings, GREAT that you could see all this wildlife. Hope you can come back and visit us.Thanks for the tips to future visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    148
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
112
277
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this charming hotel. We had a deluxe room on the second floor overlooking the pool area. It was beautiful, romantic and serene (just what the doctor ordered). The restaurant is upscale and we enjoyed several dinners there. The complimentary breakfast buffet was more than adequate. I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit, rice and beans and great cafe con leche.

The hotel staff (especially the front desk staff) were friendly, helpful and accommodating. I had a massage and manicure in the spa, I would like to acknowledge the young lady who serviced me...unfortunately I can't remember her name but she was from Limon. She was warm, engaging and very informative. I thoroughly enjoyed our conversation. We met a shop owner (I believe it was the ice cream shop) in Dominical who asked where we were staying? When we told him, he smiled with a sparkle in his eyes, Hotel Cuna del Angel is where he had spent his honeymoon. That pretty much sums it up!

Yolanda & Bilal
Chicago

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WINDYCITYYOLANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, glad to hear that you had a great time, I will pass on this comments to our staff, specially SPA. We would love to see you soon back visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel grounds are located north of the Osa Peninsula in a primary tropical rainforest with little human disturbance. We stayed 3 nights in May 2012. It rained only the first afternoon, which made the wildlife come out after dark. We photographed lots of plants and animals, including many birds, monkeys, frogs, snakes, and lizards. This is the slow time of year so we had the pool and nearly the entire resort to ourselves. The Deluxe rooms are nicely furnished and the grounds are kept up extremely nice. The restaurant is located near the Deluxe rooms, which made walking to the complimentary breakfast easy. The food was amazing, though we also tried food at nearby restaurants as well. The staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room, the jungle rooms look extremely dark. If there is something you do not like in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you very much for coming and visiting us besides the "negative" descriptions, and we feel very happy that you had such a great time., glad you liked the food. Yes, the hotel is located on a very strategic place, so you can visit Caño Island or Corcovado National Park, just one boat trip away, without driving all the way there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights this April (family of four - children 5,6). Hotel was very clean, comfortable and simply beautiful. Breakfast buffet (included) was abundant and everything was super fresh. Although we enjoyed eating locally in small towns/restaurants throughout our trip, the hotel restaurant offered a world class food: dinner was fantasic - Compliments to the Chef. Hotel Staff very helpful - offered a wonderful snorkling tour with Bahia Aventuras to Cano island. Great tour, highly recommended.
Our first time in Dominical area - overall we were very pleased. I have read the other travelers remarks about the hotel prior to the trip (stairs,occasional road noise, etc.), so no surprises for us. Everything as expected and wonderful. Thanks for an amasing family stay and memories!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear friend, thank you very much for all your nice comments, we feel glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the activities we offer, we feel happy you had a great family time. We put a lot of effort in providing good service and good food to our costumers glad you liked both. Hope to see you soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The accommodation options in this area of Costa Rica are not that many. Cuna del Angel is a well appointed small hotel, with lovely pool and gardens, good service, comfortable rooms, and a good restaurant service. It is not a low budget option, however our group of three family member adults achieved a saving by taking one room with two queen beds, which was quite satisfactory given our stay was for two nights, the room rate including breakfast. The location just off the coastal highway is very convenient for coming and going, although the tradeoff is that there can be noise from the long haul trailers on the highway, however our group was not in any way disturbed.
We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel, the dinner menu is varied and food is good quality and well prepared, but again not a low budget option for dinner. The restaurant has a warm ambience and the waiter service was very good.
The one negative for us was the walk up 24 fairly steep stairs from the parking lot to the hotel reception and main floor, and I did not notice alternative access for those who cannot manage the stairs. Management should seek a solution for this.
We know Costa Rica well having lived here for several years, have stayed in the Dominical area previously, and consider this hotel a very good option for visitors who expect comfort and quality in very natural surroundings.
John Caldwell. Santa Ana, San José, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: I think the rooms around the pool and garden area are a better option than the jungle rooms which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Hello, thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel glad you enjoyed our hotel services, and food, thanks for the tips. We will analyze an option for the stairs to see what we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on a recent visit to Costa Rica. This was the most expensive hotel during our week long trip and was also my least favorite. The air conditioner did not work in the room and the shower head was missing resulting in an uncomfortable stay. The pool and restaurant were nice although the food was overpriced in my opinion. I also tried to check out early around 630 in the morning due to an excursion I had planned and found that no one was available for check out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hello Amy, thank you very much for your comments, they help us improve everyday, please accept our apologies for the malfunctioning of the AC and shower, I wil personally check to fix it. Our goal will always be to offer a nice experience to our costumers.I feel glad you enjoyed our pool and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Charming hotel, smaller than the others on the program of our tour.Spectacular view on the surroundings, the swimming pool and the tropical gardens from the terrace of your room.
Very clean rooms with beautiful furniture.
One of the best we had during our tour. Had a great time in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, I will pass this to the staff, comments like yours keep us motivated towards our goal : Happy costumers all the time. We hope to see you soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Property: Hotel Cuna del Angel
Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing