We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accommodations!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cuna del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aransas Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and loved it! The staff was extremely friendly, professional and helpful. The room was large and luxurious and the view was gorgeous. The food at the restaurant was delicious, however, the service was very slow. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, we feel very happy that you enjoyed our facilities, I will tell our staff hoe happy and pleased with them you were. Thank you for recommending our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    146
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
110
270
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My fiancé and I stopped in at the Hotel Cuna Del Angel and I was very impressed by the place so we decided to stay for two nights. The staff were very accommodating of our last minute request and had a room ready for us within the hour. The best way for me to describe the room was luxurious and all of the amenities you could ask for. I also found the price to be very reasonable for such a high end hotel in Costa Rica. I booked myself a couple of spa treatments and was not let down at all. The pool and the grounds are wonderful and very well kept. And the highlight of it all was the restaurant. The food is amazing...we werent disappointed once. And the service fantastic!!
Overall I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel and we are even contemplating it for our wedding now.

Thank you Hotel Cuna Del Angel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNtraveler014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very much for telling your experience at the hotel to all the trip advisor readers, we feel very happy that you had such a wonderful time at the hotel, in our pool , SPA and restaurant. We always try to provide the best service we can.We hope you can come back soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Hotel Cuna del Angel is a little hidden gem in Dominical! Although we were hesitant at first to venture all the way south to Dominical as it seemed sort of remote on our research, we decided to give it a chance when we saw this hotel online. We had a delux angel room by the pool. The pool is fantastic for swimming and lounging! We basically had the entire pool to ourselves the entire 3 nights. No complaints with the room. We did eat at the restaurant a few times but also ventured elsewhere: we would recommend Jolly Rogers! The food at the hotel restaurant is tasty though. As we didn't have 4x4 we asked the hotel reception to get us a taxi to go to Jolly Rogers. This was the only problem that we encountered : the reception told us it would be $8-10 for the ride. We made the mistake of not asking the taxi driver who then informed us at the restaurant that it would $18! We were not impressed with this as it seemed the reception had arranged everything for us and the taxi ride was only 5 mins. The good folks at Jolly Rogers informed us that this was likely because this hotel is by far the most "ritzy" hotel in the area so some people will try to take advantage. They helped arrange a much more reasonable ride back. As others have noted in their reviews, the mini fridge offerings are very expensive so we as well ended up going to the grocery store and buying our own beer, alcohol and snacks to enjoy in the room. Also we would like to say that other ppl who reviewed and said there are too many stairs must be ridiculous! There were maybe 10 stairs and the hotel staff will help with your bags !!! We hope to come back here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peanutandtucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Hello friend, thank you very much for the time taken in writing this nice review, thank you for all the good comments and for clearing out the stairs issue. We feel very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the surroundings, the taxi cab comment regarding the rate called my attention and I will personally try to fix it, so taxis will charge the rate that we tell our guests. Good tips for the readers on where to eat on the nearby areas. Pleaese come back soon , we will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We book this hotel with a Groupon...thank goodness for Groupon or we might of missed out on really great hotel, filled with wonderful helpful staff and the location proved to be ideal for our first Costa Rica trip. All of our excursions that the hotel arranged for us were 5 star....Zip lining canopy tour, ocean kayaking to caves, horseback riding to water falls, nature walk in rain forest and the hotels deep sea fishing boat was wonderful with a great father son crew....just no fish biting....The owner was in residence when we visited and came by our table at dinner so we could tell him how wonderful his hotel was. Our waiter made the dinners at the hotels only resturant special. Food way above gormet and served with perfection. Can't wait to rebook next year...It's a drive from San Jose Airport but we figure that into our adventure. 5 stars....

Room Tip: No gym....we missed that but we were all tired from our day's activities....Did not try room ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylouWilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you very much for telling your nice experience in this review, I hope is helpfull for all readers, we at the hotel feel very happy that you had such a great time with us enjoying every aspect of it. We will wait for you next year, hopefully with better luck on the fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We booked this hotel through Groupon and absolutely loved it! You really need to have a rental car when you stay here, because it's 9 km to the closest towns (Uvita to the South, Dominical to the North). We had excellent customer service and the food we had there was excellent, but we didn't eat their too often because of the prices. It would have been nice is the beer prices were cheaper. We ended up getting beer from the supermarket instead and drinking it in our room. We went on two of the excursions through the hotel and both were great. Hacienda Baru flight of the Toucan (zip-line tour) and the Waves and Caves Kayak tour. Both were well worth the money. For some of the best food in Costa Rica, go to Soda Naranjita that is located to the right when you get to Uvita. Great prices, great service, and great food. Also, if you have four wheel drive head over to Jolly Rogers across the street. It is an excellent wing bar.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your nice comments, me and the staff feels glad that you enjoyed the hotel , the food , the area and the activities we offer. Thanks for all the tips you give, the area of Costa Ballena is rich in little and cozy restaurants and places to hang out, good recommendation to have a car. We hope you can come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked this hotel with a Groupon and it was great. Right off the main road and only 2 minutes away from some of the best beaches and national parks. The decor is a bit, how shall we say it, over the top with angel motifs, including the staffs' shirts, but it is clean and well kept, with attentive staff and only 10 kms. south of Dominical, a quaint surf town with plenty of options for dinner, or 10 kms. north of Uvita, another cute town with a very well stocked and convenient supermarket. The breakfast buffet is plentyfull: assortment of fruits, breads, home made pastries, pinto (rice and beans), sausage and eggs welcomed us every morning. the views are great: don't expect full on beach, in fact, you can only see a little bit of the Pacific Ocean, but with Rainforest all around you there is no shortage of Tucan sightings and other incredible wildlife- I came across some monkeys during my morning walk right up the road. The staff is very attentive and helpful, but do recommend not booking tours through the hotel, as there is always an overcharge and you can just go to the town of Uvita and book it directly with the tour companies for a savings of at least $25/pp. There is plenty to do in the area and they even provide you with a small cooler that you can bring with on your daily excursions- nice touch. the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms have all the essentials, (including hairdryer) they provide plenty of towels, white for indoor use, and blue if you want to take them to the beach or the pool. We never ate lunch or dinner at the restaurant, though judging by the breakfast, no doubt the food was good- it was a bit expensive in comparison to the neighbouring restaurants, though not by much. THey also have a spa. I had a one hour massage and it was nice, but don't expect deep tissue, and the room is right next to the main entrance stairs so it can be a bit noisy- still , no complains.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for the time in writing this nice review, we feel glad that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, we hope you can come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We bookr
We booked this hotel after staying at Grano de Oro in San Jose and arrived thinking this was going to be a wonderful place to stay since they we're charging 172.00 a night for the rooms. We pulled into the parking lot and we're just a little surprised. The hotel sits on a small hill and there are some ocean views depending on where you are in the hotel ( our pricey room was ground floor with nothing to see but the pool area and trees). The ocean views are distant at best so the hotel can't be classified as ocean side to say the least.
The grounds are well kept and the hotel is clean but our room had a musty smell and needed a good airing out. The trip to the room is down a long dark hallway which puts a depressing air on the stay and there is constant road noise since the hotel sits above the main road.
We ate breakfast there since it was included in the price and it was fairly good with a restaurant which overlooks the trees and a distant view of the ocean. We declined on dinner and opted for a meal in Dominical after looking at the prices on the menu.

Room Tip: Wait until you get there to check the rooms out - I would imagine you might get a cheaper deal on si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
We are very sorry to hear you didn´t enjoyed your stay at aour hotel, what seems strange is to hear the rate you say you payed for your room is for the deluxe rooms, right in front of the pool, and for this rooms there is not a long dark hallway, they are very close from the pool, reception or restaurant. We feel sorry you didn´t liked our breakfast and considered our prices high, and you did not tried our food, our restaurant is consider one of the best of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.5 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
5.1 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Property: Hotel Cuna del Angel
Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing