We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in the jungel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Cuna del Angel hotel is a beautiful retreat in the jungles of Dominical, Costa Rica. The landscaping around the pool area is lush and beautiful and many monkeys and birds can be seen right on the hotel grounds. One morning we saw about 15 white faced capuchin monkeys traveling across the trees right in front of the hotel while sitting on our patio.
The hotel dining room is very nice, open and airy with beautiful views. There is also a very comfortable seating area that is very condusive to chatting with friends and having a refreshing drink. The food is excellent although I feel a bit expensive, although the tax and automatic tip do total 23% which explains the higher costs. This was out 4th trip to CR and we did notice that prices in CR overall have risen. We were in a ground floor room with a nice patio. The room was attractive with nice furnishings but could use better seating - there was only 1 chair in the room, however, we did spend most of our room time sitting outside on the patio which had 2 chairs and a table. The bathroom was nice with good toilet articles and adequate towels. With a little more work this hotel could be a true luxury destination. The staff is friendly, especially Bernardo the head dining room person and Angelica at the front desk. We did not use the spa so I can not comment on the services. The infinity pool is great. We were in one of the angel rooms in the main hotel, there are also less expensive jungle rooms which we saw from the outside but did not get a chance to look inside - they do look small but if you like being totally surrounded by the jungle growth these would be nice, however, they may be a little hot as the weather tends to be warm and humid. The jacuzzi is located near the jungle room complex. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a small view of the ocean and a small balcony. Rooms on the ground floo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your review, we feel very happy to hear that you enjoyed very much our facilities and that you could see the white face monkeys from your patio, glad that you liked our food and the restaurant view of the ocean. Thank you for clearing up that there is a sales tax and service tax that adds 23% to every restaurant bill in Costa Rica, it is important to know. I will personally tell Angelica and Beranardo you were happy with their service. We hope to see you back soon with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cuna del Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Costa Rica is a country of many superlatives...this restaurant/hotel is definitely in that category for Central Pacific cuisine. Located just off the Costanera highway (the highway 1 of Costa Rica), this is a great location for a small destination wedding. German owned & operated, each of the guest rooms are named after an angel, hence the name crib or resting place of the Angels.

Fresh & organic food is commonplace in Costa Rica, but the chefs and mixologists here take culinary skills to a level not easily found elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniversityParkMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this great comment, we feel happy that you had such a good time in our restaurant, defenetely one of the best of the area. We hope you can visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel and the service was stellar! (I'd visited the spa for lunch and a manicure which was quite enjoyable).The setting is beautiful and well maintained. The best part of our stay were the spa treatments. My friend and I were slathered with warm chocolate and loved every minute of it! Afterwards we felt relaxed and refreshed. The food was tasty and well presented. A great place for an extended stay or a day of pampering.

Room Tip: Try to get room closer to the parking lot.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ib2qtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review and sharing your experience with all the trip advisor readers, we feel motivated to keep on when we hear guests as happy as you. Great to hear that you liked our restaurant and our SPA. Please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had a great stay at Cuna Del Angel. Toucans everywhere, short ride into town, beautiful beautiful, beautiful!!! However, when we went to the bar to order a cocktail, ie. Bloody Mary and rum and orange juice... the drinks were $16.00 American dollars each. OUCH! We apparently paid for the alcohol, the mixer, and the making of the drink.....
Overall, everything was perfect, but take your wallet!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Hello friend, thank you very much for taking the time in writing this comment, we feel glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and that is beautiful beautiful beautiful !!!!!! thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I just recently returned from a 4 night stay thanks to Groupon.
Pros
Hotel was very nice and clean
Very set away and quiet
Food was very good
Customer service was good anytime I needed something


Cons
The bed sheets were a little rough
If you want to get around you definitely need a car
Food was expensive

I would stay again and plan to go back in the near future. Also I got a couple of massages by Japhet and they were great!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natushy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your experience, glad that you enjoyed the hotel and that you would like to come again, please do. Thanks for the tips and recommendations to other readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wonderfully located close to the pacific ocean, beautifully done with charming rooms and a very nice and helpful staff! I recommend it highly if you want to be close to paradise :)
A must is at least one dinner at the restaurant...really excellent food!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have angels names and I have seen a few...they are all wonderful!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankeandrea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we feel glad that you had a good time with us, and thaks for sharing the tip of eating at the restaurant, we are considered one of the best in the area. Come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it, it was our favorite place in all of Costa Rica! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and their English is quite good. There are a good number of amazing tours, we didnt have time to do all of the ones we wanted but we went snorkeling and ziplining and both were awesome. Cuna del Angel is set basically in the middle of the jungle. It is a very smal boutique hotel, which meant quiet and very peaceful. You could hear only the sounds of the birds and the relaxing music in the restaurant. The grounds are stunning, the views are amazing, the room was very clean with nice furniture and a very comfortable bed. The pool is beautiful and almost always empty. We got massages which was the height of relaxation. We felt like we could stay there forever and be happy.
The only caveat I would add is that if you don't have a car it is rather expensive to keep taking taxis, as there are no local buses and the hotel is about 10 minutes from the closest town (meaning, grocery store, restaurants, banks, etc.). You also have to hire taxis to take you to the tour locations. On that note, Cuna del Angel is about 3.5 hours from the airport in San Jose, and you will prob have to hire a driver to take you there, or fly to Quepos. We took Easy Ride (www.easyridecr.com) from the airport which was only $50 each- amazing price, other drivers cost $200.
But other than that, this place was truly perfect. I wish I could go back!

Room Tip: Definitely get a Deluxe room. I heard they are MUCH nicer than the jungle rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at hotel Cuna del Angel, we feel very happy that we were the hotel you liked to most in Costa Rica, we work hard to give our costumersa true experience based on good service and high quality services and every time we read costumers really felt it is the fuel we need to keep going. Please come and visit us again, we wiil be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
579 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £65 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing