We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel sits on a mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean although there is no access route to the beach from there. There are two distinct areas at this hotel. The more pricier location is the main hotel where the restaurant and lobby is located. Lower on the mountain is the area called the "jungle rooms". They cost less and are definitely more in the jungle, which I liked, however there seemed to be no insulation between rooms so noise carries. I heard every voice, every door shut and all activities in adjoining rooms to mine. Not so pleasant. Also, although a double bed was requested and reserved, the room had two single beds. Breakfast is included in cost of room. Some staff seemed helpful and accommodating but others were kind of snotty. I also found desk staff to be difficult to locate, at times, and the information they provided was not always accurate.

Room Tip: Jungle rooms are less expensive than main hotel although you may need to wear headphones or ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jyl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed our jungle rooms, sorry for the noises. As you say, the hotel is on a mountain overlooking the ocean and the jungle, it has a great view, this means is not a beach front hotel, but there are like 15 beaches to choose from, located within a range of 5 to 15 minutes of a car drive. All very nice beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

What a wonderful stay! My husband and I stayed at Cuna the last few days of our Honeymoon in early January and it was the perfect end to a perfect honeymoon! The staff are amazing, kind friendly and ready to help at a moments notice. The best and most wonderful part of our stay was the restaurant! Both of us are foodies and we were overwhelmed by the amazing dinners prepared every night at Cuna. We felt that this small and intimate restaurant rivaled any five star in NY or LA. Fresh delicious fish, beautifully cooked steaks and to-die-for crepe Suzette, prepared by the incomparable Bernardo, the head waiter! The passion fruit mojito is a must-have. The main rooms are beautiful and overlooking the infinity edge pool. We looked at the jungle rooms and would probably not recommend those. The staff suggested terrific activities during our stay. Strongly recommend the massage at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dede505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Hiii, thank you very much for writing this nice review, we feel very happy that you had such a good time, in fact Hotel Cuna del Angel is a very romantic hotel, and offers very good food, probably the best on the area. We are glad that the staff satisfied all your needs and more.Thanks for all the recommendations you make, they will help a lot of people that would like to experience the beauty and great service of this hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This hotel is not worth it. The room was hot, small and tacky. Our a/c did not work and it was a 1000 degrees even with the fan. No one was at the desk to ask to be switched. The staff is helpful when they are around but the hotel itself is way over-rated. There are much better places to stay in Dominical.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shasta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your review, this kind of reviews help us to improve and get better every day, I am sorry that your A/C did not work during your stay, it is not usual that this happens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very clean in a great setting. The photos speak for themselves.

The staff is nice, not as helpful as in other hotels we have stayed at, but overall good.

You should have a meal at their restaurant, I will easily say my husband and I had one of our best meals EVER there. However, when the waiter kindly offers you a cocktail, go ahead and ask how much it is. Mine was 20 bucks, just saying!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawandreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you very much for the time in writing your comments, we feel happy that you had a good time with us, yes, as you say the food is very good, probably one of the best restaurants on the area. We hope you can come and visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel had a pleasant appearance at first impression but the room we had was well worn down and disappointing. The AC was so loud it kept us awake. The ceiling fan above the bed had settings for 3 speeds but only the high speed worked. The shower spray was substandard. It consisted of a heavy dribble. The floor drain in the bathroom released a constant odor of sewer gas. The tub tile was well worn and gross. At least the towels were thick and in good shape. The mattress was pretty worn and should be replaced. But the room was clean and a good size over looking the pool. The hotel staff were very accommodating once we checked in. It was strange that the staff saw us pull in the parking lot but no one came down the stairs to help us bring our bags up the 30 or so steps to the reception. The only way in the hotel are by the stairs. The hotel staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with questions. the restaurant food was excellent along with the service. the pool was very nice. Seems as though this hotel is overdue for some much needed maintenance. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueJake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you very much for the time spent in writing your comments, we will defenetly put attention to every aspect that you pointed out, we feel very happy that you enjoyed the service, the food and the areas surrounding, but we are concerned about the feeling of lack of maintenance, I promise we will do an effort on the aspect and check every point you mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The hotel was fine and comfortable, and the restaurant was truly exceptional. The menu was not full of exotic dishes; rather, every dish we tried was exceptionally well prepared and beautifully presented. We liked the food so much that we asked to talk to the chef to compliment him personally. The pool was lovely, the setting was very nice. The ground floor room opened up to the garden, which was nice, although the room was quite small.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatjaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

The food for our guests in the restaurant has been always one of our priorities, we feel very happy that you liked and enjoyed it. Thank you for the time to write your review, please come visit us again, we will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This place is top notch, five star all the way, a rarity in the Dominical area. The staff are all eager to please, the accomodations are super comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is wonderful. The pool is stunning. I wish we could have stayed here longer!

Room Tip: A room on the side will be farther away from the pool and restaurant if seeking a lot of privacy or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you very much for the time taken to write your nice comments so all readers can see what a great time you had. We feel very happy that you had such a good time with us, we hope you can visit us some time again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £72 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing