We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cuna del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVELY!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I just returned from 5 amazing days in beautiful Dominical, Costa Rica. I was in the area for a wedding and a group of about 8 of us all stayed at Cuna del Angel. It was just wonderful! The rooms are not what you find in the states but have the amenities you need in a hotel (mini fridge, hairdryer, safe, coffee maker, ect) Our room was whats called a "deluxe" it was on the bottom floor located right in front of the pool, which we all used everyday.
Something that isn't mentioned much in reviews but needs to be addressed, THIS IS A GREEN HOTEL, completely eco-friendly! Including the 100% organic/gluten free restaurant that serves your breakfast. On our last night we decided that was the spot for dinner, and it was the best meal I had the entire time we were there. Bernardo was so nice and friendly and the food was to die for!!!
My only complaint is our bathroom was a little dingy, the tub/shower was in need of a redo. Whats the point of having a huge tub if there's no way you would ever lay down in it?

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are located in front of the pool with the jungle behind you! You get the best of both w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, General Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we feel very happy that you and your friends from the group of the wedding liked the hotel. This hotel and the área of Dominical known as Bahía Ballena, are both perfect to organize small weddings. As you say, yes , we are a 100% eco hotel, we have 5 leafs of the CST (Certification of Sustainable Tourism) program, that is the highest achievment, we feel very proud withthis. Also our restaurant is 100% gluten free and uses organic products. Breakfast is included in the rate.
So glad that you liked our food and service, I will make sure to let know Bernardo your nice comments about him.
We hope you can come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    146
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
110
270
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you like nature, this is the place. Full immersion in a rainy forest with lots of nature sound near the beach. You need a car to go to the beach, but when you are back to the hotel you stay very quiet and comfortable. 49 steps form the lowest rooms to the lobby so be prepared. ;)

Room Tip: Room Y (they have letters not numbers) is the best for rainy forest surround.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, General Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review , thank you for the nice comments, as you say , we are very close to the beach, from 5 to 10 minutes by car, and you can choose from 15 different beaches. The hotel is surrounded by rain forest, full of animals, birds etc.
We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

So let me say that Cuna del Angel its a Small Hotel, but it had all that i need from a Hotel, has a big pool, not too deep so everyone can enjoy it, This hotel its not suitable for kids, but if you have kids you can take them as long as you supervice them.

I stayed at the Deluxe Room, its big, nothing fancy but its confortable, also it has a small balcony with a jungle/ocean view.

What i liked the most was the food, the dishes that i had were delicious, the only downside its the price, ranging from about $12-$40, a simple dinner for 2 can end up costing about $50 or more, I dont focus on price but on the quality, i find it well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, General Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your nice comments, we feel very glad that you enjoyed our infinity pool, the room and our food.
We put a lot of attention to our restaurant and we work hard so it is the best of the área.
We are a small boutique hotel, but as you say, we satisfy all the needs costumers have.
We work hard on costumer service.
Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have travelled to Costa Rica for the past 14 years and have now been a resident for the past 2 years. My Cosa Rican wife and I travel all over Costa Rica regularly and this was our fist stay at Cuna Angel. We have a lot to compare it to and we were delighted by our experience here.

We had the good fortune of dining with Tom the owner along with Eduardo his manager who we pumped with questions about the area as well as the history of the hotel. I might add, that the meal lived up to this hotel's reputation as one of the best places to dine in Costa Rica. They take food selection, preparation and serving very seriously.

The hotel setting is very peaceful and soothing. The lobby and dining room, from where you can easily gaze out to the ocean, are meticulously constructed and decorated with the incorporation of native architecture, symbols, colours and texture. This is all mixed with an angel theme throughout the hotel which we found delightful. Our room was also uniquely decorated with all the modern amenities. The well groomed staff were wonderful and attentive. They seemed to know what we needed before we did and were always at the ready to serve with good cheer.

We travelled about "the neighbourhood" and understood why Tom had picked such a lush location. As a professional photographer, I got plenty of shots of different birds… especially several toucans chatting it up in the late afternoon in full view near the pool where we leisurely sipped on delicious adult beverages.

We also visited the nearby beach which was clean, expansive and to our delight, almost deserted. No need for umbrellas as there are plenty of low hanging trees that line the beach close to the waters edge. Plenty of parking space in the shade as well. We barely scratched the surface of the many exotic activities listed on the site. Click on "Activities". Amazing.

We plan a return trip in August when the whales are in high numbers right off shore. Tom told us that it is not unusual to see dolphins "holding up" the baby whales right after being born. There is much to see in this incredibly lush part of Costa Rica and Cuna Angel is ideally situated as a base to explore. It is also very home-like in it's carefully designed tranquillity. Definitely added to our short "favourites" list.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Light sleepers should choose a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfs4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, General Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for all the good comments you took the time to write, coming from a person that travels that much surely will be very helpful for all the readers. We feel very happy that you liked our food, as you say, we take everything related with dining very seriously, that is the reason why we are considered one of the best restaurants of the área and of Costa Rica.
Glad that you liked our Decor and angel theme.
You are right , whale season has started already and this is the best área in the country to spot them.
Thank you for all your comments and advices, I am sure they will be very useful for all the trip advisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the begining of may and it was lovely. Rooms near the pool are beautiful, the food is spectacular and the staff very friendly and helpfull. The beaches close by and the activities near the hotel are great. We went for a hike to a beautiful waterfall, also we went to a couple of beaches nearby and we had a great time. I highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CostaRicaManakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you very much for highly recommend our hotel, we feel glad that you had such a great time with us, indeed our restaurant is one of the best of the area, we work hard training our staff for them to offer excellent service. As you say, yes, near the hotel there are more than 15 beaches to choose from to visit, all less than 15 minutes away by car. There are also many other acivities like the Nauyaka Waterfall, that is probably the one you went, kayaking, canopy tours, snorkeling, and whale watching tours. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at the Cuna del Angel for 3 nights in March, 2013 as part of a holiday arranged by "Anywhere Costa Rica" (please see my seperate comments/warning about "Anywhere Costa Rica" and their planning services). Our stay at the Cuna del Angel was part of the beach component of our two-week holiday.

This is a boutique hotel. While some may find the "angel" theme of this hotel a bit overdone, I found it to be quite tasteful and charming for the most part. Our family of 5 had two of the deluxe rooms: F (ground/pool level with patio) and J (upper level, balcony overlooking the pool).

The rooms/bathrooms are average in size, but pleasant and very comfortable, with nice, updated features and numerous artistic touches. The bathtub in room "F" needs a grab bar as my son slipped while showering one day (thankfully, he was not hurt). The pool is also pleasant and, while not too large, provided a nice, cool romp on a hot afternoon when no one felt like doing anything more energetic.

We also found the restaurant, La Palapa, to be excellent, maybe a bit pricey (comparable to a nice restaurant in Vancouver). Breakfasts were included in the price and were excellent in everyone's opinion, with lots of variety to suit the pickiest palate. We also ate lunch and 3 dinners at the restaurant. Other than a bit too-salty soup one day, we enjoyed every meal.

My chief complaint about this hotel is the location: although you can see the ocean from the 2nd floor rooms and the restaurant, there is no walkable beach access from the hotel property. So, if you want to go to the beach, you will have to drive or take a cab to get to there. We did take a taxi (9 km) into the town of Dominical, which is funky little place and we did go to the nearby beach. However, the beach right off of the town of Dominical is not that nice (rocky) and the high surf makes it clear to me why this place is so popular with surfers (but not swimmers)

This hotel is located right on the main highway, and the traffic noise is quite audible as the big trucks gear down while descending the large hill on which the hotel is situated. This really didn't bother us too much, as we kept our windows shut at night (you could still hear the traffic however). A greater concern is that this hotel really isn't really near anything within walking distance...so if you're going to stay here, I strongly recommend that you have your own vehicle so that you can really explore the area. We saw some nice-looking beaches as we left the hotel and headed to the Osa for our next destination...

This is a nice enough hotel, but it didn't have the beach proximity that we had wanted, hence the lower rating. For what we paid, next time I will only settle for a beach-front hotel. If you have your own vehicle and are prepared to drive to the beach, this is a very nice hotel with a helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Hello, thank you very much for taking the time in writing your comments ,I am glad that you liked the angel theme of the hotel and the rooms in the low level and high level, I can see that you highly enjoyed our restaurant, which is indeed one of the best in the area and our complimentary breakfast, which we try to be for all tastes.
Your concern is about location, yes, we are not a beach front hotel, we are located on a mountain overlooking the ocean and to go to the beach, yes, there is a 5 minute ride by car to either way, we could have informed you through our staff which were the best beaches to visit, there are more than 15 options of different beaches, rocky, sandy, with waves , with no waves, etc. all in a range of 5 to 15 minute car ride, the hotel is surrounded of many beautiful beaches. We are sorry for that. We hope you can visit us again and take advantage of all the beaches around as well as all the activities we have too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Mattress or sheets smelled badly. (Sweat or …?)
Mattress worn
Bathroom smell, possibly by a bad/worn seal.
Breakfast buffet poor choice.
Ceiling light not working.
No internet access (perhaps not the responsibility of hotel) (note: not related to my computer; no one had access)
All this in an Deluxe room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. The mattress is only 2 years old and has been slept in. The smell is due to the closeness to the jungle and the high humidity we have near the coast. As we are ecofriendly we do not have A/C running all day. And what I cannot believe: we have a long breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, fruit juices, cereals, yoghurt, toast, cheese, ham, eggs, rice and sausages and all included in the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.5 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
5.1 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Property: Hotel Cuna del Angel
Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing