We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel For Us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I were looking for a hotel to stay in while we stayed for a week in the Dominical area of Costa Rica. I booked Hotel Cuna del Angel based on their reviews and we couldn't have been more pleased. The staff, for one, was more than friendly and wanted to be sure that our every need was taken care of. Our room was lovely, immaculate, and relaxing. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning and had several meals in the restaurant. The food was wonderful. We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It was a great place to stay if you're going to Uvita and/or Dominical.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fbxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, I am sure it will be very helpful for all readers. I feel very happy that you find the hotel perfect for you and that you enjoyed everything: The service, the food, the rooms and surroundings. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Overall this hotel was very nice and served us well.

Location: the location is great, so close to the highway and very accessible. We got out every day and saw beaches up and down the coast up to Manuel Antionio and down to Playa Ventanas. Other hotels on the east side of the highway and up the hill may have better ocean views, but they are typically up a long dirt road. Cuna was right off the highway and we appreciated that how easy it was to get around from there.

Food: food was pretty good. Even enjoyed the gluten free bread in the mornings. DInners were relatively expensive so we ate there twice and then ate in Dominical the other nights.

Service: Everyone that worked at the hotel was very nice, but service was often slow and it was impossible to get a drink at the pool without getting out and walking into the restaurant to order one.

Rooms: not a huge fan of the room layout or decor, didn't seem to fit with the Costa Rica scene, and the mattresses were not comfortable. The rooms were well air conditioned so despite the mattress we slept very well. We had an upper room with a view of the ocean from our balcony but no chairs to sit on out there which we found very odd.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are in the same building as the main hotel so much easier access to the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you very much for writing this review, I am sure it wil be very helpful for all the readers. I feel glad that you enjoyed all the beaches near by up and down the coast. Thank you for the good comments regarding the food, we do a great effort on this, and at the same time been gluten free. I am sorry for the service near the pool, I personally will take care of that. Also thanks for the comments regarding our rooms, we hope you can come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This lovely hotel is easy to find, quiet and supremely beautiful.

As we drove into Cuna del Angel, my jaw dropped and I let out a gasp of both excitement and awe! This place is set just off a well-traveled road, but you feel a million miles from anywhere. For 5 days, we hardly left the property, except to travel to the nearby beaches and towns. We truly experienced a feeling of "home," from the accommodating staff to the natural beauty in and around the property.

The meals were extraordinary. I had one of the most amazing, fresh and perfectly prepared dishes in my life. Seriously. It was a seafood stew that goes beyond words. The continental breakfast offered everything you need to start the day--and then some. Don't miss the desserts. They are also top notch. The way that the dining room is arranged allows you, as a guest, to feel like you are being entertained and there are always new friends to meet.

In the same area, there is a lounge with board games. We spent many lazy hours enjoying each others company, the other guests and the friendly staff (over a vicious game of backgammon).

The rooms are lovely, homey and quiet--nothing too fancy, just right. I would, most certainly, stay at Cuna again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank see-cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review, I am sure all readers will find it very valuable. We feel very happy that you felt at home at Cuna del Angel, that is one of our main purposes. We are glad that you enjoyed our food, also a priority for us.Please come and visit us again , it will be our pleasure to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were driving from the interior of Costa Rica on Christmas Eve 2013, got lost and rolled into Dominical after dark (no street lights) so it was a miracle we found the hotel because it is a few miles past Dominical. Very picturesque and a welcome site after driving all day and getting there about 9 pm. The woman at the front desk was nice to upgrade us to nicer room but we found she was snooty. They had to ask the security guard to help us with our bags and he was less than thrilled. I told them I needed a glass of wine and they said I better hurry up because the bar was closing at 9:30. Not a great welcome after the day we had!

However, the room was comfortable and the dining room staff very nice and we had a nice Christmas dinner there ($60 per person) which although it was steep was good (no turkey!). Seemed like there were a lot of Europeans there. Would I stay there again? Maybe if the price was right. Compact property, nice little pool. We had a massage and the gal was nice but it was obvious she was not a massage therapist. We went over to Dominical Beach which we enjoyed because the water was warm. Lots of over tanned skin, kind of bohemian in many ways.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopalongtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, I am glad that you found us. We feel very happy that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our food and service. Thank you for your suggestions to improve. We will revise them with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our experience with this hotel was rather poor. We booked a 'superior room', but this turned out to be a 'jungle room'. Although the text is explaining the difference to some extend, the pictures on the booking site are incorrect and named wrong as well. They use a picture of the 'deluxe room' with the 'jungle room'. There is a vast difference between the two types, and we were not pleasantly surprised by this. We were offered an upgrade, but the cost are almost double. We did it regardless, as the 'jungle room' was not our thing. The rooms look outdated and there were many bugs. The 'deluxe room' is nice, large, and comfortable. But not worth the money.
The X-mass dinner we booked was quite poor as well. It wasn't too expensive, but it just didn't match the atmosphere.
The personnel was friendly.
The location is somewhat remote, and you need a car to go to the beach.

Room Tip: I would definitely advise the 'Deluxe Room', and compare the costs with other hotels nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.
After a much more thorough research we found out, that you were right
in both points, so here my sincere apology about accusing you for not
telling the truth:
1) There is by mistake a luxury room foto, which by now should have
been removed from the Jungle room offer.
2) Thanks to your comment we found out, that we had a dishonest person
in reception working for us. Not anymore.
Please let me refund you the difference you have paid as an offer for
my unjustified accusation.
regards
Tom Nagel
Owner of Cuna del Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We are expats and a Tica friend booked this for a whale watching trip we wanted to take together. Little did we know that the whole restaurant is gluten-free but intolerant or not, the food is great! They serve one of the most robust breakfast buffets that you will have in the country. The view and layout of the restaurant is absolutely gorgeous and relaxing. The architecture of the restaurant and the lounging public spaces is great for kids and great for taking in the view.

The pool area is outstanding and we couldn't drag our kiddos away. They loved that pool and so did the adults because it was heavy on the lounge factor. We saw a troop of monkeys swinging from the trees just beyond the pool. A sloth could be seen from the restaurant, in other words, the location is remote enough in the woods that you are almost guaranteed wildlife.

The staff was very gracious and the waitstaff was outstanding. We spent a whole weekend there as a party of 10 and ate almost every meal at the hotel because both the kids and the adults voted on it that way. The waiters did an absolutely excellent job in waiting on us. You are in for a treat, chairs will be pulled, you will be plied with refreshments and combined with the view you just can't beat it!

My only room for improvement would be updating the rooms a bit. We loved having the sliding glass doors to let the kids run out directly to the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are a treat for kids and parents alike due to the sliding glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spokanistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hi, thank you very much for your nice comments, it will be very helpful for all readers. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and our food, as you say, it is 100% gluten free but this doesn´t take away the good taste, and the ocean view and rainforest view from the restaurant is very nice. We are so glad that your kids had such a good time in the pool, and all the wildlife you saw from the hotel, EXCELLENT !
For us , costumer service is very important, we work hard training our staff so your comments make us feel very good.
And yes, the lower part rooms have sliding doors that take you direclty to the pool.
We hope you can come and visit us again son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived at Hotel Cuna del Angel after an overnight stay in a remote community and felt as if we had fallen into the lap of luxury. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with abundant fresh linens. On the downside, the unshaded overhead fluorescent bulb in the bedroom was extremely annoying and the many, many stairs that stood between our room and the hotel lobby / restaurant / swimming pool made us think twice about taking advantage of several of the hotel's amenities. In spite of these inconveniences, I would recommend Hotel Cuna del Angel - but you might want to ask for a room closer to the centre of the action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the restaurant or be prepared to climb dozens of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, General Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time in writing this nice review, we feel happy that you liked the rooms, and all the services we offer. Thank you for recommending the hotel.
Please come and visit us again, this time in one of our angel deluxe rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
422 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#7 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £69 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing