We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Place to Celebrate Our 25th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The previous posts have said it well! This is the best!!! I have given an honest rating of 5 stars for all categories. Ana and all the other staff took very good care of us and made sure our special al fresco anniversary dinner was an event to remember... even with the gentle rain!( at which they immediately scrambled to bring an umbrella for our table!)
We also found the spa to be a special delight and Raquel (Rachel) is simply the best!!! Very professional. From the immaculate housekeeping (adding their special touches of flowers and decorative towel arrangements) to handling our special diet requests, Cuna del Angel provided excellent service. We hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaResearchIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

On a whim, we took the crazy road to Domincal and missed the town, continuing to head toward Dominicalito. We saw a sign for Cuna del Angel and said, "let's check it out", plus it was recommended in the book "New Key to Costa Rica". We were pleasantly surprised to find a 5 star hotel nestled in the jungle near the beach. We walked in and were greeted quite enthusiastically by Ana and Angelica, who were very friendly and helpful, and kind in offering us a discounted rate for a Standard room for the evening. (We are budget travelers.)

We felt like royalty the whole time we were at Cuna del Angel. The staff was overly friendly , helpful (they speak just about every language), and accommodating. The grounds are simply stunning/beautiful. They sit on about 30 acres of private land and have access to a private beach down on the bay at the Pacific Ocean. The whole place is uniquely designed (read the story on their website), very upscale and perhaps trendy, but extremely comfortable and welcoming.

We began by eating lunch in their exceptional restaurant. Eating there provided the tastiest meals while in Costa Rica. We walked the grounds and saw MANY birds, including Chestnut Mandible Toucans, Kiskidee, Summer Tanager, Paserinis Tanager, White Hawk-Eagle, Orange Collared Manekin, Chacalaca, and even heard Howler Monkeys nearby in the morning and evening.

We were escorted to our room by Steven, down some long steps past the deep bubbling pool, into our room named Seraphile (an angel), which was super nice and very large. Well appointed and sparkling clean. High ceilings, balcony with table and chairs facing the gardens, HOT showers, satellite TV. The room was quiet, although the walls are a little thin, you can hear nearby neighbors now and then, but it was not a problem for me (and I'm a light sleeper).

The afternoon was spent at nearby beaches. The hotel is close to every beach from Dominical to Tortuga. We drove to all of them but ended up back at Hermosa Beach, very beautiful, calm waters for swimming. We came back and watched the sunset over the ocean from the deep bubbling pool complete with lovely waterfall.

Dinner was exceptional in the restaurant overlooking the jungle and the Pacific Ocean. The food was incredible, the service exceptional, especially Olma. We had a wonderful chat with the owner, too, who came to visit us at our table.

If you don't have a computer with you, they will let you borrow their laptop and use it in the lobby, which we did after dinner. We took a little walk after dark around their beautiful pool and the grounds.

In the morning, we took a 20 minute walk down the path to the private beach. WOW, it was a great walk complete with wildlife and we had the beaches to ourselves. Two beaches, one side has sand, the other mostly rocks. We started out on the sandy beach and went swimming, saw a few brightly colored fish (wish we had taken our snorkel gear). Walked around on the rocks to the other side. A really beautiful beach.

We walked back up the path to the restaurant to an incredible free hot breakfast buffet. Scrambled eggs, beans and rice, mango, pineapple, watermelon, salami, bacon, cheese, fried plantain, bagels, croissant, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, and I'm probably forgetting a lot of other things on the buffet table. Giovanni was there to chat with us and give us ideas for our upcoming trip to Manuel Antonio.

We were sad to leave Cuna del Angel and will definitely return for a longer stay in the future. This hotel would be 5 star in the U.S., and was rated one of the 8 best hotels in Costa Rica for GOOD reason. Our stay was really wonderful, we were treated like royalty by the staff. Cuna del Angel is truly Heaven on Earth.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuZen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My Wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel as part of the first leg of our Costa Rica honeymoon. Overall we had a great experience with the good FAR outweighing the bad. In fact, I wouldn't say there was one "bad" part about it.

Let's start with our critiques:
We stayed in one of the jungle rooms down below the pool and main hotel. From the exterior the hotel room is very quaint and appealing. It looked like a quaint little wooden cabin in jungle. The interior design and paint were nice as well.

These rooms are small--no fridge, no alarm clock, and there is a mini TV bolted into the upper right corner of the room. However you pay for what you get as our room was less than 100 USD a night. Not bad at all. Also, it seems that time is not necessary to keep nor is watching tv while on your honeymoon.

The staff were always very friendly, but sometimes very slow, but we experienced that everywhere in Costa Rica. If you aren't in a rush then this will be no bother at all.

There really is no beach to speak of. You can walk down the gravel road about 100 yards and then down a hidden trail to a secluded rocky point. On either side is a rocky cove. The left side has a beach, but it is still rather rocky and difficult to have an enjoyable swim. Great scenery, but not swimming. You are better off driving south 7 minutes to Uvita or 5 minutes north to Dominical. The drive is great; the road is in pristine condition. Don't let anyone talk you out of renting a car. The roads are in better shape and less crowded than many roads here in the US. It is NOTHING like Mexico or any other Central American country!

What we really enjoyed:
We cannot speak highly enough of the food. We live in Southern California, home of many, many 5 star restaurants and cultural eateries, and we were simply blown away. If you are used to paying $28 + for a filet than you are in for a treat. The filets ranged from 11.50 to 14.50 including a side dish which are also amazing. I'm not talking about some cheap pre-frozen filet. I'm talking about delicious fresh broiled filet like you would get a Ruth's Chris, Morton's, Flemings, etc... Each night we'd have an appetizer, two entrees, dessert, and a BOTTLE of wine and our bill was between $50-$60 dollars! That includes taxes and 10% tip. If we wouldn't have ordered wine it would have only been $30-$40 dollars a night. For two people, that is fantastic.

The pool has an "infinity edge" which provides no functional use other than it looks good. We frequently were the only ones at the pool and it was very relaxing. At night, since the hotel isn't near any real industrious area, you can see millions if not billions of stars. It is amazing.

Overall we had an amazing time. We booked the Cataratas Nauyaca (waterfall) tour which is a horseback ride through trails and forest to a beautiful waterfall with a fresh water pool. It is only a 15 minute drive from the hotel on paved roads. You can also head south to Uvita and Costa Ballena where there are many sailing and snorkeling excursions. Again, no traffic and pristine paved road. The road north from Dominical to Quepos is not paved but they are working on it. It took us only an hour to go 44 Kilometers, Not 1 and 1/2 to 2 hours as we read on some websites.

Cuna del Angel is a great way to experience the southern portion of the "Central Pacific Coast" region. I would highly recommend staying here, and if you do, make sure you have a car (preferably SUV). It is a good launching point to head out from, yet secluded and private. If we make it back to Costa Rica, we'll definitely find time to come back. It only took us 3 hours and 20 minutes from SJO airport!!

Have Fun

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We just had our daughter's wedding in Costa Rica. After a mountain top ceremony, we came back to Cuna del Angel for the reception. The hotel was center of our wedding week activities.

Cuna del Angel is a picturesque boutique hotel tucked in the rain forest. All rooms open out onto the pool, some with views of the ocean. The restaurant is incredible, one of the best in the area. Try the pesto gnocchi!

But more important then the building is the wonderful staff, led by Anna. She was there every step of the way, coordinating with vendors, and responding to every change in plans. Whether it was handling transportation to the wedding site, including 4x4s to reach the mountain top, to coordinating music, marimbas at the ceremony, mariachis at the welcome party and a tropical band at the reception, she handled everything we threw at her. In addition to the actual wedding, she also took care of a number of group excursions handling everything from reservations to transportation.

The rest of the staff was a reflection of this helpfulness and professionalism. They handled special brunches, catered the reception, learned new drinks for the bar and even humored us when we dragged them on to the dance floor. In addition to being helpful, they were incredibly fun to be around. They all offered a consistently high level of personalized service.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kleffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

For me the best Dominical area hotel with the best restaurant at the best prices.Beautifully decorated room/suites each with the name
of an Angel.Great gourmet food pool spa tours free laptop/internet on site.Nice pacific views in the distance.Got to play with a howler monkey(Mono Congo)family right outside our suite got some perfect photos.All in all one of the outstanding stays of our journey.All staff
members were excellent especially the manager Julio who
took care to point out all local wildlife even coming to get us
and show us something unusual.Great experience!Planning
our return...a do not miss on the Sourthern Pacific Costa
Rica Coast and a great spot from which to venture further
south.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank qwovadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We just got back from Costa Rica where we had our destination wedding at Hotel Cuna del Angel. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The rooms were great and the food was exquisite. The wedding was flawless and everyone there (32 guests) had a great time. It was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank princesmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

A wonderful place to stay in Dominical. The rooms were comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chipNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
441 reviews
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
4.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: £78 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing