We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and smilling staff....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and smilling staff....”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed 10 days in Cuna del angel in a jungel room, it was good but next time we will get a delux room with a view of the pasific. All the staff is really helpfull and smilling. The hotel restaurent serve good food especially the fish and it has a view of the pasific.
The only thing we missed was a path through the jungle to the ocean.
A speciall thanks to Melvin and Melvin Jr. on the Costa Brava (the hotels game boat) For a great day on the water.

Louise and Jakob

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    149
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
112
277
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

After travelling all around the world in hotels of all kind of different ratings, this hotel has scored highest on the friendlyness and service. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. The restaurant is a delight. I would recommend anybody to have a stay here. If your budget is not so high take the juggle rooms or otherwise stay in the man wing rooms. Toucans flighing over when you are in the swimmingpool.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kees1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We have visited this area a few times before but never stayed here. This is our first time and were sure there will be many more. The service is outstanding and the restaurant is top notch. They offer a free breakfast with the room which is better than what most restaurants charge 8 to 10 dollars for. The staff is polite and helpful. Please give this hotel a try. Youll be glad you did!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honaker, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We happened upon the hotel by pure chance, and what luck that we did! It"s beauty is hard to describe. The servce was excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful, and eager to make the stay enjoyable. It is a true tropical paradise!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We enjoyed our long weekend at Cuna del Angel. We were fortunate to be there over one of the “concert weekends” and had a marvelous time. The hotel restaurant was fabulous and we also found some surprisingly wonderful Indonesian food in Dominical! We went whale watching, snorkeling, and kayaking….the room was well appointed and comfortable. Tom the owner was most engaging. The only recommendation I could think of is to have a little more attention from the bar to the people in the pool, we could have used one more Pina Collada….

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Room was spacious and elegantly furnished, with very comfortable mattress. Service of staff from restaurant to front desk to spa excelled.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bawlmerhon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanyann
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at Cuna and it was really great. The first night I was disappointed because we were in the standard Jungle Room which was TINY and felt like we were in the hull of a ship...but we upgraded to one of the rooms by the pool and what a difference that was! The hotel is a small boutique hotel with beautiful grounds surrounded by the jungle. The restaurant is palapa style and you get to enjoy all the jungle creatures while having an fantastic meal. We ate breakfast with a sloth one morning- too cool. It's a little bit of a treck to Dominical- about a 10-15 minute cab ride ($8 from the hotel or $10 from a local cab). Great to hit the beach and surfer town (think hostels and beach bars) and then come back to the comforts of a beautiful hotel...
BUT, the best part for us by far was the staff. They really are warm and welcoming. We loved our waiters and bartenders- they really became friends during our stay. We were sad to say goodbye to them... We hope to return sometime in the next couple of years. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Property: Hotel Cuna del Angel
Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing