We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Domilocos staff and restaurant were awesome!!!”
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I would definitely stay here again. The price was more than reasonable and we had to chose from several rooms that were available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graysea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at hotel Domilocos for 3 nights. For 10 dollars a night extra we were offered the “honeymoon” suite which was huge compared to the standard double rooms. Nice benefits were the fridge and television in the room and the balcony with ocean view. Unfortunately the room was dirty and not maintained well: sticky floors, a disgusting smell coming out of the toilet and bathroom and rusty screws sticking out of the cupboard where once a handle was attached.
The food in the restaurant was very ordinary. Most of the meat appeared to be cooked twice, the prawns were still frozen in the middle and the pasta was like soup with a little bit of pasta in the middle. Luckily it’s just a short walk to the main street, where there is a lot of nice, fresher and a lot cheaper food to choose from.
Of course the hotel has also some good things, the owners are helpful and in front of the hotel is a tree filled with iguanas, but if I ever go back to Costa Rica I wouldn’t stay at hotel Domilocos again. For this amount of money, you can get better!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingriddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My Husband and I stayed at Hotel Domilocos for two nights during a four week trip around Costa Rica. Hotel Domilocos is a five minute walk from the main (only) street through Dominical and three minutes from the beach. We arrived quite early but were shown a choice of rooms and were able to check-in straight away. The rooms are all set onto a communal walk-way with seating which can mean that rooms can suffer from noise if people congregate and meet outside your room. We checked in for two nights but were only given a breakfast voucher for our first morning and was told that we had to come back the next day for the second voucher – When we questioned this it could not be explained ? The room was quite large but basically furnished with a bed and an open wardrobe. The bathroom however had seen better days, it was dirty and the window was broken. The pool is tiny, but the hotel is too near a beautiful beach for this to be a problem. Breakfast was included and was average. The breakfast procedure was very unclear with no staff providing support. One morning we were asked for the voucher, one we were not. There was a buffet of food but some people were asking for additional items and getting them but there was no menu or explanations what was included in the room price. We also found that the buffet was not consistently topped up, so when things were added there was a mad rush of people trying to get the items! A good choice for middle of the road accommodation at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Turn up early and look at the options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moose-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We spent 4 days at Domilocos and our experience was wonderful. The owner and the rest of the staff are incredibly friendly, accomodating and knowledgeable about the different activities in the area. The included breakfast, which consists of fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, and gallo pinto, is delicious. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The location is perfect, especially if you are interested in surfing. You can walk out your door and be in the water in less than 30 seconds. I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Dominical

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shredthegnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We searched Dominical for the best price and hopefully the cleanliest room. At our third stop, we found Domilocos. It´s down the beach a little bit away from the action which is nice for sleeping well at night. It has very clean rooms, towels are provided, TV, internet, breakfast, and AC. They show you the room before you stay to be sure you are pleased with what you are getting. There is always hot water and hot breakfast and the staff is very helpful. We stayed during one of the busiest weekends of the year and got a great price for the room. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alealea0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Short walk to great surfing, body or board. Beautiful sunsets and the food at the hotel restrurant which serves Tapas, is EXCELLENT. The owners are gracious and are great host.

My husband and I where here for a week in March and we are back for a night or two before we leave for home after 6 weeks touring in Costa Rica.

This is the place to come for relaxation. There are hidden gems within a 25 miles radias of Dominical. Talked to the locals to find the waterfall with pool and the beach with caves, absolutely stunning and well worth the short walk.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanViewHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Domilocos

A very pleasant stay. We only had the one night here but would have been happy to stay longer. A warm welcome despite arriving rather earlier than we planned. Large rooms with ample storage- not often found in other accommodation.  Buffet breakfast was excellent & very plentiful. 
The pool is tiny but its only a short stroll to the sea. 
Dominical itself is a delightful beach town. It still seems very Costa Rican. Everyone we met was relaxed & smiling. Let's hope the developers stay away!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#12 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range: £30 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing