We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Dominical!”
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay in Dominical!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I just got back from a week in Costa Rica and we stayed at Domilocos for 3 nights. It was very easy to set up the reservation via email with quick replies from the owner, Michael. We arrived about 8:30pm on the 1st night and were welcomed by Michael. After a long day of travel, Michael got us all set up in our room, breakfast tickets, and internet code. We dropped things off in the room and walked about 15 steps to the restaurant and order some Imperial beer and some food.

The simple buffet breakfast is included and there was a nice spread of coffee, juices, fruits, toast, scrabbled eggs and pancakes. It is located on the South end of Dominical about a 5 minute walk to the center. It is about 50 meters to a beautiful beach and good surf.
We ate at the restaurant at Domilocos a few times and the food was fantastic and atmosphere was relaxing. We drove a car to Dominical and it felt very safe to park it at Domilocos because of the overnight security guard. Air conditioning was a nice bonus.

I strongly recommend this place for your stay in Dominical!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor near the restaurant and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBobMenloPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    38
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
26
73
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We found this hotel to be very lovely. The staff and owner Mike were very friendly, helpful, and willing to accomadate. We stayed for 2 nights. We enjoyed the quiet sunset evenings, a short walk to the little village.
The restaurant seved a good breakfast. The suppers were to die for. The food was very good and a very resonable price. The staff helpful and friendly.
The receptionist was very helpfull when we were trying to book the whale watching tour. She booked it for us at no charge. After we checked out they on adivce of Mike kept our luggage until we returned from our tour.
For quiet nights, and the price this was a very good hotel. I would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights while in Costa Rica. We loved this spot and would stay here again next time we go to Dominical. It is about a 5 minute walk off the main strip so it is a little quieter at night. The restaurant/courtyard is beautiful. It has a warm friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was included and because of the way the hotel is laid you have the opportunity to meet a lot of people. By the end of our stay we had met so many people that we almost felt like we had lived there for a year. The owner, Michael was amazing. He checked in with us everyday, got to know our names and even gathered us up one night and took us to another town to see a local band that was playing. If we were to go back I would now almost feel as though I was visiting friends rather than returning to a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

You know what...if I owned a beautiful property like this, I would not want to chase clients away because of a bad odor for weeks if not months. Highway to ruin sir. We looked at all the good reviews and took a chance the stinky review was isolated and dealt wtih. NOT. We tried to tolerate it after check in but it permeated all the rooms and the courtyard which is lovely was unbearable to sit in. Like being near a cesspool. Checked back out and went to Roca Verde for the night instead. Please repair your problem and post wheni ts done. You will lose a lot of clients just like us.

Room Tip: Pool is just like a big hot tub to sit in. No laps in this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubtent6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were welcomed in our room by an overpowering sewage smell. As if a room that smelled like a regurgitating septic system was not enough, the "cleaning lady" had left a large trash bag that contained all the hotel's trash just sitting outside our room. Were we checking in early before they had a chance to cleanup? No, it was 230 in the afternoon. So, after having my olfactory senses blown away, I headed downstairs to consult the owner about the obvious plumbing problems that the hotel is experiencing (see other reviews about the smell). He entered the room, sniffed around and looked at me like I was crazy. He had the gall to blame the sewage smell on the luggage I had brought in. Seriously, he tried to blame the septic smells on my belongings or maybe "something I stepped in." I was finally able to switch rooms (this one did not smell much better but was tolerable) after arguing with the owner. All the furniture is cheap bamboo and incredibly uncomfortable, especially the beds. The "maintenance man", who also doubles as the kitchen assistant at the restaurant, was cleaning the pool the entire time I was there, yet it was so filthy that I don't think that a frog would even care to live in it. Stay away from this place! The owner is rude, it is overpriced, and it just plain stinks. Furthermore, I believe that the owner is scamming Tripadvisor with false reviews. This review is legit, I stayed there and I have no motivation except to share my honest account and review of this place. At least the young lady who worked in reception was kind. You would be loco to stay at Domilocos.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTamandua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hotel Domilocos is not just a hotel, it is a home. The minute we arrived, the owner Michael went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable with a great shower and bathroom. Michael and his wife Vivienne designed and built the hotel from scratch, and it is a friendly, Spanish Villa design with a beautiful garden. The restaurant not only serves the best food in town, but is a gathering place with a great sofa section in the corner where we all congregated, drank and had fun. I made myself a party with all of my new friends in Domenical (a very friendly place) and Michael and Vivienne served me and my friends just like I was family, cake and gifts included. Michael is an incredible host, and will stop at nothing to ensure his guests are happy.

This was the best hotel experience of my life and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful, peaceful escape where you will be surrounded by love.

Room Tip: liked the first floor but all are fine. They have a large honey mooon suite and a separate large ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We arrived in Dominical after a cold and rainy trip through the sierra. The weather was great and we did not have a clou were to stay for one night in this little surfer town. After checking out some hotels, we decided to stay in Domilocos - because it offers the best accomodation quality in town with nice rooms. Michael - the owner - gave us a lot of great tips for our holiday trip and we decided to give the restaurant a try. And that was the best decision we made - the Tapas were excelent - Pura Vida! To make the long story short - we stayed longer as we planed to stay in Dominical and eat 3 times Tapas in that great restaurant - Vivienne did a wonderfull job in the kitchen with her team. Best wishes to Michael and Vivienne - it was a great time in your hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Big suite on the first floor with balcony and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Property: Hotel Domilocos
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing