We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great wifi,...noisy beds.”
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, great wifi,...noisy beds.”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at this fine hotel. Room was clean, had cold AC, and plenty of hot water. We needed reliable wifi for some online school that needed to be completed during our stay. We were pleased to find high speed wifi access in the room. Many hotels claim to have wifi, but often the service is intermittent or only works in the lobby. This was not the case here.

Breakfast was very good. Gallo pinto, eggs, fresh fruit, and pancakes available buffet style.

Only complaint, which is fairly significant. The beds were not comfortable and they squeaked and creaked very loudly with only the slightest movement. Merely rolling over was enough to wake you up, and any further movement was enough to wake your neighbor.

Restaurant was not open for dinner during our visit.

Overall: Great value, but beds need work.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    38
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
26
73
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This was a fun place to stay. The town of Dominical is tiny, but the reputation of the hotel is large. And everyone who has stayed there knows the owner, Michael. From his first firm handshake you know this is a well run business. The rooms are basic, but we didn't come to sit inside. The beach is a 5 minute walk from your room. The restaurant was closed for the low season, but breakfast was good. They are especially proud of their pancakes, which are more like thick crepes. If you have any questions about the area Michael is your man. He pointed us to a beach called Dominicalito, which turned out to be the best beach of our whole vacation.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I was recommended Domilocos by a friend on a recent business trip. I liked that it is not in the very center of town but at the further end of the road. A one block walk to the beach on a lovely quiet road. Michael was very friendly and the room was perfect. Airconditioning, lots of hot water in the shower, cable TV, WiFi, and a very nice restaurant to hang out in with a great breakfast. It was buffet style which I like because I love to have my cups of coffee before eating. It was so comfortable and clean and I think it had great value at $45 for TWO people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I've read a few bad reviews on here but had to throw in my own EXCELLENT one. Domilocos was a great hotel and I don't have a single bad thing to say about my experience. Michael made the effort to get to know his guests by name and made sure everything about the stay was going well! The rooms were always kept very clean and for those that were complaining about bugs...get over it, you're in the jungle. That said, on my 11 night stay I only had ONE bug in the room which was likely due to me leaving the window open.

Domilocos will most likely be where I stay if I return to the area solo again and I'd definitely recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Room 19 was great...you get a bit of an ocean view and its pretty quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have stayed here 4 different trips, from 2-5 nights at a time. It is a good value, and within a hop and skip from the ocean. The breakfast buffet is included, serving a typical Tico breakfast. The owner, Michael is friendly, and accommodating and helpful. They can also help you with any tours in the area, or transportation to other places in Costa Rica. Security is tight, and cars are watched overnight. Dinners are also offered in their restaurant, offering tapas style dishes, as well as other specialties. The food was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

we booked a day before arriving - great decision... great place, clean, nice, good value for money and great restaurant down stairs! we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others - nice place to hang out and relax

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigsigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here a number of times over the past 4 years. Only had good experiences. Michiel of the reception is owner and always tries to help you. A great host! Rooms are not deluxe but convenient and have everything you need and want. Walk to the beach is 30 seconds or so. The on-location restaurant is great. We always eat there when we stay in the hotel. The restaurant is also popular with local residents. We can highly recommend Domilocos and Michiel who runs it.

Room Tip: We stayed in at least 6 different rooms ground floor and upstairs. No particular preference for any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaritacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arena y Sol
Hotel Arena y Sol
#13 of 14 in Dominical
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Property: Hotel Domilocos
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing