We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place, Close to the beach”
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our 3rd year in a row in Dominical. We really like the laid back atmosphere here. It is our beach destination in the south. We always stay at Hotel Domilocos because it is close to the beach and village. The rooms are clean, breakfast is good (all you can eat) which is a good start to the day. We've always stayed on the ground floor but this year we wanted to try the 2nd floor and much preferred it (in the center), now we will always book the 2nd floor.

It has air conditioning, no more TV's but that OK. They have a restaurant that serves Tapas, which is good. We usually go to the Soda down the road or one of the restaurants down the highway.

The beach is very nice, very natural, really good surfing, be careful of the under tow here!

In my opinion it has one of the best sunsets in Costa Rica! Everyone comes out to the beach around 5:00 pm to watch the sunset at 5:40. I could could watch the sunsets everyday, for the rest of my life!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickPOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel Domilocos is a nice place to stay in Dominical. We stayed in two rooms and they were clean and comfortable, with good AC. There were no TV´s but there was a private bathroom. The all you can eat breakfast was good enough but it was nice that it was all you can eat! A little expensive but good overall.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here 5 nights with a friend, so we got a room with 2 beds. The beds squeak so bad that anytime either of us moved we woke both of us up. I can function on very little sleep and everything else was nice so we didn't bother finding a new hotel. The staff were all friendly, the breakfast food delicious, the room cooled off quickly in the evening when we turn the a/c on. Other than the squeaky beds, I have no complaints. It was definitely a step up from some of the other places we stayed in Costa Rica. It was quiet at night, close to everything, and clean - no bugs in sight! Overall it was a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Room #16 is at the top of the stairs, so if you have the curtains open to let in light, everyone com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Set back 200 meters from an extraordinarily beautiful beach in a shaded, and quiet setting this unpretentious hotel is great value. Architecturally appealing with Mediterranean open arches in porticos connecting the rooms from an open courtyard and a lovely open air restaurant that we ended up eating almost all our meals in. The food delicious and affordable. The staff are genuinely happy and eager to engage. And only 5 minutes walk into Dominical and to the iconic surf restaurant bar; Tortilla Flats.

Room Tip: upstairs, more light and seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabble108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Probably the worst night sleep ive had in years. The bed was hard as a rock, and I mean it felt like I was sleeping on the wooden slats that ikea gives you without a mattress. The girl up front was incredibly friendly though. You get what you pay for. 60 bucks gets you a place to lay your head, ac and breakfast. Breakfast was good, not great but good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed one night in mid December in room #5. For the price ($60) I would have expected a bit larger AC unit, and some form of TV. The beds are small and there is no place to sit. If you are just looking for a place to crash and don't mind having absolutely nothing to do in the room, then it's ok, if overpriced. We didn't try the breakfast as is wasn't served until 7am and we had a tour at 6am. Also, when we checked in, we were asked to pay in cash and were not given a receipt until we insisted on it, which seems very shady.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice hotel, big rooms and very clean. Has ac which is great to cool off after the beach :-) rate includes a big breakfast. Location is o.k. not on the main road but pretty close. Bottom line A very good choice to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
600 reviews
3.9 mi away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#7 of 14 in Dominical
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range: £30 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing