We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Value!”
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Cambridge, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice Hotel, Great Value!”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

This place seemed like one of the nicest places to stay in Dominical (except for maybe Diuwak) and the value was great. We paid $55/night with breakfast included. The hotel staff were very friendly, the room was nice (a little on the small side compared to other places we stayed but well furnished with a nice bathroom), AC worked well and the location was good (about a 5 minute walk to the "center of town"). The small pool was actually really great for a cool spot to relax after a day of surfing.
We ate at the hotel's restaurant one night (we had tapas) and although I felt like I was usually disappointed with food in CR, this place was pretty delicious.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    38
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
26
73
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This was my least favorite hotel in Costa Rica, but there are probably some exceptions to our room.
For the money, I often paid much less in C.R. with more comfortable, quiet rooms.
Our room was close to the cleaning/ laundry room, and was pretty loud in the morning. Also, our bathroom had this odd smell coming from the vent- it was like being inside a hair salon where a lot of perms were being done. It was a pretty gross smell, though considering you have to keep the bathroom door closed to get the room cool enough because of the weak AC, the smell was only an issue while in the bathroom.

The bed was very close to the ground and pretty stiff. overall, the room looked like a hostel. The AC took a while to cool and running at the lowest temp, I still sweat throughout the night.

Our toilet would not flush the first night- and while they were quick to fix it the next day, it did cause an inconvenience.

We were there during Easter week, and the tiny pool was full of guys holding bottles of alcohol in their hands- not the sort of place you would want to go hang out.

The people were very nice, helpful, thoughtful. Free Wifi
Breakfast was good.
Dinner at the restaurant was the usual Tico slowness, but very good food, relaxing environment.

We did also stay at Pacific Edge in Dominical and there is no question that this was the better place- for almost the same price we had our own awesome cabin, beautiful view and great pool. If only they had space earlier in the week.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Michael, the Dutch owner, is a great business who is fortunate enough to have found a good location, great staff, and good vision. This is the only place in C.R. that had a comprehensive breakfast included in the price. It is buffet style and the food is kept fresh. The coffee is instant coffee unfortunately, but you can go next door for a real cup of Joe. You can see Toucans, if you are lucky, while eating breakfast. The coffee shop next door has the best coffee and smoothies in town!!! Surf boards are rented. The staff knows your name and is excellent!! They all deserve bonuses!! The wifi is set up right so you can get service in your room, so uncommon down here!! We only had one complaint and Michael gave us a discount for our inconvenience. The 2nd floor rooms are better for views, and less traffic. Careful for the water bugs on the 1st floor!! Make sure to smell for any sewage smells... think it was just bad while we were there! Still would go back there regardless of the smell

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freed0m0fexpl0rati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My husband and I had dinner at ConFusione this past week.
We were more than pleased with the new menu, the presentation, the service and the choices.
The owners, Michael and Vivian go out of their way to visit each table to ensure the comfort and happiness of each person.
We shared a Ceasar salad, delicious,
My husband had the tomato soup...it was creamy and had a great kick to the flavor
The Chicken Satay and Thai peanut sauce was delightful
and the Vegetable Towers of roasted Eggplant and Zucchini were beautifully presented and a perfect compliment to our choices.
There are many places to choose from in Dominical. ConFusione is at the top of our list.
AND make sure you save room for the dark, rich chocolate cake. It is sheer bliss.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We called in the morning to check for availability and they said it was full but some people may not show up in which case we could get a room. We decided to chance it and eventually showed up after a few hours of ravel late in the afternoon hoping and praying for a room. It was the night before New Years Eve so everywhere was booked in this town and we needed a room for 2 (my brother and I).

The owner was helping a threesome that showed up just before us and they wanted two rooms. One room for the couple and one for the single. This would have meant no room for us because that was all they had left. The owner went out of his way to ask them if the single wouldn't mind sharing a 3 bed room with us. Originally they said no they wanted both rooms to themselves. He then offered them a discount on our three bedroom room if the single would share it with us. They finally agreed and we got the discount on our room too.

I was very impressed with the owners effort to make things work for his guests even if it came out of his pocket. Customers first.

The room had A/C a private bathroom and we slept really well. Top marks for service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

and i was not expecting the ritz carlton.
but i also didn't expect to have to turn the water off and on each time i used the toilet.
the a/c didn't work and they only have tv in two rooms.
i did like the ambiance of the restaurant and the food was quite good, with the exception of one dish we sent back.
did not notice i had been charged that night and when i attempted to get a refund the next day prior to leaving i was told it was impossible after the waitress verified it because a person who could refund had just left. shady.
i had reserved a room for 7 days with the owner but left after one. he seemed like a great guy on the phone but was not exactly available during my visit.
i think the area itself is sort of an end of the world location with lots of hippie/surfer/checked out types in this little conclave of dominical. but the prices of goods dont reflect that. with all the people living in the mud, basic necessities and trinkets are outrageously priced
idk maybe thats where i made my mistake, thinking there was more of a resort type quality from the website.
was looking for something reasonable and off the beaten path but really found it lacking in charm. jmho
oh and the swimming pool is a sort of bizarre tub right in front of the entrance.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank currybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

my wife and i stayed 4 nights in the domiloco and found it clean,quiet and most adequate-the owner michael was exceptional and went out of his way to make us feel welcome-the breakfast($5.00 extra) was fantastic-the freshest selections and great pancakes-the 100 meter walk to an incredible surfing beach was a bonus-you will be alone or one of very few on dawn patrol-dylan,the surf instructor is supposed to be excellent for lessons and was very helpful with rentals and board changes-would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arena y Sol
Hotel Arena y Sol
#13 of 14 in Dominical
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Property: Hotel Domilocos
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing