We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio Lindo really made my Costa Rica Trip”
Review of Rio Lindo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Lindo Resort
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I traveled to Costa Rica for my first time and traveled the country. We stayed a few days in dominical which ended up being my favorite stop during my trip. the resort is beautiful, and Kathy and Brian were amazing hosts. We knew it was next to the rum bar and we were excited to be able to take a few steps and be at the bar! Their service was great, and I enjoyed their complimentary breakfast as well. Mind you, this is a small little beach town, so don't expect a 5 star resort. I am already planning another trip to Costa Rica, and dominical will definitely be on my list and I will only be staying at the Rio Lindo this trip!

Room Tip: Don't come in expecting a 5 star super resort. There are none in Dominical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at Rio Lindo because most other places were full, and while I wouldn't stay for an extended period of time, I discovered some hidden gems and some great people there.

Kathy and Brian are friendly, down to earth, good people. The bartenders were great. The views of the river are awesome and sunsets are killer.

The property is right next to rum bar, so if you like to celebrate, it's a 1 minute walk to a great bar - the flip side is that some of the rooms closer to the rum bar are going to be loud on some nights.

The owners are looking to sell the place, and it is a little old school in the decor but all in all it's a good spot.

The beer is nice and cold, and it's a good spot that attracts a solid local crowd. Brian and Kathy have been there for 13 years so are very knowledgeable about the area and the history of the town.

Room Tip: Away from the rum bar for less noise on some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evo_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We were two couples who had driven over 200 hot miles that day. We had reservations after reading favorable reviews. The woman manager told us that there would be music that night, so she gave us a chance to back out. We were told that there would be no breakfast and there was a $10 price reduction.

We were tired and hot and decided not to go elsewhere.

The room was small and the floor was dirty. There were no luggage racks. There was no soap, no hot water, no bath mat, and no swimming towels. We discovered at bed time that the dead bolt lock was broken, and the bathroom stool flooded overnight.

When we got up, there was no sign of anyone, including security.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEM109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Friendly owners, pleasant though shabby room with 2 rocking chairs and a hammock on each porch. Small pleasant pool, nice bar with a river and ocean view. Worst excuse for a pizza ever. Small town where everyone knows everyone.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LosAngelesTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a great stay, the price was reasonable and the staff was helpful. I stayed there with my seven month pregnant wife and two and half year old boy. We frolicked in the pool after a day at the beach. The beer was cold and the pizza was tasty. No complaints total pura vida.

Room Tip: The suite looked epic, but it was taken up so we stayed in one of the rooms.not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyCoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I have stayed here more than once and would recommend it to anyone. Staff is helpful and courteous. Pool is great. Hotel is secure with 24 hour personnel. George, the iguana, is getting on in years, but there seem to be three or four offspring ready to take his place and greet the tourists who stay in this fine hotel that is representative of the best that Costa Rica has to offer!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konehead49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed there many times and will continue to. The owners are the nicest people in the world and very helpful. It is close to everything in town. The staff is helpful as well. The bar restraunt has great food and the best pizza in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyd60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#12 of 14 in Dominical
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#7 of 14 in Dominical
91 reviews
3.4 mi away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#8 of 14 in Dominical
106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Lindo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Lindo Resort

Address: Entry Street, Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range: £73 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Lindo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Lindo Hotel Dominical
Rio Lindo Resort Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing