We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome, rejuvenating, inspiring yoga retreat on the magnificent Osa Peninsula.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guaria de Osa Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome, rejuvenating, inspiring yoga retreat on the magnificent Osa Peninsula.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Guaria de Osa is a diamond in the rough. It's a wonderful destination when you need to get away from the hectic pace of day to day life. It's gorgeous. The food is healthful and delicious. Host Jonathan is a wealth of knowledge on local medicinal plants and the ecology in general. The staff are all friendly and accommodating. The monkeys are fun and very entertaining, the birds will wake you with song in the morning, sunsets are besutiful. Go for it. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
13
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

The essence of the guaria de osa experience is something that could never be made up. The forest, wildlife, buildings and staff come together in a beautiful seamless dance to give you an incredible experience. Many thanks to everyone involved!

Room Tip: The isnt actually a swimming pool or fitness room, but i simply cannot discredit all of the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41JasonS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My trip to Guaria with my family was one of the most rewarding experiences physically, mentally and spiritually. The location of the resort is away from the hustle and bustle that is part of my world, the foliage and animal fauna are spectacular. We were able to see countless monkeys, macaws, turtles and birds of every color and song. The grounds at Guaria are beautifully maintained, the architechture of the buildings are well designed both from and engineering and esthetic standpoint. I was most impressed with the wood that was used in the construction, it has a beautiful grain and color, even the smell is enticing. The food is wholesome and delicious, and the most spectacular sunsets are to be witnessed every evening.

The staff is friendly and engaging, there are many hiking trails, waterfalls galore and one can swim in a nearby freshwater river or in the sea, which offers great surf.

The cost for this trip was extremly reasonable, given the enviroment, activities, food, family time and the best resource of all, the staff. They are engaging, friendly and dedicated to their craft. Jonathon is a wealth of local and worldly information and is happy to share such with you.

My family and I intend on returning in the near future to experience and wallow in Guaria"s hospitality.

N. Muss

Room Tip: Ask for the Big house or one close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 868nicholasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Toyota Pickup, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in February 2013 as independent travelers. There was not a retreat at the time, and only a handful of other guests, giving us an intimate experience. The trip was fantastic, and I wouldn't change a thing! This is the tropical paradise that you dream about.

The staff was amazing.. friendly and hardworking, producing the most delicious and filling food, always ready to provide advice or a hand, and wrestle the panga up or down the beach. The rooms and facilities are a testament to Jonathans sustainability ethic, as well as the craftsman's eye. They are comfortable and suited to the tropical climate, and add an artistic touch to the tropical air. The grounds are filled with native and imported flora, much of it having medicinal qualities or an attractiveness to the local wildlife. It took days for me to realize the degree to which the grounds are actively maintained. The surrounding area is even better than the cover photograph on your guidebook. Hiking, snorkeling, surfing, fishing, it's all there, just a short walk away.

Floating in the Pacific every evening as the sun set... casting an orange glow on the sea... watching (and hearing!) the brilliant Macaws return to roost in the waning light. Peace.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was the most marvelous experience. The beauty and balance of the environment, the tranquility, the warmth of the staff towards each other and their guests, the knowledge and desire to share it by Jonathan and his intern, Kevin, made this a delightful place to be. The delishous food(much of it grown on the premises), every building being kept in an imaculate condition plus the unusual tiling pattens and architecture didn't hurt either. The hammocks everywhere were very inviting.
I especially enjoyed riding the warm waves of the Pacific Ocean and watching a beautiful sunset from the beach. Lying in bed at night and looking up at the stars shining brightly through the screens while the sound of the waves breaking on the shore was very special and it rocked me to sleep.
I loved being there, would highly recommend it and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a large picture window or porch overlooking the ocean with an island in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you find an opportunity to visit Guaria, absolutely take it. There aren't enough words to express the beauty that this place holds. From the staff, location, your neighbors, sounds of the rainforest, what is being done here is eternally inspirational and I'm so thankful to have had the experience! Ultimate relaxation, disconnection from the distractions of life, with amazing (emphasis on amazing), nutritious food and beautiful sights to see. Ask Jonathan for hikes you could go on, there are 2 waterfalls on either side of the beach and you can rent kayaks and explore even more of the land!

The little bungalows are fantastic, with beautiful views with the best lullaby available, the sounds of the rainforest. Give yourself the time for renewal, and become inspired and refreshed by your surroundings by the love and beauty of Guaria. I highly recommend this place! Also, ask Jonathan to tell you some stories! He has such wealth of knowledge, and it's especially captivating to hear how Guaria de Osa was built and about the traditions of indigenous cultures.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a beautiful and amazing place. Instant access to the beach, jungle, rivers, waterfalls, islands, and more. The staff there are so kind, caring, energetic, and full of great ideas and information. I had such a special time during my retreat there. The good vibes there are amazing, and they draw in special people from all walks of life. I will definitely be back. I can't recommend Guaria de Osa highly enough. I feel lucky to have discovered such a wonderful place, and you'll thank yourself if you decide to make the journey there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
2.7 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
3.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
22.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
3.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guaria de Osa Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guaria de Osa Ecolodge

Property: Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
Address: San Josecito Beach | South of Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guaria de Osa or Orchid of the Osa Ecolodge is a beautiful and pristine rainforest beach get a away on The Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica - where a wilderness coast and paradise beach borders a sparkling and pristine Pacific Ocean. Experience extreme nature, swim in the tropical ocean, see whales, dolphins, monkeys, flying fish, tropical birds such as macaws, toucans, gorgeous beaches and rainforest in the comfort of our unique lodges and cabins.Our facilities include extensive ethnobotanical gardens, a spacious yoga hall with the finest sustainable wooden floors, large veranda style conference room, dining area, satellite internet, solar energy, quality filtered spring water, friendly and professional staff, delicious daily meals with vegetarian options, top notch nature guides, ocean and jungle cabins and lodging just a walk away from the beach.Our fees include 3 daily delicious and healthy meals, housekeeping and organic teas, cacao and coffee throughout the day. We will arrange all details to get you to and from Orchid of the Osa! See you in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guaria de Osa Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guaria De Osa Ecolodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing