We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Nature meets Nuture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
Blue Hill, Maine
1 review
“Where Nature meets Nuture”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

There is a sense that you are living in nature but your back doesn't hurt and you're always sated with delicious food that appears with a gong. Host Jonathan had a vision of bringing the miracle of the peninsula to the world, one guest at a time, and he has made it a reality. The staff is wonderful. Nothing gets between you and your experience of the place. I will never forget swimming down the Rio Claro, drinking the water is was so pure, looking up at the canopy with toucans and monkeys looking back. I have never had such a magical week. I am taking my kids there next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcrowbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
14
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I went to Guaria de Osa two years ago and repeated my visit on december 2012. This place is amazing! it provides the best environment for all ages, including families and kids. Visitors will experience a very peaceful setting in full contact with nature. There, you have many options to spend your time. It includes swimming in rivers and natural pools, walks on the beach, ridding horses, or visiting the amazing and untouched rainforest and parks.
If you are looking for a place where you really can relax and recharge your batteries, this is the place to go.
I went with a group and our activities included yoga and meditation sessions. Guaria de Osa is an excellent place to host group retreats.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I've brought two groups of yoga students to Guaria de Osa Ecolodge on retreats the last two years. We stayed for a week each time and each visit was fantastic. I was looking for a simple, quiet place, close to the ocean and jungle with a big enough space to practice yoga and Guaria de Osa is perfect. The cabins are very simple and rustic, but clean, quiet and private. Bugs and snakes are not an issue. The grounds are lovely - well kept and planted with native medicinal species. The smell of jasmine fills the air and monkeys, toucans and scarlet macaws visit every day. I loved falling asleep to the soothing sound of waves and waking to the birds singing. The food was simple but excellent. Whole, real and fresh with generous helpings of fruits and vegetables at each meal. They bake whole wheat bread right there in their stone oven. Jonathan, the host, is an excellent naturalist and guide and his enthusiasm for the healing power of nature is contagious. There is a masseuse close by that can come to the lodge on short notice, and almost everyone in my group got a massage, and several people more than once. We took trips to nearby waterfalls and to Corcovado National Park, and there is plenty to do within a short walk of the lodge (snorkeling, surfing, jungle hiking). The staff is great at coordinating and accommodating day trips to nearby attractions which makes this is a great place to park yourself for a week to really soak up the Osa Peninsula. Most of all I love the beauty and intention behind Guaria. The high quality staff, the impeccable grounds and Jonathan's commitment to conservation were greatly appreciated. My students all agreed that this is the kind of vacation you don't need a vacation to recover from! I will definitely return with a yoga group, and hopefully with my kids (they will LOVE it!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Guaria de Osa is a diamond in the rough. It's a wonderful destination when you need to get away from the hectic pace of day to day life. It's gorgeous. The food is healthful and delicious. Host Jonathan is a wealth of knowledge on local medicinal plants and the ecology in general. The staff are all friendly and accommodating. The monkeys are fun and very entertaining, the birds will wake you with song in the morning, sunsets are besutiful. Go for it. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The essence of the guaria de osa experience is something that could never be made up. The forest, wildlife, buildings and staff come together in a beautiful seamless dance to give you an incredible experience. Many thanks to everyone involved!

Room Tip: The isnt actually a swimming pool or fitness room, but i simply cannot discredit all of the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41JasonS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My trip to Guaria with my family was one of the most rewarding experiences physically, mentally and spiritually. The location of the resort is away from the hustle and bustle that is part of my world, the foliage and animal fauna are spectacular. We were able to see countless monkeys, macaws, turtles and birds of every color and song. The grounds at Guaria are beautifully maintained, the architechture of the buildings are well designed both from and engineering and esthetic standpoint. I was most impressed with the wood that was used in the construction, it has a beautiful grain and color, even the smell is enticing. The food is wholesome and delicious, and the most spectacular sunsets are to be witnessed every evening.

The staff is friendly and engaging, there are many hiking trails, waterfalls galore and one can swim in a nearby freshwater river or in the sea, which offers great surf.

The cost for this trip was extremly reasonable, given the enviroment, activities, food, family time and the best resource of all, the staff. They are engaging, friendly and dedicated to their craft. Jonathon is a wealth of local and worldly information and is happy to share such with you.

My family and I intend on returning in the near future to experience and wallow in Guaria"s hospitality.

N. Muss

Room Tip: Ask for the Big house or one close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 868nicholasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Toyota Pickup, AK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in February 2013 as independent travelers. There was not a retreat at the time, and only a handful of other guests, giving us an intimate experience. The trip was fantastic, and I wouldn't change a thing! This is the tropical paradise that you dream about.

The staff was amazing.. friendly and hardworking, producing the most delicious and filling food, always ready to provide advice or a hand, and wrestle the panga up or down the beach. The rooms and facilities are a testament to Jonathans sustainability ethic, as well as the craftsman's eye. They are comfortable and suited to the tropical climate, and add an artistic touch to the tropical air. The grounds are filled with native and imported flora, much of it having medicinal qualities or an attractiveness to the local wildlife. It took days for me to realize the degree to which the grounds are actively maintained. The surrounding area is even better than the cover photograph on your guidebook. Hiking, snorkeling, surfing, fishing, it's all there, just a short walk away.

Floating in the Pacific every evening as the sun set... casting an orange glow on the sea... watching (and hearing!) the brilliant Macaws return to roost in the waning light. Peace.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
3.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
473 reviews
3.6 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
22.1 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guaria de Osa Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guaria de Osa Ecolodge

Property: Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
Address: San Josecito Beach | South of Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guaria de Osa or Orchid of the Osa Ecolodge is a beautiful and pristine rainforest beach get a away on The Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica - where a wilderness coast and paradise beach borders a sparkling and pristine Pacific Ocean. Experience extreme nature, swim in the tropical ocean, see whales, dolphins, monkeys, flying fish, tropical birds such as macaws, toucans, gorgeous beaches and rainforest in the comfort of our unique lodges and cabins.Our facilities include extensive ethnobotanical gardens, a spacious yoga hall with the finest sustainable wooden floors, large veranda style conference room, dining area, satellite internet, solar energy, quality filtered spring water, friendly and professional staff, delicious daily meals with vegetarian options, top notch nature guides, ocean and jungle cabins and lodging just a walk away from the beach.Our fees include 3 daily delicious and healthy meals, housekeeping and organic teas, cacao and coffee throughout the day. We will arrange all details to get you to and from Orchid of the Osa! See you in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guaria de Osa Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guaria De Osa Ecolodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing