We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay ! Thanks Juan”
Review of Finca Maresia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Maresia
Ranked #1 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great Place, Juan and his team make everything so that your stay in Drake Baye becomes unforgettable.
Breakfast, Lunch, dinner are great. The concept of common dinning room creates a fantastic atmosphere.
Just Go there you will enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertmartzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a superior bungalow. It was wonderful! The bungalows are private, spacious, beautifully decorated and relaxing with your own deck sporting 2 hammocks. The area around the hotel is full of wildlife so you get an earful and an eyeful every day and night. The food is fresh and very tastey. Dinner is served at the large group table, giving the guests the chance to share the day's experience with other travelers. Our wonderful host, Juan, arranged 2 tours for us through his local connections. Both were memorable and perfectly arranged. The hotel's location offers guests a chance to do some hiking and exploring through the local forrests and gravel roads. Our experience at Finca Maresia was top notch, A number one!! A unique property with owners that know how to cater to the traveler. Thank you Juan for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We loved our stay at Finca Maresia and would love to go back. We stayed in one of the cabins - outdoor showers, open air rooms and tropical birds and animals RIGHT OUTSIDE. The hammocks were an excellent touch. Drake's Bay town is walking distance down the hill, and we went on some incredible day hikes.

Calm, peaceful, friendly, clean. It was the perfect way to enjoy this paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanandAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

You wish you wouldnt have to go or that you will come back soon! We enjoyed the room very much and decided to switch to a bungalow after one night since they are just next to the forest. Waking up with the birds singing and the monkeys howling is a great start of the day! Juan is a great host and organises everything for you, great advices and suggestions. We enjoyed a day horseback riding/ Walking with Oldermar who received us for lunch and also with whom we shared a very invigorating swim, or simply a walk on our own next to the beach with 2 friendly dogs..... Days are ending from a hammoc, on a large wooden terrace, overlooking the forest, after a delicious diner... some very special moments in a very special place

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank So-and-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The cabins are nice and private, with lovely views of the jungle canopy and hammocks to enjoy wild life sounds. There has been a lot of attention to detail and the rooms are clean and fresh. Best part of the hotel though is one of the owners, juan. He and Leo will provide you a home cooked meal every night at the big terrace of the main house. Due to its location a bit more inland, there are no ocean views, but watching birds from the terrace makes up for that all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouweRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

It's difficult to know where to begin praising La Finca Maresia... it was amazing in truly every way. The grounds are gorgeous and covered with fruit and flower bearing plants, which attract a huge assortment of butterflies and birds. The bungalows are immaculate with hardwood floors, and a huge deck facing rainforest from which you can see and hear birds and monkeys from a hammock. The food is excellent, expertly prepared from the freshest ingredients. But the single greatest draw to La Finca Maresia is the owner Juan and his staff. Juan truly went above and beyond in securing us the best possible experience in Drake Bay. He truly gets to know his guests personally and then helps tailor tour experiences that truly maximize their experiences. We booked a tour to Corcovado, and realizing that we were fatigued from travel, Juan arranged for us to have our own tour guide separate from the larger group, so that we could go more slowly and not become exhausted trying to keep up with other guests who were better rested and more acclimated to the heat and humidity of the Osa. Juan did this of his own volition, without being asked, and at no extra cost!! We will never forget Juan's kindness and attentiveness to us and to every one else staying at his property... La Finca Maresia is a MUST for anyone staying in Drake Bay! I would recommend La Finca Maresia to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildlifetravel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have been staying at Finca maresia end of march 2011 for 3 nights, and Juan made our stay the most remembered one in Costa Rica.
The lodges are great.
We had the nuptial suite (I guess) and the bathroom with an open window on the jungle is a must.

We have visited a couple of hotels in Drake bay, and they all looked overpriced and unfriendly compared to la Finca.

Last but not least what makes this place a special one, is the warm welcome from our host Juan.

From the arrival on the beach till our departure, Juan managed everything. He will recommend you the best tours, will bring you there early morning riding his “Busete”, will prepare you a basket of food for lunch, and a superb paella for dinner.

Juan te lo dedico, otra vez gracias por todo majo.
Amunt Valencia!

Judith & Frank

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
21.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 46 in Drake Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £31 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Maresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing