We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay!”
Review of Finca Maresia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Maresia
Ranked #1 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Me and my girlfriend spent 2 nights in a very cozy bungalow. We had a really nice time! The room was as clean as it can be and very well designed. We slept very well thanks to the comfortable beds and mosquito nets. The bathroom was impeccable.
The bungalows are about 20 minutes away from a beach, but it's worth walking an hour more to get to much better ones.

I must also highly recommend the suppers Juan (the owner) offers ; he is an incredible cook with heavenly recipes!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentMontreal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

The accommodations are fine and the owner tries very hard to please guests. Getting things like ice and purified water are possible here where they are treated like a luxury in other places (things you don't think about when you make reservations). For sure eat here if you stay here as the meals are good, family style and gives you an opportunity to interact with the other guests. Free wifi is also provided. Keep in mind this place is basicly in a pasture and not on the water or even where you can see water so if that is your cup of tea look to somewhere else.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank texsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Finca Maresia is the perfect place to access all of Drake Bay and the greater Osa Peninsula's adventures. The cabins are spacious and clean with hammocks overlooking the beautiful hotel grounds bordering the forest. The hotel's manager, Juan, was extremely helpful and knowledgable of the region, and also cooked delicious homestyle meals like paella and fresh fish. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at a cabin at Finca Maresia for a couple of nights and loved it. The cabins are really cute, clean and well-designed with a little view-porch with 2 hammocks and a great open style bathroom. We also enjoyed the breakfasts and dining with the other guests in the evenings on a wonderful dinner made by Juan and drinks to purchase ($2 beer, $4 wine or $15 bottle). Juan was also very knowledgeable about the area and what tours to take. We did the snorkelling tour to canas island and kayaked a little along the coast and up the river by ourselves. We stayed at the Maresia in the afternoons and really loved just sitting on the porches observing the macaws and toucans. We highly recommend this place to anyone going to drake. Ps. We did drive to drake and it takes about 2 hours on a roughish dirt road from Rincon and there are a couple of rivers to cross, but very doable even in a little Suzuki jimmy. From Rincon it is approx. one and a half hours to Puerto Jimenez on a very good road. From Puerto Jimenez it is about 50 mins. to matapalo and another hour to carate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpytrvlr-yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The cabins are beautiful and situated right in the jungle so you can fall asleep to the sounds of frogs and wake up to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. We really enjoyed getting to know all of the other people who were staying there at the same time too - sharing dinners/breakfasts and excursions was a lot of fun. Juan was an incredible host and made our stay in Drake Bay very memorable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

First off, the Drake Bay is definitely the place to go if you're looking for a non-toursity, immersive Costa Rican experience.

We stayed 4 nights down there, split between two hotels: Jinetes de Osa and Finca Maresia. We would've stayed the entire time at Finca, however we booked our trip late and no rooms were available the first evening. Hands down, we loved Finca over Jinetes, both in terms of price and niceness of the accommodations.

The cabinas were spacious and modern. We stayed in both the Standard and Superior rooms. If you have the opportunity, stay in the Superior — the extra room and privacy are worth the minimal cost.

Most of all, we enjoyed the vibe there. Juan, one of the co-owners, was incredibly gracious and friendly. He has created a laid-back environment where guests can come and go as they please, take a beer from the kitchen's refrigerator, and mark down what you drink. There's something about that level of trust that makes you feel welcome, and part of a community. That same feeling applied to the delicious family-style meals cooked by Juan.

Stay here. You'll be happy you did.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in a Superior Bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srobbin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great Place, Juan and his team make everything so that your stay in Drake Baye becomes unforgettable.
Breakfast, Lunch, dinner are great. The concept of common dinning room creates a fantastic atmosphere.
Just Go there you will enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertmartzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.7 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 22 in Drake Bay
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Maresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing