We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend the day in a Hammock”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Ranked #1 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day in a Hammock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We loved our stay at Finca Maresia. The rooms are simple but very clean and tastefully designed. Each room is set in a cabin with a balcony overlooking the forest. Each balcony is equipped with hammocks and we spent a day watching the wildlife pass by (monkeys, macaws, parrots, toucans and more!). Breakfast is delicious and filling. Dinners are communal, four-course affairs. The food is good (and local!). Miguel arranges tours with incredibly knowledgeable local guides. It is a 15 minute hike down into the town which is the only drawback. This is one of the only mid-budget options in the area. We loved our stay here and hope to be back. PS- The lunch at the restaurant next door is DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    50
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
130
565
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

If you consider taking the trip down to Drake Bay, this is the place to stay! Breakfast and dinner is served at a shared terrace where you can meet everyone that is staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0ndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We’ve spent four nights at Finca Maresia. Great Lodge! We’ve slept three nights in a standard room and our fourth night in a shared bathroom. Both rooms were great and clean. It’s located in the jungle and you’ll hear howler monkeys in the morning! Actually on top of our room there were scarlet macaws, eating the fruits of the trees that were above our bungalows. The wildlife is awesome here! Close to the shared bathroom rooms at dawn there are many different kinds of frogs. From Finca Maresia we’ve visited Sirena Ranger station, a must see. And we did a horse-riding tour. The owner Juan advised us both trips, it was awesome. You should also walk to the beach from Finca Maresia, is a walk of 30 minutes. Also try the restaurant behind Finca Maresia across the bridge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We visited Finca Maresia at the end of the dry season (April) with our two kids (ages 8 and 5). Our visit there ended a wonderful 3 weeks vacation in Costa Rica, and Finca Maresia has definitely been the highlight of our trip.

We hesitated a lot before deciding to go to Osa with 2 kids. Being remote wild and expensive, Corcovado sounded to us the perfect place either for budget backpackers planning to camp in the reserve or for honeymooners staying at one of the luxury hotels. But after a short email exchange with Juan, I just knew it would be perfect for our family and that we can count on Juan for helping us plan a kids friendly visit to Osa and Corcovado. Our decision to go there and choose Finca Maresia has been our best decision.

We arrived to Drake Bay by boat. I read a lot in this site about the bumpy ocean ride in a small boat to Drake. Bumpy it was (especially at the river entrance to the ocean) but a great experience and an adventure for the kids, despite the rain that caught us towards the end (the first part of the boat ride through the calm Sierpe river was also beautiful).

Landing in Drake bay was surreal. After a wet landing, we were standing on the main beach road of this small village feeling we have arrived to a different planet. Juan came to pick us up to Finca Maresia, which is 2kms on a hill out of the village. The place is absolutely beautiful and perfectly designed . Our cabin (as all other cabins) was set at the edge of a primary forest. It was clean and beautiful. The bathroom which is partially open to the forest, with the bare concrete walls, was more aesthetic than in any other hotel we visited. The cabin had a small balcony with hammocks – absolutely perfect for afternoon book reading while watching the toucans flying all over the place. The public area is elevated on a small hill with great scenery of the forest. This is also the place all guests meet for an afternoon drink and dinner.

Juan was very helpful with providing us information about the area as well as with planning and arranging the activities that would best fit us: a hike to a nearby river in the forest for afternoon bathing, a hike through the forest along the beach to one of the beautiful beaches in the area, a boat trip to another beach which is more remote, and the highlight which was horseback riding to a local farm in the forest including a primary forest guided tour by our host for that day. We chose not to take the Sirena tour with the kids. But the horseback riding and jungle tour gave us enough of the taste of Corcovado while being much more kids friendly.

Food was excellent in Finca Maresia. Being out of the village, you will find yourself dining at the place every night, but this is anyway the best place to eat in the area. When it comes to food, our family is very problematic having some diet restrictions and preferences. Juan and Leo treated our preferences very seriously and while having quite a fixed menu , they managed with all the difficulties to prepare something that fits us every evening and it always turned to be delicious . For kids they have an excellent option for dinner: having the kids eat an hour earlier, allowing them to get to bed earlier and let the parents eat peacefully later. The cabins themselves are a short sight from the public area, so we felt comfortable enough to eat while they are sleeping alone in the cabin.

With all the above said, when it comes to budget, this place is one of the most affordable places in the area. The prices are very reasonable and you get the feeling that they do not take advantage of the fact that they are remote (as other places in the area do). You get the best value for what you are paying.

We were lucky to find Finca Maresia and we really hope to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCocoNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Fantastic location, cool rooms and nice dinners in the evening! Don't come for ac and flatscreen tv's but if you want to experience nature, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casvancalsteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Me and my girlfriend spent 2 nights in a very cozy bungalow. We had a really nice time! The room was as clean as it can be and very well designed. We slept very well thanks to the comfortable beds and mosquito nets. The bathroom was impeccable.
The bungalows are about 20 minutes away from a beach, but it's worth walking an hour more to get to much better ones.

I must also highly recommend the suppers Juan (the owner) offers ; he is an incredible cook with heavenly recipes!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentMontreal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The accommodations are fine and the owner tries very hard to please guests. Getting things like ice and purified water are possible here where they are treated like a luxury in other places (things you don't think about when you make reservations). For sure eat here if you stay here as the meals are good, family style and gives you an opportunity to interact with the other guests. Free wifi is also provided. Keep in mind this place is basicly in a pasture and not on the water or even where you can see water so if that is your cup of tea look to somewhere else.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank texsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
21.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Property: Finca Maresia
Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing