We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice guest house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Ranked #4 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

the people of Casa Horizontes are very nice!!
the food is very good.
you have a nice view in the bay.
there are so many animals around the casa, you don´t have to go into the park :)
it was one of our best guest houses we had in costa rica
the owner organizes all kind of activities.
drake bay has no ATM, so you have to bring some cash. but there is a small supermarket (the one on the left side when you are going up the hill) which gives you a cash back when paying with visa, but the amount of cash is limited every day.

Room Tip: ensure that you won´t get the separated small hut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
93
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Casa Horizontes captures the true spirit of Costa Rica, and the warmth of a family that genuinely tries to provide comfort to their guests. We are a family of four (daughters age 12 and 14) who came to Drake Bay at the end of a month of travels through Costa Rica, and stayed for six nights.

Hosts Yami and Pedro, with daughter Gloriana, treated us like we were part of their family. As historical residents of Drake Bay, they have the best information and perspective on tours and activities in the area. Pedro picked us up when we arrived by boat, and each day offerred to pick-up anything we needed/wanted from the local store. Yami checked-in each day and helped us arrange any tours we were interested in.

The house is beautifully constructed by Pedro, with hand carved woodwork and attention to make sure the rooms are comfortable. Beds had mosquito nets and bathrooms were clean with good showers. Fans helped keep the house cool in the evening and the dining area outside overlooking the bay was a perfect place to see toucans, monkeys, scarlet mccaws, iguanas, sea birds, hummingbirds, and many other creatures. Monkeys visited every day and this was one of the highlights for our daughters.

The food was simply spectacular and some of the best cuisine we have found while staying at bed and breakfasts. Morning meals were always healthy and delicious with fresh fruit, eggs, toast and juice. Dinners were diverse and delicious, including freshly caught fish, chicken, beef, home-made lasagna, salads and tasty deserts. Fresh coffee and cookies were always available in the afternoons, and Yami would arrange for a picnic lunch if requested.
Yami helped us arrange tours including:

1. Tracy the bug lady night tour -- fascinating and highly recommended.
2. Cano Island Snorkeling -- we went with a local guide who was excellent, seeing humpback whales and snorkeling with sharks/rays and many tropical fishes.
3. Hike to San Josecito beach with Yami's sister as guide -- she was fantastic and the hike was very beautiful.

When our daughter was feeling ill, Yami helped us postbone a tour until she was well enough to go.

Yami and Pedro were extremely attentive, but never intrusive. We always felt that we had privacy and time to relax when we needed it. Their family is inspirational and amongst all the things we experienced on this trip, probably these memories we will reflect on the most.
If you are looking for accomodation in Drake Bay that allows the opportunity to experience some Costa Rica culture, a wonderful family that will take good care of you if you run into any problems, access to the best tours/guides in the area, and food that would rival the best resorts, then we highly recommend Casa Horizontes.

We will return to Drake Bay in the future as the area is so spectacular with so many more things to do, and without a doubt we would stay again at Casa Horizontes.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. If we return we would likey try to travel with additional family or friends an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We wanted to end our Costa Rica adventure with a few days of rest and relaxation, and we are so glad we ended our trip with a stay at Casa Horizontes.

I think the best description for the house is rustic elegance. The home is made of wood with beautiful carvings and inlays on the doors. Each guest room is very simply but beautifully decorated. Flower arrangements are found in each room and add a splash of color against the wood. Hammocks and the deck were the perfect spots to relax.

The location was perfect. There is a fairly steep climb up a path to get there which could be a problem for those with difficulty walking, but I'd bet if you let the owners know they would arrange to drive up and down the hill. The location is quiet. The only noise we heard was the ocean waves, birds and the twice daily visits of the monkeys - all welcomed sounds. CH is right above the beach and on the edge of town. It was an easy walk to a nearby beach and to restaurants and the grocery store.

The meals were excellent. Breakfast always started with fresh fruit followed by eggs, toast (homemade bread), pancakes and gallo pinto. Some days she had fresh muffins or other baked treats. Juice and coffee were fresh and delicious. One day we asked for a lunch to go so we could enjoy a picnic at the beach. The food again was fresh and plentiful. We opted to dine at Casa Horizontes our last night there, and again we were pleased with the fresh, delicious meal. Every afternoon we were treated to a snack of coffee, juice and a fresh baked item.

The family who owns and runs Casa Horizontes is delightful. Our children enjoyed playing with their daughter Gloriana. Yami and Pedro were so kind and helpful always asking to make sure everything was okay and if we needed anything else.

Besides the home and the family we enjoyed the wildlife. One time we looked out to see 8 toucans in a tree right off the deck. We saw scarlet macaws, a variety of birds, and agouti, and of course the monkeys that came every morning and every afternoon provided much entertainment. Looking out your bedroom window to have a monkey a few feet away looking right back at you is pretty neat!

If we return to Drake Bay we will stay at Casa Horizontes again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydia25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This place is amazing, the house is really cute and clean and comfortable, rooms a bit small but stull the best accomodation I saw in Drake Bay. Pedro is super friendly and attentive, as well as his wife and the cook was really nice as well, she served us delicious meals every time. You can have fresh fruit and cookies anytime a day while you sit and relax in the beautiful balcony. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: a room with a window facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RifkaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This truly was one of the best places I have ever stayed. The location is divine(prepare for a little walk up a hill, but I welcomed the exer), the family who runs it is wonderful, and the lodge itself is one of a kind. The woodworking in this place is amazing!! The husband/wife team who own the lodge put their heart and soul into designing and building this lodge. The woodwork done by the husband is inspiring. I felt like I was staying in a part lodge/part art gallery. I could'nt believe that I was so fortunate to stumble accross such a charming place. We ended up staying longer than anticipated. It was hard to leave the place! Thank you Pedro and Yami for providing such a lovely place and being such wonderful people!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I toured the Osa Peninsula during January. We stayed at five different locations. Casa Horizontes came out on top. The guest house is located at the top of a hill overlooking Drake Bay. You have a beautiful ocean view from the dining area. We stayed five days and saw a wide variety of wildlife including macaws, toucans and white-faced monkeys. Hiking trails run along the coast giving the visitor access to several unspoiled beaches. In addition, the plants and flowers that surround the house are very exotic.

Our hosts, Yami and Pedro were spectacular. They knew all about the area, Corcovado National Park visits, boat excursions, etc.

Our stay was delightful, and our room was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had a wonderful 3-night stay with Pedro and Yami. The hospitality was that of a 5-star hotel We were picked up at the beach by Pedro in his 4x4 and greeted with cold refreshing fruit drinks upon arrival. Yami made gourmet meals, even with vegetarian restrictions, that sat very well in our stomachs after every meal. The outdoor dining area has a magnificent view of the ocean and is surrounded by tropical trees with flowers that attract hummingbirds without the artificial sugar water bird feeders. The first afternoon we had a group of about 20-30 white-faced monkeys hanging around the dining area putting on an absolute show for us, complete with a mother with a baby on her back. The next morning, we were visited by 3 pairs of red-feathered macaws, kissing, fighting, pruning,.. It was amazing. The 2 things I wish the place had are 1) A/C and 2) covered bathrooms. We stayed in the Toucan Room which has the best views and privacy. It has a fan we kept on at all times. But even with the fan, the nights were hot and humid, and we had to use the mosquito nets which cramped our space for 2 adults on a full-sized bed even more. The windows only have insect screens, no glass panes, so the small insects came in and made it impossible to do anything at night with the light on. The bathroom has open areas at the top so that the walls don't meet the ceiling. So again, when the light was on at night, I was visited by moths, flying ants, and geckos in the shower. Also, the next morning, we had a trail of ants scurrying in an out of our toiletry bag; we think they were after the cherry-flavored cough drop and apparently didn't mind the menthol. Despite taking all measures to avoid being bitten, it was a lost cause. I saw that all of the other tourists were bitten many times, too, so if you're ok with that, and be sure to take calamine lotion, then it's a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 18 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Property: Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Horizontes Corcovado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and shared hot water shower, breakfast, laundry service, tours and transportation info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Horizontes Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing