We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family to take care of everything you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Ranked #4 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here five nights out of 14 in Bahia Drake. Very clean and attractive habitacion. When we arrived we were offered cold juice, coffee and cookies. Breakfast and dinner meals were tasty and satisfying, there is a cook and a server working there. Yami and Pedro are very helpful and friendly people. Yami speaks some English so she will take care of any arrangements you need, tours, taxis, lunch to go...whatever. At this time, Feb 2014, two rooms out of four have a shared bathroom but they are planning to add air conditioning to the attic room and attach bathrooms to the rooms that share a bath across the hall. The view from the dining room is of the bay, the long dining table is really nice for dining with other guests and finding out how their experiences are going in Costa Rica. The dining porch has been expanded twice. Strong Wifi in the building is a blessing! There is also a private cabin down the hill a little ways but it is probably easier just to stay in the main building. I heard howler monkeys at night and saw a troop of spider monkeys one morning, they ran across part of the roof and I saw them out my shower window. I also saw a mammal that I don't know the name while looking down into the jungle. The price for sharing a bath was a little high in our opinion.

Room Tip: Chose one of the two rooms with a private bath for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy78730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

In preparation for my second voyage here I thought it best to write a little about this little slice of heaven. I stayed here in January of 2012 and ever since have been yearning to return. Yami and Pedro are your hosts; they are some of the most hospitable, compassionate, generous people I have ever met. It all starts from the very second you arrive. Pedro lends a helping hand to get you well acquainted in this humbled abode, which he built by himself. The craftsmanship and attention to detail is other-worldly. Every door is hand carved and inlaid with precious woods sourced/ recovered from the area. The porch provides spectacular views of the bay; scarlet macaws, toucans, capuchin monkeys, sloths, and hummingbirds create a symphony of harmonized nature.
From the moment you wake up you are greeted with fresh coffee and fruit, then a beautiful breakfast spread, perfectly preparing you for your adventurous day ahead. Whether it be kayaking up the fresh water rivers, horseback riding along the beach, hiking deep into the jungle- the amount of activities to do here is infinite.
When you arrive back in the afternoon Yami is waiting with fresh fruit and coffee for a perfect afternoon break. Lay in a hammock and listen to the waves lapping, the countless birds chirping. I even heard hummingbirds zipping to and fro while I was taking in a good book.
Dinner is by candlelight, with a delicious sampling of local fare. Fish direct from the bay to your plate and locally sourced vegetables.
Bottom line, there is no other place on earth where you can experience the beautiful wonders of nature on this scale, at this magnitude.
Yami and Pedro have created something only dreams are made of.

Room Tip: There is a special room that takes up the entire second floor. Windows on all sides, it provides the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coconuts45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here as part of our kayaking tour, arranged through Gulf Island Kayaking, info@seakayak.ca and would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone interested in a well kept, attentive lodge, with stunning views and more bird sightings than I ever expected to see. The kayaking was sensational. Perfect combination of kayaking and excellent place to stay.
It's bit of a climb to get there, (however, someone arrived to meet our boat and carry our luggage up the hill), but the view at the end of the walk is well worth the effort.
A delicious and plentiful breakfast was served at whatever time we asked, including at 5:15 am one day so we could catch the 6:00 boat to Corcovado National Park.
The owners are welcoming, and charming hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volunteer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at Casa Horizontes in their Toucan room over Christmas Break. We had a wonderful time. The view from the deck is outstanding! You can see so much wildlife from there. We saw the white face capuchins most mornings & again in the afternoon. We saw tons of different birds including scarlet macaws each morning. We also saw butterflies & iguanas from the deck. The food is outstanding. Our stay included Christmas Eve & Christmas Day & Yammi made an outstanding Christmas Eve dinner. I wish I would have taken a photo of everyone around the table it was a really special travel moment. The candle lit table, the flowers, the amazing food, couples from around the world, Yammi, Pedro, their daughter & the other helper & her daughter all gathered around to celebrate the special evening together as Christmas music played. It was a special time. To me the thing that makes Casa Horizontes so truly wonderful is Yammi & Pedro. They are amazing human beings & SO kind! They had a family tragedy that would shake anyone to their very core. They took a bad situation & made the best of it. They moved out of their home & turned it into this lovely bed & breakfast for strangers. Image the strength this family has, to endure so much. Yammi & Pedro really treat you like family when you stay with them. They want you to have an amazing time on your vacation & will do anything they can to help you. We did not travel with children but in talking with Yammi I gathered that she loves it when families visit the most. They love having the kids around & enjoying helping the parents so they can have a few minutes of relaxation on vacation! Yammi may very well be the kindest person I have every had the pleasure of meeting! There are cultural differences of course, but this is an amazing family who will really do anything they can to help you have a great time on your vacation. Be forewarned Drake Bay does have its fair share of roosters & these guys do not know how to tell time! Some nights they would crow at 2am! You will want to bring ear plugs or a white noise machine/app no matter where you choose to stay in Drake:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brina_t4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 6 days in Yami & Pedro's place and it was just what we expected, really delightful and perfect for somewhere like Drakes Bay. Fingers crossed that the developers never get theri hands on this area, as it's charming, quirky and not yet commercialised - truly! The Casa is simple but provides just what you want - clean comfortable rooms, small but adequate. Lovely breakfasts and candle-lit dinners (you especially need the latter as it's a hike down to the village in the dark!) - we even had a candle-lit breakfast one day when we were leaving for an early boat trip into the jungle. Yami and her staff are attentive and helpful, and we shared Pedro's delight when he brought in a large table he'd made to accomodate the 10 guests for Christmas Eve dinner - on the balcony he'd just recently extended. It felt like living in the canopy, esp when the monkey troop arrived at 6am to entertain us! Try to include this one on your Costa Ric trip - and go in by boat, just to know how Drake must have felt when he sailed into this fantastic bay. A must.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The lovely Jammi and Pedro’s cozy B&B is nestled in the tropical hillside overlooking Bahia Drake. My favourite part was the large wood balcony where you can relax and enjoy delicious home-cooked meals while watching hummingbirds fly around or the occasional white-faced capuchin monkey swing by.

Jammi and Pedro are charming and welcoming. They set up all of our tours for us – a bug walk with Tracie (awesome creepy crawlers), scuba diving at cano island (sharks!), zip-lining in the jungle (fun, fun, fun), and hiking in Corcovado National Park (Jammy’s sister Illia was our knowledgeable guide) – and when we got back happy and tired from each from each day’s adventure we would find hot coffee and a snack waiting for us in the kitchen!

Room Tip: Tip: bring a flashlight..it gets dark at night,especially if the moon isn't out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swizswizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

In May 2013 we traveled in Costa Rica for two weeks and stayed in the Osa Peninsula area for 8 days. We had opted for Bahía Drake with easy access to the Corcovado National Park. It took us 6 hours by bus from San José to Palmar, 20 minutes by taxi to Sierpe and 1,5 hours by boat to reach Bahía Drake, but what waited us was really worth the effort. We had a wonderful 4-night stay in this remote paradise on earth, and were fortunate to choose to stay at Casa Horizontes, a lovely small guest house overlooking the bay. Our hosts Pedro and Yami and their helper Nancy are warm and friendly people who really care about their guests and made us feel well and welcome.

Pedro picked us up when we arrived by boat and drove us up the steep and narrow road to the guest house on the top of the hill. The wooden house as well as the furniture is constructed by Pedro, with beautiful hand carved details. We stayed in the Toucan room, the nicest of the rooms, with a private bath. The bed was comfortable and we fell asleep with the sound of the ocean waves in our ears. Mosquitos were not a problem at all in May and the temperatures were moderate.

The food was delicious: fresh fruit, eggs, toast and juice for breakfast. As we arrived quite late in the afternoon we had pre-ordered the dinner the first night, but ended up by having all our meals “at home”. Fresh fish caught by Yami’s father, chicken, beef, vegetables from the kitchen garden. We bought the drinks (wine and beer) in the grocery store down in the village. All the meals were served on the balcony with an amazing view over the garden and the ocean. The balcony also offers a good possibility to observe a variety of wildlife including white-faced capuchins, iguanas, scarlet macaws, opossums, humming birds, toucans and a variety of other birds. You are actually in the middle of a tropical garden.

Yami also helped us to book a guided tour to the National Park, which was very interesting, and a snorkeling tour to the Cano Island. Unfortunately no snorkeling because of bad weather, so you should check the weather forecast before booking.

The surroundings are so beautiful and the atmosphere at Casa Horizontes so friendly and relaxing. The contact and the conversations with the family made the stay something extraordinary. When it was time to depart we really wished we could have stayed longer. If we ever come back to Costa Rica we will stay at Casa Horizontes again and will always recommend Pedro and Yami’s place to friends who are looking for something genuine and special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anihan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 49 in Drake Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#6 of 22 in Drake Bay
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £72 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and hot water shower, free breakfast, laundry service, tours with the best guide in the area. The hotel is located in very private place with the best views and the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing