We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas Manolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Manolo
Ranked #6 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and we really loved it. Nice clean room. Very good cleaning. Very nice food. Extremly nice staff. We had rain the whole time but still loved it. The park was awsome. We also took the frog night tour and it was good. You should come here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    171
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
57
219
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Drake Bay on a budget is best served by staying at Cabinas Manolo. The rooms are adequate and very clean. The staff is most helpful and the food at their restaurant is good. This by no means a pamper yourself place to stay but for $15.00 per person it is really great. They have both private rooms with bath or you can get a private room with shared bath. The friendly staff mostly speaks English and are always helpful. They all will go the extra yard to please you. When going there if you are driving use the main road to Rincon from Palomar Norte. The back road from Sierpe may save you miles but not time. If you are not traveling by car and are adventurous go the way of Sierpe. You can take a boat to Drake Bay for $20.00 per person. A bus ride from San Jose is only $10.00 (10 hours) with stops. Adventures while at Manolo are inexpensive ranging from $35.00 and up. The town is great little hamlet and the people just as friendly. Remember if you are going to visit the Corcovado National Park do your research as Drake Bay is still at least 2 hours to the park entrance and that with river crossings that can only be done at low tides. Don't get stranded by water and make sure you have a 4 X 4 with good ground clearance. Back roads washout and can have fallen trees plus river crossings. Prior planning makes for a better vacation. Take lots of extra batteries for your camera or charge internal batteries daily because you be taking so many fabulous photos.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishingbobgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cabinas Manolo it's a family buisness, Theay make you feel homme quikly, the restaurant is good, the staff is friendly, best guide(Javier) is there each night to help peoples booking there tours.. I hava nothing to complain about. It's cheap$ and it,s worth every dollars... I have been at many different places, this is the best Price /quality ratio you can find around!

Room Tip: Any rooms will do!, they are all clean and comfortables. I have been in 3 differents rooms in my las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I loved these cabinas. The service was perfect and the location very good as well. Of course, it's not the Hilton, so be careful with your expectations. It is a little more than a regular hostel.

However, it is a good value! Please beware that the tours they offer a far from cheap, as well as all other companies. The tours can be twice as much money as you pay for the room.

Do stay here and save money for the tours. They are well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Messi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

we stayed here for a night and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful - especially mauricio.
Just a short troll from a fabulous beach and short stroll from the shops and otehr restaurants, it really is very well placed. The rooms are clean and light and the restaurant was relaxed with good food and wine. Mauricio organised a snokelling trip to cano island for us and that was wonderful. we saw mother an baby dolphins on the way and many colourful fish when snorkelling. then we were taken to an idyllic quiet beach for a picninc complete with table and fresh picked mangoes.
we left our video camera then but mauricio kindly arranged its return at our convenience.
Mauricio is a great manager and host.

Room Tip: try for an upstairs room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

This place is very average, at least the rooms with shared bathroom, like the one I experienced.

I know it's a remote place and the cabanas would be fairly rustic, but there are a lot of things that should be improved. First of all, the bed's mattress was really bad, so bad that the morning after you can clearly observe a whole and the deformed shape on it. Also, the fan in our room was so rickety and noisy that either you slept with it off and roast yourself or you had to turn it on and wouldn't be able to sleep because of the noise. 

The bathrooms were OK but there is only cold water. Also, they need to be cleaned more than once when shared - we found some unpleasant floating surprises in there!..

Breakfast is not included but the food in the restaurant is good.

I was disappointed that I booked a tour with the hotel's front desk and when I asked what kind of clothing I should take into the national park, they suggested light clothes. I asked if shorts would be OK and Manolo said "sure". End result? I got ticks on my legs, subsequent tick fever and was very, very sick for many days afterwards... 

I hope you can find better than this place in Drake Bay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in Cabinas Manolo for 3 nights in September. The rooms are basic, but clean and spacious with a nice dek with chairs and a hammock. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They can help you with all the tours you're interested in. Nice restaurant, which opens very early so that you can get a breaky before going on a tour. Close to supermarkets, bars and 'downtown' Drake Bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margootj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 18 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Manolo

Property: Cabinas Manolo
Address: Drake Bay | Drake Bay downtown, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Manolo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Manolo is located in downtown Drake Bay at 250 meters from the beach. Cabinas Manolo is run by a Costarican family, so it is much easier for us to make you feel like in home. We offer a personalized service. Cabinas Manolo is like a home away from home. The restaurant has a wide variety of delicious and tasty dishes every day. Vegetarian and special diets can be accommodated. Tours: We offer tours to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island, dolphins and whale watch, horseback rides, kayaks, mangrove tours, night hike tour, sport fish and other tours around the zone. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Manolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Manolo Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing