We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Manolo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$439
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Tranquilo Lodge(Drake Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
La Paloma Lodge(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
228
176
37
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
176
37
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombudget roomcosta ricabahia drakeshort walk to the beachnice place to stayrooms are basic but cleanhot waterbook toursceiling fanthe drake bay areacabinascorcovadosierpebirdwatchingonsiteriver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My friend and I found Cabinas Manolo online after looking for cheap options in Drake Bay, and booked it primarily for the price. However, we fell in love with the place once we arrived. We booked two beds which ended up meaning we got a private room with a bunk bed, so that we had our own storage space, door locks, etc. Our room overlooked a hill dotted with trees and we were able to see tons of birds and lizards - including some toucans! - just by sitting and observing the nature surrounding us. The staff were very friendly and helpful, not only with setting up tours (we went on the guided tour of the Sirena trail in Corcovado national park as well as the Bug Tour with Tracie), but they also helped us figure out our best traveling options for us to get from Drake Bay to Manuel Antonio by public bus (after we had heard that this wasn't going to be possible). Located close to the beach and within walking distance of several small restaurants/groceries in the town. I'd love to come back here and stay for longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I am sitting in front of room 5 waiting to check out and I am sorry to be leaving.
I will start by saying that my husband and I are used to travelling in central and South America. It is very different than the states,similar to Europe. I also spent many years in the wholesale travel industry. My reviews are based on experience.
Cabinas Manolo is one of the finest examples of moderate jungle/rainforest accomodations in Costa Rica. Although it is on the edge of town,it is situated nicely between jungle and the ocean.
The rooms are lovely. Well maintained,clean and very comfortable. Keep in mind, it is mainly designed as a base for excursions,not a luxury resort.
My husband and I spent 2 of our 5 days being lazy around the hotel and town. We were very comfortable and have a great time.
The service is OUTSTANDING! Front desk staff are wonderful, Thank you! The housekeeping staff was exceptional. My husband and I joked that when they cleaned it was like "your mom" had been thru the room. They tidied everything,folded clothes,straightened and lined up bottles. Best of all,they moved my hand washed clothes to the sunny spots during the day so theywould dry. Ifyou have travelled to humid destinations,you know how valuable that little detail can be.
The tour organizing was a breeze. We did snorkelling at Cano Island and Corcovado National park hike. We loved both. Both my husband and myself have disabilities due to our backs and found both excursions at an acceptable level without special assistance. (To travel with disabilties to these locations you must have a good idea what expect and be ready to cope by helping eachother, I am not sure if there are special needs help at this destination).
The restaurant is certainly one of the best in town. Prices were very good and the food was delicous. Most restaurants in town were closed mid day not Manolo! Breakfast,lunch and Dinner all very good.
Cabinas Manolo is an exceptional little gem in Drake Bay. If you know travel in Costa Rica.....you will be very happy and satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishrover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Cabinas Manolo is a good value budget accommodation with friendly staff and on site restaurant ( one of the few places open in the green season).
The beds in our room were very hard, but the room was clean and well ventilated. Mosquito nets were provided.
The staff are very helpful and can organise tours and hikes for you. They will also collect you from and take you to beach if you come by boat as most people do: this is necessary if you have heavy luggage as the Cabinas are not close to the beach.
Overall a good backpacker option in beautiful Drake Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

a friend and i spent two nights in one of the shared bathroom rooms (with two twin beds) and absolutely adored it. the shared bathroom rooms are in a set-away area with a porch, several hammocks, and a great view of the garden. it was quiet, but well-located, and seemed to have plenty of options for rooms depending on your needs and budget.

we booked our trip to corcovado (the sirena station) through the cabins, which was great because cabinas manolo seems to be the base of some of those tours - several people from other hotels/cabins going on our tour came to us in the morning for the included breakfast, which meant we could sleep in a bit more (those tours leave really early, but are worth it).
we also had already booked the fabulous night tour with tracie (if you go to drake bay and do not do this tour you are missing the best part of your trip. seriously) by emailing them, but had not received the confirmation email (i think it got sent to spam). but cabinas manolo happily called up tracie to confirm our booking and we were able to pay for the tour through the cabins.
not all of the staff speak english, and the shared bathroom showers were cold, and we did see a huge spider next to our sink, but none of this really mattered to us (we were signing up for a $15 room and were fine with all that entailed). the staff who couldn't speak english were friendly and just as accommodating.
although, i must say, what really sold us on this place was the toucan we saw from our porch! so cool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed at Cabinas Manolo with 8 persons during 4 consecutive nights on 25 - 28 November 2012. I can only say it was an excellence experience, the best we had during 3 weeks in Costa Rica.
We had made previous reservations and payments for the stay and for two days of diving at Isla del Caño. All went very smoothly and efficiently (thanks Mauricio!!) and we were offered as was described. We were so enthousiast, that on site we additionally booked a guided wildlife-watching night tour and a boat trip in the mangrove areas. We didn't regret a single instance of it.
Rooms are spacy and got thoroughly cleaned each day. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The restaurant is very much OK. The only minor comment is that the restaurant closes rather early at night (20h), but then there are other places within walking distance, so that isn't very much of a big deal.
In short, if we ever go back to Drake Bay, we wont doubt a second what place to choose for staying.
Thanks to all at Monolo's for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews