We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in great location”
Review of Cabinas Manolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Manolo
Ranked #6 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Before visiting Drake Bay, I thought I'd like one of the fancy resorts out of town, but I'm really glad we were in the middle of Drake Bay. It is a tiny quiet town, but it was nice to be in the midst of real life with locals, rather than in a tourist enclave. We had fun visiting local restaurants, especially the one down on the beach to the right of the wharf, and it was convenient for tours etc.
The hotel has nice rooms, with lots of space, lots of storage, cool and comfy. And the maids are the nicest and best cleaners ever, they constantly moved our wash so it would dry between storms, and everything was spotless. There was a lot of rain so this was a huge help.
We saw cool basilisks and hummingbirds from our porch, and macaws went past frequently. Saw a huge Hercules beetle right by the gate, really cool. Enjoyed hanging out on the verandahs with my friends.
The tours run by the hotel were very good and the guides we had were all very kind and helpful. We went to Cano Island and birdwatching. We organized a special short birdwatching trip, since we just had a couple of hours one day, and I really appreciated that they organized this for us.
The new owners are really nice and very helpful.
The restaurant is nice and the food was good but wow it was slow. Just allow time if you are eating there.

Room Tip: Our room had a verandah on the side facing the office and away from the view- rather odd. So some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

I travelled to Drakes Bay to do the scuba diving in Isla De Cano, although the hotel didn't offer a package they were willing to book a trip at no additional cost and were so helpful with arrangements. A super find. The staff were so inviting and friendly, enthusiastic to help, and even offered me to use there phone when my bank card stopped. The rooms are clean and comfortable. For those seeking a lower price this really is a must for those that want to be near the small town of Drakes Bay. The only reason I couldn't give this hotel a five is the lack of a hot shower, but in this humid and hot climate. Those less picky shouldn't find this a problem worth concern.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 288jjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I travelled to Costa Rica in April 2013. We hadn't planned on visiting Drake Bay, but because we couldn't hike to Crocovado from Puerto Jimenez we decided to take a boat ride from Drake Bay to Crocovado National Park. Our stay at Cabinas Manolo was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is located in a quiet location and the beach is close by (7-10 minute walk). If you are planning to visit Crocovado, they arrange for day tours or you can take a boat ride (you need to make reservations in advance if you plan to stay at Crocovado National Park). We stayed 1 night at Crocovado hence Cabinas Monolo was a good transit point for us. We left our luggage at the hotel as we were spent another night at Cabinas Monolo on our return from Crocovado National Park. The staff was friendly and the restaurant at the hotel serves good Costa Rican food. Overall it was very good stay and reasonably priced. FYI: They also arrange for snorkeling day tours to Cano Island as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BengaluruBijli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Whether you are a family seeking inexpensive, simple digs or a young person doing the hostel hop Cabinas Manolo is an excellent choice. The rooms are very clean and inexpensive. The food is fair and the people running it are literally running their feet off...especially Sergio. I read a review that said that they are poorly organized...and the only instance I saw of this was the restaurant. They are thinly stocked (poor Sergio vented some frustration when he was unable to put a bottle of wine in front of me) but everything else is great for such a remote location. I was lent a USB cord when I asked. A flashlight when I asked. And when we checked out a day early it was no problem.

TRIP WARNING FOR YOUNG FAMILIES

A large croc is swimming about 5 meters off the beach down the hill on the other side of town. Keep an eye on your kids

If you plan to snorkel Isla de Cano, ask for an honest assessment of the waves before you go. We took two hours in very rough seas to get there. Our kids are 8, 11 and 13. It was scary and my wife became violently ill as did our youngest and one of the other young women in the boat. And the snorkelling is pretty sad stuff to be honest. Much much better in the caribbean.

More on our month-long Costa Rica adventure in other posts soon.

Room Tip: Get an upstaurs room if you are not hoes telling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We only stayed here for two nights. Drake Bay isn't easy to get to, but it's a wonderful place to visit!! We were very happy with the room was clean, and there was plenty of space. The back porch was wonderful to sit in the afternoon, with a beer, and watch the birds! We did not end up doing any tours, but sorry that we couldn't! It was nice to have a restaurant right there too. Very happy with our stay there, would stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

While the rooms were nice, the new management needs improvement. We booked a tour to Corcovado which should have included two nights stay in Cabinas Manolo and one night at Sirena Station. When we wanted to pay for the tour however, we were asked to also pay for the accomodation at Manolo. Only after arguing we got the price previously agreed on. The same thing happened when we got back from the park. We AGAIN were asked to pay for our stay at Manolo althought it was part of the package. Even worse... they forgot to reserve a room for one guy from our tour, so he had to stay somewhere else. Last but not least we also had to pay for the breakfast on the day that our tour started although this was also meant to be included in the tour.

If you want to book a tour with them make sure you get a written summary about what is actually included!!!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with private bathroom on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Manolo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

It was a pleasure to have had you in our place. We are happy that you have enjoyed your room and the two tours you did with us.

First of all, you had booked the day tour to Sirena with us, suddenly you met one of the other guests in the hotel who wanted to do the overnight to Sirena Corcovado National Park. You came to the reception and asked my coworker and me that you were interested in doing this tour. We kindly asked you to give us chance because this tour has to be booked many days in advance, but we managed to organize it in 24 hrs. Upon paying for this tour a 20% discount was given by us. We let you know about this.

You got confused with the day tour to Sirena which includes a small breakfast.

The overnight includes : First day Lunch-dinner Second day- Breakfast-lunch. No two breakfast. Lodging one night in the park.

The overnight does not include lodging in Cabinas Manolo, all the information is written and clear in our website. I just want to highlight that they did this tour 3 days later after booked it, maybe they forgot the details in the long run.

His friend who arranged this tour had all the details. They checked out the room and left their stuff in the storage room while they were the overnight in Sirena. His friend did not book a room for more days with us. When he came back from the tour realized that he did not have a room booked, however, kindly booked a room with the same price with private bathroom in a partner hotel. He stay in a room with shared bathroom with us, nevertheless we booked nice bongalow for him holding the same price.

Thanks for your feedback which makes us offer a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at Cabinas Manola for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Its a quiet place and at a short walk from the beach. The staff is great and offer help from arranging transport to trip planning to making sure you get everything you need. We also ate at the hotel's restaurant which has great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitasuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 22 in Drake Bay
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 22 in Drake Bay
209 reviews
0 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Murillo
Cabinas Murillo
#12 of 46 in Drake Bay
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Mar Lodge Cabins
Jade Mar Lodge Cabins
#6 of 46 in Drake Bay
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Manolo

Address: Drake Bay | Drake Bay downtown, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £17 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Manolo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Manolo is located in downtown Drake Bay at 250 meters from the beach. Cabinas Manolo is run by a Costarican family, so it is much easier for us to make you feel like in home. We offer a personalized service. Cabinas Manolo is like a home away from home. The restaurant has a wide variety of delicious and tasty dishes every day. Vegetarian and special diets can be accommodated. Tours: We offer tours to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island, dolphins and whale watch, horseback rides, kayaks, mangrove tours, night hike tour, sport fish and other tours around the zone. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Manolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Manolo Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing