We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in the best area”
Review of Cabinas Manolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Manolo
Ranked #6 of 21 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in cabinas Manolo and couldn't be happier with the service received. We booked a tour to Corcovado and a night tour with the cabinas guide, Javier. He was very knowledgeable and an excellent guide for both tours. We also booked a snorkeling trip to Isla de cano through Manolo which was a great experience. They even provided masks snorkels and flippers. The tours we took also reasonably priced along with the rooms. The restaurant staff was amazing and really knew how to cook. The rooms were clean and homey. This is a great place to stay for families, couples, or the lone traveler.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 91192weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a great little place to stay in Drake Bay. It is inexpensive, but the staff is wonderful and the place is very clean and has a great central location in the town to explore the few stores and restaurants. They were very helpful with my travel plans and changes and sent me with great guides on the tours, especially the dolphin and whale tour with Divine Dolphin. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been here in 2013 and had a good time. The people are helpful! The room was in very good condition and the lady on the counter was helping a lot to organize some trips. We can recommend this place! One thing that was a bit disturbing was the washing machine that ran already around 6:30 in the morning and you could hear it all over the place and vibrations woke us up a few times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Cabinas Manolo is the ideal place to explore Bahia Drake and Corcovado, a must see when you’re visiting Costa Rica. The rooms are neat and quite cheap, the owners friendly and helpful. The location is nice and the atmosphere pura vida. The restaurant is ok.

Maybe we were lucky, but the tours that we've arranged at Manolo (visit to Corcovado and horseback riding) were simply awesome. So if you want to go southward, don’t hesitate too long: Cabinas Manolo is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Cabinas Manolo was an excellent place to stay for entering Corcovado national park. It is situated in the small village of drake bay, which is accessible by dirt road or by boat taxi. Drake bay is situated in the tropical rainforest right on one side of the Corcovado National park, and instead of a big touristic attraction, it is more likely to be an typical small Costa Rican village. Off course there are enough lodges, but all unpaved roads and a lot of jungle trees around you.
Our trip to costa rica started with some research at home. Corcovado was one of the highlights of our trip, because it was written as a not that much by tourists explored park yet… Well.. It was.. The park is hard to enter, but from Drake Bay the tours bring and pick you up by speed boat. In about 1 hour they take you up to the entrance of the national park (Sirena ranger station) and from there you could explore the park with the guide from drake bay. In our case: An excellent guide! The trails in the park are unpaved and you will not find a lot of other groups around you.. Especially when you want to go deeper into the national park, you will probably rarely see human like species. The staff from manolo could help you organize your trip to Corcovado, just send them a mail including your wishes and they will send you all the possibilities. In our case we just stayed at manolo and booked two daytrips from drake bay. One, as described above, to the national park and one snorkel/whale tour, which was obviously amazing too.
The cabinas itselve are simple, clean and equipped with an hot shower. The room we had was quite big, and we had our own bathroom. The balcony was equipped with an hammock and garden view. From here you could see a small part of the village and some small hillsides full with tropical plants and trees. When sitting on the balcony we were able to spot scarlet macaws flying back to the national park in the afternoon. Alway’s in couples and they make a lot of noise when they fly by. In the small garden in front of the rooms you are able to spot hummingbirds, butterfly’s etc and when you walk a little away on the dirt road from drake bay (Just a few 100 meters) there we saw some green parrots and toucans. During the night is was very quiet, because there is no discothèque nearby. Yes off course you will hear the sounds of the nature, crickets and probably howler monkeys etc, but if you can’t handle that, don’t even think about a holiday in Costa Rica.
The food is simple, but ok. Don’t expect luxury three plate meals in such a jungle place, but expect necessary’s, but well prepared food. When you book your tours they usually depart before breakfast time. The staff from Manolo opens the restaurant for the people who go on tour and prepare you a breakfast (and lunch to take with you), so I can guarantee you that their service deserves a 10+.
So that’s what I can say about the place. When you like jungle and planning your trip to Corcovado, I could definitely recommend you this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jasper P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at Cabinas Manolo when I traveled to Corcovado back in June and it was a really good experience. I slept in a single room with shared bathroom, the room was clean and comfy, the hammocks on the porch right outside the room were the perfect way to end the day. No hot water in the shower but in Costa Rica weather it's probably just as well. The restaurant had good food and decent prices, I also took the guided tour to Corcovado from there which was amazing.
I highly recommend this place when traveling to the area.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone take the "shared rooms" downstairs and make sure you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My dad and I stayed at Cabinas Manolo for a few days on my first trip to Costa Rica. Traveling in La Osa, we wanted to stay at a place where we would be immersed in the Costa Rican experience. And we found it, and then some. Cabinas Manolo is an eco-friendly establishment walking distance from the beach and local flavor of Drake Bay. The location was gorgeous, the rooms were well tended to and spotless, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in booking tours and getting you familiar with the area. A very warm demeanor not usually found in the lodging business. We booked a tour to Corcovado with our great tour guide Javier, and got caught in a tremendous sea storm on the way back. We also got lost on a self-guided treck to San Josesito, at night, and went zip-lining a few nearby the cabins. Adventure ABOUNDS in this place. I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for the GREAT EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller cabins with the shared bathrooms. Great room and views, hammocks were a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 21 in Drake Bay
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 21 in Drake Bay
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jade Mar Lodge Cabins
Jade Mar Lodge Cabins
#6 of 46 in Drake Bay
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 21 in Drake Bay
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Murillo
Cabinas Murillo
#11 of 46 in Drake Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Manolo

Address: Drake Bay | Drake Bay downtown, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Manolo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Manolo is located in downtown Drake Bay at 250 meters from the beach. Cabinas Manolo is run by a Costarican family, so it is much easier for us to make you feel like in home. We offer a personalized service. Cabinas Manolo is like a home away from home. The restaurant has a wide variety of delicious and tasty dishes every day. Vegetarian and special diets can be accommodated. Tours: We offer tours to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island, dolphins and whale watch, horseback rides, kayaks, mangrove tours, night hike tour, sport fish and other tours around the zone. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Manolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Manolo Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing